We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful polynesian, weather was only disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #88 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our 2nd time at the polynesian in a year and the room renovations were really a pleasant upgrade!
Booked a package through AAA we had 2 adjoining rooms 7-17-2013/7-20-2013. My husband and myself with 5 teenagers. Our 3 kids and we allowed 2 friends to join the party. This mini 3 day trip was my daughters high school graduation gift from us.
The express buses take you from airport to hotel- very efficient. You don't need to bother with baggage claim, that is taken care of and your bags arrive at your resort.
Upon arrival you are greeted with lai's and a very friendly staff who very quickly get all your info. our rooms were ready to our surprise at 12:30! and they were adjoining as asked! I was really happily surprised because we travel a lot and rooms are rarely ready early and if you want 2 rooms for a larger group, adjoining is asking a lot at some hotels. Bags are usually delivered 2-3 hours later, so pack what you need for the park in your carry on.
We quickly got to our rooms in the Rarotonga building, just off the great ceremonial house. We had stayed last year in the Fiji building. Fiji is on the marina with a nice water view. Those rooms were a little dated last year but hey, its the Polynesian and I didn't mind too much. The old bathroom was small and a strange layout with very small sink and counterspace and dim lighting. The updated room this year was very nicely done and still had the Polynesian feel which is great. The new bathroom was really nice!! Very modern faucets, 2 sinks, large expanse of countertop. Myself and 2 teenage daughters sharing the room were in heaven. large mirror and even a very useful large magnifying makeup mirror on the wall. Very nice new brighter lighting. nice quiet room with a garden view, very comfortable beds. Short walk to hotel gift shops, pool and Captain cooks for food.
We bought the meal plan of 2 quick service meals and 1 snack a day. It worked out great. we had a late lunch 2 days using the quick service plan and paid for the fancy table service meal at Grand Floridian one night. I think the full meal plan is too much food. Some quick service restaurants serve a meal that is basically a full dinner as lunch. My son and I shared one of these meals and saved some points. (1/2 roast chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, chocolate cake and a large drink.) This quick service meal is twice as much food as Citrico's entree and 1/4 of the cost basically. So you need to decide if fine dining is what you want, or feed kids fast in the park and get back to rides!
I love the polynesian because it is tropical and feels like Hawaii. Every staff workers greets you with an "Aloha" We did eat at Grand Floridian's Citrico's on our final night. Very good fine dining. Love that restaurant. Grand Floridian is also on the Monorail and very convenient. Grand Floridian is very beautiful and a victorian theme.
At the polynesian we rented Searacers speed boats. Those little speed boats are so much fun. $32 for 30 minutes. You can be 12 and drive your own boat. My son and his friend, both 13 went out in separate boats. I watched them from the dock. It started to thunder and lightning and they were only out for 15 minutes. The lake patrol called everyone in. My sons friend was not coming in and I got very concerned. Turns out, he ran his boat into weeds and stalled out. Minutes later the lake patrol was bringing him and the boat back to the marina. They were all very nice and since we got rained out it was free of charge.
We had rain on and off for 3 days. I was disappointed but the parks were still busy and everything was still open. They did not run the parade at Magic Kingdom one night due to the heavy rain. Still tons of people wandering main street and shops were crazy busy with people trying to get in from rain. Rain ponchos available everywhere. We brought our own raincoats and umbrellas. Glad we did.
Overall a great quick trip. Wished the weather had been nicer but the Polynesian was great. Would stay there again. My husband wants to try the grand floridian next time. I don't know...I'll probably book the Polynesian again!!!

Room Tip: Really nice new bathrooms in the Rarotonga building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,820 - 1,826 of 3,373 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros-beautiful hotel, beautiful grounds, nice size rooms for a Disney hotel, cool volcano pool for all ages, and on the Monorail system (this saves you a lot of time, money, and headaches; especially when traveling with kids).

Cons-expensive, not too much parking, fridges don't work, a lot of humidity in the rooms in the summer months, and customer service was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcuest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to this hotel for two nights when touring around USA as a treat with our three teenage children. We had booked it from the UK months ago, when we arrived the UK part of Disney had accidentally booked one of the rooms for June instead of July. The receptionist kept us waiting for over an hour at check in to sort this out. We wanted to buy park tickets from concierge too but they wouldn't let us do that until we had completed check in so we had to go and start that process once we had finally checked in, all in all it took over 1 and a half hours of standing around. The receptionist did give us 400 dollars resort credit to compensate without us even asking which was nice. Added to this not one single person offered to help us with our bags and as soon as we finally left check in the heavens opened. We were in a building quite a distance from reception involving a long walk outside so we got completely soaked. The rooms were very nice however but the fact that they are outside does mean regular soakings at this time of year.

We ate in the only restaurant in the hotel that we could get into and despite making a reservation they kept us waiting a further 40 mins to be actually seated. The food was good once we got it. I was so disappointed by this resort, the demeanour of the staff was not good, the receptionist who sorted out the mess they had made of our booking spent ages on the phone right in front of me, barely made eye contact and didn't explain what she was doing. The restaurant seating staff were abrupt and on of the pool attendants who had to get everyone out of the pool during storms was rude. None of the bell staff offered to take our bags, even the bar man was unhelpful. I had brought my kids here to show them a good example of customer service but instead ended up showing them that everyone can get it wrong

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buddy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently returned from an 18 night stay here and loved it. We were given a garden view room in Tokelau on the ground floor, the room was great and the location was so convenient for everything.
I was a bit unsure after reading some negative reviews but the only minor issue we had was a problem with our in room safe on the last day which was sorted out fairly quickly.
It was a bit busy with people coming to view the fireworks on the beach but this didn't really impact on us at all.
Food wise, captain cooks was great, enjoyed Kona and the Ohana breakfast but I did find the Ohana dinner slightly over hyped.
Transportation options were excellent, we had no monorail issues at all.
Overall we loved it although I am happy to try other wdw, it would take a lot to top the Poly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank WMW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely one of our favorite Disney resorts. Staying Club Level makes it even more enjoyable. The staff is superb. Housekeeping was great. Food offerings were very nice. Club lounge made us feel like we had more room. So convenient to the monorail. First time to try the quick service restaurant - Captain Cooks and we liked it too. Highly recommend. The remodeled rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrbdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

From the moment you enter this hotel, you are immersed in Disney's view of a tropical Hawaiian paradise. Tropical plants and tiki appointments are everywhere around this resort, adding to the illusions of paradise in Florida. The room was perfectly apportioned, the largest and most featured of our trip. We were near the great dining hall that contains the shopping and food. The volcano pool was awesome and perfect for kids; not even that crowded. I found the prices at Captain Cooks to be reasonable for a resort and cheaper than most places on the Disney World property. Every employee was friendly and would say either hello or Aloha. I would return to this resort 1000 times over.

Room Tip: You likely will want to be near the main Ceremonial Hall. This makes it easier for midnight snacks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dnedry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Booked through Expedia and person checking us in made us feel like we were less than bc we got a wholesale room. Which I guess meant that to her and back office paying over 500 a night verses 600 justified putting us in a dump of a room. She insisted that there were no other theme park views that i had paid for. The walk to the room (in the Tahiti building) looked like a cheap apartment complex or a motel. The room had cobwebs all over the walls, the toilet did not work, the hair dryer did not work, the bathroom was not clean, the beds were barely made. It felt like a cheap motel. Finally after spotting the 5th spider at 11 pm went to front desk and they moved us. New staff new room. Amazingly there were two theme park views available and they moved us. New room is night and day from old room. Clean and not dingy. Don't know if this mgmt gets it. We have stayed at contemporary and animal kingdom this week. Both were a better experience. I would not say that if they had not tried to shaft us during checkin. Booked this room 6months ago and was sorely disappointed with first impression. Close the buildings that need renovation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $654 - $1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing