We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated but great location and pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #88 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rooms looks like a Holiday Inn with a Polynesian theme. As always hospitality is great. We are missing our infant daughter's jean jacket and my wife insists it was taken when our room was cleaned but I can't confirm that.
It's right on the monorail. With a stroller this is great to get to Magic Kingdom. We stayed at Animal Lodge last year (a very nice property) which had buses for each park and several long waits in AM and also on return. We appreciated the 5 mins or less waits for the monorail.
The pool has a great waterslide. We were there last week of January and it was not crowded. I'm told it can get crowded poolside in busier seasons. The slide is very fast. I was impressed with that waterslide for being at a hotel!
Hotel rooms are a little dark but our bathroom was clean, there are floor to ceiling windows. It's a little dingy with banged up walls in spots both in rooms and hallways. I'm surprised it is labeled as Deluxe but with the location on monorail, on lake with views of fireworks and electric boat parade each night I'm sure that is the reason for the label and price.
Restaurants there are decent-Kona Cafe, O'Hanna's (Lilo and Stitch characters), Quick Service-Capt. Cooks-by pool. Spirit of Aloha Dinner Show.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlennBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 3,372 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's a beautiful resort. They have 2 pools and a lagoon with a sand beach. Getting to the magic kingdom is very convenient. You can get there by a short boat launch, take the monorail or take the ferry from the transportation center which is next to the resort. U can also visit EPCOT by taking the monorail. U can get to the other parks and Downtown Disney by bus which run every 20 minutes. You can also visit the Grand Floridian and Contemporary Hotels which are also on the monorail. If u always wanted to go to Hawaii but can't try this for starters. I've been to Hawaii several times and this does do a decent job of getting u in a Hawaiian mood with the Hawaiian motif. Rooms are very large...2 queens and a couch with the Hawaiian theme. Good time to go is before the holidays with all the lights and decorations. Disney goes all out. Pets not allowed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronnie333_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

i came here with my family some time ago when i was a kid for Disney World and i have to say this is by far one of the most beautiful, most comfortable, and safest hotels i have ever stayed at. i almost didn't want to leave because it is so lovely! and as a kid the sites were mind blowing. even years later after i've graduated college and im no longer a child, i feel so giddy walking through the place. the restaurants are great with lots of variety, the pool and spa are clean and enjoyable, and the overall look of the place is absolutely stunning. above all, the service, whether it's the front desk or a waiter, is extremely friendly. i was always greeted with a smile and a "good morning/afternoon/evening", which makes me feel more at home. i will definitely be coming back when i plan to visit the area again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krizzlefoshizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lush tropical foliage and waterfalls make this resort feel less crowded and more tranquil. The rooms are large-standard with coffee maker and refrigerator. Check in was very efficient and staff members try to accommodate requests. We had accidentally left free vouchers at home and were given a $20.00 room credit. You may be able to check in early if your room is ready, however plan to either head out to a park or if you are too tired from traveling have your bathing suit handy for the pool. An arcade, gift stores, dining options and sandy beach are all just steps away. Don’t miss the nightly movies on the beach, firework viewing at 8:00 and the electric water parade at 9:00. The luau dinner show is expensive but offers a good variety of food, all you want, served family style with wine and beer also included. The native dancers and fire eater make the somewhat hokey show interesting. When ordering meals at other venues know that the servings a large and can usually be split. You must make reservations for any dinner way ahead. If you are traveling with children despite the fact you are in Disney almost every child I knows wants to spend lots of time in the pool. That said, the best rooms for enjoying the pool are on the ground floor of the Samoa building. Rooms 1606 and 1607 (adjoining) are in the middle and give you a terrace right across from the main pool which has a waterslide. Of course you are giving up the lagoon view. If you want a kid free pool there is another one that is almost empty because it lacks the slide. The only down side to the trip is food is very expensive. If this is a concern consider purchasing snacks and beverages off property. The airport shuttle service, Disney’s Magical Express is wonderful! You never touch your baggage and have hassle free transportation from and to the airport, with airline check and boarding passes received at the hotel desk. You receive luggage tags before you leave home that designate your hotel. (They are tricky to put on so you make need the u tube tutorial… just type in Disney luggage tags) Departures are 3 hours before your flight, but the Orlando airport is very, very crowded. This hotel was built in 1971 so may seem dated but the South Sea décor is fun and the rooms are well maintained. For a really extensive description of the property, check out Wikipedia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tryapepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this resort the end of September 2012. I've stayed here many times over the years and have always enjoyed it. As usual the grounds were beautiful with lush landscaping and breathtaking views of the castle with the fireworks reflecting over the water. We had a standard room and I wouldn't recommend paying for an upgrade. Most upgraded rooms didn't have a better view than we did which was overlooking water and the Grand Floridian. If we turned sideways we could see the castle.

The rooms are huge and some of the biggest on Disney property. While some people complain that the rooms are dark I don't agree. With the blinds opened tons of sunlight came in and I loved the lights on the bed. Each side has their own light which can be dimmed. This was great for us since I was always up later reading. I will mention that I noticed that the rooms were looking worn but the resort is being refurbished so this will take care of that problem.

The location can't be beat. It's a short walk to the Grand Ceremonial House which is wear the resort monorail runs. It's a quick two stops to the Magic Kingdom. There's also a boat that will take you there and back but during slower times of the year you will share the boat with the Grand Floridian. It's also a quick walk to the TTC (Ticket and Transportation Center) where you can board a direct monorail to Epcot. You have the option of riding the monorail from the Poly to the TTC and transfer monorails but it's much quicker to walk.

There are a few restaurants on property. One quick service and two sit down restuarants. The Kona Cafe is great if you want a quieter sit down breakfast. Ohana offers a character breakfast. For dinner Ohana offers all you can eat fire grilled meats. Everything I tried was good. Captain Cooks is quick service only and opens out the outdoor seating and eventually leads out to the volcano pool.

Overall we love this resort and once the rooms are done being refurbished I will probably give it the five stars that in the past I would have rated it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor of Tokelau. The rooms aren't very soundproofed so being on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For easy access to the Magic Kingdom, this is the place to stay... But you are going to pay for it!! We have a big double stroller (kids are 1 and 2) and it was so easy for us to roll onto the monorail in the morning, return to the room for naps in the afternoon and get back to the hotel at night, which made paying so much worth it for us. We only visited Animal Kingdom once (pain to ride the bus) and Epcot a few times (monorail access available). The rooms are nothing special and the floor below us was having plumbing issues and was very smelly. The Kona Cafe is AWESOME for breakfast. The macadamia pancakes and kona coffee are on point. The pool was fun for our kiddos -- they had cast members out entertaining and organizing games. Also, we had no wait to see Mickey and Minnie in the lobby. Bottom line: fun place to stay with the family with easy access to Magic Kingdom... Just don't expect much from the rooms and pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missilegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Polynesian Resort the night before the Walt Disney World Half Marathon and it was simply stunning! Our room had a Magic Kingdom view and we could easily walk to all the various modes of transportation to access the wonderful world of Disney! The Polynesian Resort has a monorail station, is within walking distance of the ferries to Magic Kingdom and has a central bus stop for the rest of the parks. The quick service food was fresh and the guest service was top notch. We would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $654 - $1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing