We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good for a first timer but location is its best asset” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #94 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for a first timer but location is its best asset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just returned from our first Disney trip as a family. Several friends told us to go with the Polynesian or the Contemporary for the easy access to Magic Kingdom. We went with the Polynesian because we thought it would be more kid-friendly. Our initial experience at check-in was bad. We arrived an hour before check-in and we told we'd have to wait for our room to come available. However, we ended up waiting over two hours while load after load of people checked in and got rooms. Then, when we were finally checked in, there was no bellman available to cart our luggage to our room (far away!). After glaring at anyone I could for several minutes, someone finally found a bellman to take us to our room. And that brings me to the layout. The Polynesian is spread over a pretty large area and the scenic, winding walkways from one place to the next are confusing at best. It is very easy in some spots to come to an intersection of four walkways, take what appears to be the logical one, and end up somewhere you completely didn't intend to end up. Nighttime compounds the issue. I carried the resort map in my pocket for the first 4-5 days any time I left the room. Sure there are signs pointing toward the main building and the monorail but good luck getting back to your building at night!

Regarding the rooms, they are...okay. They were not bad by any means but certainly nothing special. Think well kept Holiday Inn Express redone in a tropical theme. But our room was clean and housekeeping always did a great job. I was a little letdown by the lack of a microwave but I guess they want you to spend that money at their restaurants!

Food, on the other hand... was...meh. Their marque restaurant, the Ohana was ok-ish but kinda different. We ate there for one of our table service meals. We have kids and they asked for items off the kids menu, which we were assured would be no problem. Only...they never came. We doled out the adult food to them as it came but they weren't satisfied with it. Honestly, neither were we. I'm not familiar with Hawaiian style dining but the restaurant experience was similar to a Brazilian steakhouse, where endless skewers of meat are paraded to your table. However, even though I watched the flames searing the meat no more than 20 feet away, it always was, at best, lukewarm by the time it got to our table. Most of the time, it was just plain cold. And honestly, except for the chicken, the meat was all pretty tough and tasteless. We did get a great basket of rolls...once... The only saving grace was a very nice bread pudding for dessert. It's certainly not a restaurant I would beg to go to again, if I had to pick. And the lines/wait were crazy. The entire week we were at Disney, we never arrived later than ten minutes prior to our reservation time. At Ohana, we were not seated until at least 20 minutes AFTER our reservation, though.

Captain Cooks, the quick service free for all was like some weird off brand fast food joint. Basic sandwiches, salads, flat breads, and kid options. They also had a bakery counter for your desert options. All these deserts were visually enticing but a real letdown when you actually ate them. They were typically a bit tough and flavorless. As for the main "entrees" at Captain Cook...they were standard Disney park fare. I literally ate the same burger and fries at 8 different locations throughout the week.

As for the Kona, I didn't bother because it was always so crowded I couldn't even approach that side of the second floor of the "Great Ceremonial House." What ever they were selling must have been a LOT better than the other two joints.

The saving grace of Polynesian is the Monorail access. If you have kids that want to ride all the rides, you need to get a head start and being at the monorail helped. We actually stayed at the far end of the resort, closest to the TTC, so that we could get to the express monorails to Magic Kingdom and Epcot quicker. For the other parks without monorail access, you have to take the Disney buses. The bus stop is not at the "Great Ceremonial House" but a good deal off from it. We ended up finding it no problem, but again, it seemed like one more unnecessary hurdle.

All in all, its not a bad place to stay. If you are a first timer on a family trip, its worth your while for the easy access to the parks. We only used our car once during the whole week we were there, and that was to grab drinks from the nearest Wal-Mart because we were tired of the long hike to get refillable drinks. By the end of the week, after we'd figured out the general layout of everything, we reasoned we could probably stay somewhere off property next time and get along fine. But all in all, no regrets...

Room Tip: Buildings closer to the TTC will help you get to the monorails faster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WesJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    845
    382
    188
    84
See reviews for
2,027
374
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
982405
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Pros: Great location; beautiful landscaping; room large enough to sleep 5.
The Cons: Stayed in the Hawaii building. The room smelled musty. I took off my shoes and stepped in a pool of water on the carpet in front of the refrigerator. Apparently the cabinet isn't vented so the fridge overheats and melts and pours water on the floor. I took off my socks and went into the bathroom for a towel and stepped on something sharp. Toenail clippings from a previous guest! The safe didn't work. The lightbulbs were not just out, but missing. The ornate dark Tiki-style wood furniture was covered in dust.

We stayed in the Hawaii building and the concierge gave us $50 credit (which Disney STILL hasn't given me according to my credit card and several phone calls to Disney). The Concierge status gives you access to a snack room. Fruit, cereal for breakfast (no eggs or anything enough to make a real breakfast out of it). Afternoon snacks and evening dessert and beer/wine. Sodas, water and coffee are available all day. Be prepared for other people's children to go in line by themselves, touch or cough on all of the food (since it is often unattended by a host), and proceed to load up their plates and then throw 90% of it in the trash while you stand, wishing you had been able to grab one of the last pieces of fruit.

After check-out a staff person told me that the Hawaii building is long overdue for a renovation. I can't speak to the other rooms, but I would avoid that building like the plague until the reno is complete. As for the concierge snack room, I think for the money you'd be better off purchasing your own snacks from one of their restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid Hawaii building until after renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 982405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is one of the best resorts I've stayed at in Disney. The rooms are top notch but the location and atmosphere are the best. You can see the castle from across the lake and you could walk to the Magic Kingdom. The monorail runs right through the hotel which you can take to the Magic Kingdom or Epcot. It's the perfect and fastest transportation. Also, Ohana, the restaurant in the resort, is one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefferson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family stayed at the Polynesian Resort and had a great time. My grandsons loved the pool area and had a good time with the two young people who did the games with them at the pool. The staff there were great and very helpful, everyone was friendly.
The rooms were nice and accomodating. Everything was within walking distance as far as the Disney transportation system. Would definatley go back.
My only regret was that we were unable to book the luau for all 8 of us while there. We learned from this trip what to do and what not to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIchigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first vist to Disney resort. Most of the information provided already by previous reviewers. There are several free standing housing facilities and one needs to walk to main complex . Good news - landscaping and trails are well preserved and walking is never to far. Transportation to a hotel as well as on departure ( if prepaid) is well organized. Other good news. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms and public area are maintain clean. Now , not so good news. The hotel facilities are old and definitely needs of remodeling. Some of reviewers already stated - for a price of a 5 star hotel you barely receive a red inn standart. We prepaid for a food service in a fast food facilities including places in park . Very uneven services and quality of food. Captain Cook at Polynesian - average. Disney management is frugal ( cheap). Not even for a Thanksgiving Day was any special food available in thous e places.
So call option for a free refills of drinks relates ONLY to a hotel facilities. By prepaid to pay almost triple for everything else at Disney World and especially in a hotel shops. The marketing must be working. Visitors are buying this staff and not only for a children. I'm not big fun of a Disney brand, but my grandson seems to be enjoying it and especially a breakfast with a "character" at Ohana restaurant. I enjoyed the most resting on artificial, but well done and clean beach.

Room Tip: Tahiti. Somewhat far from "ceremonial Hall " ( lobby) but quiet and close to transportatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Usually stay at the Polynesian Resort when heading to Disney. The rooms are large with two pools. The kids like the volcano slide in the main pool and then we head to the second pool to escape the crowds. The resort is on the monorail line to Magic Kingdom and a short walk to the TTC to ride the monorail to Epcot. Save up your $$ and stay at the Club section.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

pros:
Location!!
on the monorail!!
larger rooms (or at least larger by disney standards)
elevator (sounds silly, but staying at the port orleans and hauling everything up all those stairs isn't exactly fun with little ones)
rooms are newer
not sure if it goes for all character breakfasts, but we were seated immediately with no reservation



cons:
walkways are confusing and there aren't enough signs (or any signs) to help find your building (by the end of your trip you will have them down though)
rooms were dark (personal preference)
Staff wasn't properly trained/given accurate information regarding hotel/room specifics
eating options on property are limited (wait until you get to the park for your coffee or breakfast)
transfer busses were packed - didn't matter the time of day
exceptionally long check-in (45 minutes.... at almost midnight)


We arrived late at night, I had previously confirmed numerous times there would be a pack-n-play in the room when we arrived and there wasn't. when it finally arrived (I had to call and ask for one when we finally got to our room. It took housekeeping 35 minutes), it was stained and smelly.

If location is what you're after, stay at the contemporary or grand floridian

Room Tip: ask for a room closer to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smcali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#51 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#35 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing