We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know you want to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #95 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“You know you want to stay here”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

As you make the journey by boat or monorail from the Ticket and Transportation Center to the Magic Kingdom, your eye can't help but be drawn to the Contemporary Resort, gleaming white in the Florida sun. It's been an icon ever since Walt Disney World opened and I think every kid has thought it would be the neatest thing to stay there (the monorail runs right through it, how cool is that?). I know I dreamed of staying there when I was a kid but it seemed as unattainable as a sleepover at Mount Olympus (we were lucky if our parents sprang for a motel with a pool).
These days Disney World boasts many more hotels, several of which could be said to sport a lot more character than the Contemporary Resort. But even though I have stayed at almost every hotel on property, including the now defunct Contemporary North Garden Wing and a Bay Lake Tower Magic Kingdom view room, I have to admit a certain satisfaction in finally getting around to scoring the Holy Grail of a Contemporary Tower room with a Magic Kingdom view.
I had done online check in and I arrived via Magic Express. I was checked in by Jennifer who was everything a Cast Member should be; patient, helpful, polite, professional. Even though this was about 10am the rooms were ready (check in time is 3:00pm). Our adjoining rooms were 4441 and 4442 on the 8th floor.
The room decor is, well, Contemporary, in brown. cream, and beige. Little or no reference to Disney and it could be a room in any upscale hotel anywhere. In some ways the emphasis is more on design than function. The sinks are large, flat squares with no counter space (there is shelf space under the sinks). The sliding bathroom doors don't lock so if you are traveling with children you may want to have a discussion about privacy and knocking. The shower head is adjustable, H20 Plus toiletries are provided and the bed is comfortable. I had expected some noise from the atrium or the monorail but I think it was one of the quietest rooms I have stayed in in Disney World. I didn't even hear my parents snoring in the next room thorugh the adjoining door.
The Magic Kindgom view room affords a nice panorama of the park and Bay Lake. Off in the distance I could make out Everest at Animal Kingdom. You can watch the Magic Kingdom fireworks (tune your TV to the "Wishes" soundtrack) and the Electrical Water Pagent from your balcony.
Best of all, the Contemporary Resort is the only hotel from which you can walk to the Magic Kingdom. If you have ever been in the mass exodus leaving the Magic Kingdom at closing and had to wait for monorails, boats, and buses to get back to your hotel room, you can easily appreciate this convenience factor.
There is a free form pool that is supposed to open at 7:00am but they were still in the process of cleaning it at that time every morning when I was there. So the early morning lap swimmers are regulated to the small round pool that has been there since the hotel opened.
The gym is open 24 hours with room key access and is fairly well appointed for a hotel facility. There are 4 treadmills, 4 elipticals, 4 stationary bikes, 2 sets of weights, and an assortment of machines, balls, bands, etc. There are showers, toilets, lockers, and a sauna. Towels are plentiful and there is a water cooler. You can use the walkway to the Magic Kingdom as a jogging path.
Elevators are a bit on the slow side and the set up to reach the monorail is a little odd (you have to take an escalator or specific elevator to get to the monorail station). The are several dining options with everything from the chic California Grill, to the Wave, to the Contempo Grab and Go, to a pool snack bar. There are 3 shops located in the atrium. There are movies on the lawn at night and various other activiites (you'll get a program at check in)
In all, the Contemporary's cool factor and it's convenient location make for a magical stay at Walt Disney World.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    944
    425
    189
    120
See reviews for
1,858
308
35
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are staying at the Contemporary Resort and you want fast food, this is where you get it. They carry various sandwiches, salads, desserts, etc.also have pasta at dinnertime. You order from a kiosk and are given a pager to pick up your order when it is ready. I had the chicken pasta in basil cream sauce and while it was plentiful, it was pretty standard fare. The setting at least is visually interesting as it is open to the atrium with the monorails going by. Personally I would spring for the extra bucks and dine at The Wave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The only reason I chose to stay at the Contemporary was because they have a monorail that runs between theme parks and other resorts. I have hoped that the resort was nice and updated but to my disappointment, it was filthy and poorly managed. Despite my tolerance of dust (which is everywhere), AND the most ridiculous pricing, what came to greet me at check-in was a cluster of hair at the center of toilet area in our room. You may say I'm very picky but can you imagine the horror seeing the cluster of hair at a size of a football. I'm not kidding and I'm sure no one can miss it, unless he or she is blind. My husband wanted to cover it with a towel but I insist letting it stay so the person who turns our bed and fills our towels and toiletries can see it. Well, later in the evening the beds were turned and towels and toiletries were refilled but the cluster of hair remained. Needless to say, we cover the hair with a towel to block our sight from it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Do NOT waste your time or money. At check in, they sent us to a room on the other side of their property, only to find out our keys didnt work. Then when we had to walk all the way back to the lobby (in the rain) we missed our luggage being delivered....so it wasnt brought back until later that night.

Our room smelled of mildew to the point that we couldnt breath all night. The vents were coated in dust and there were roaches outside our door (in the hall). The sheets were stained...not at all up to par to a Disney level of customer service.

Our car was in valet parking, and when we called ahead they said they could bring it up within 20 min. We went downstairs and there was a convention leaving, and they told us they don't do call ahead (when they had already said that they would) and one worker started yelling with another worker in front of us. Needless to say it took awhile to get out-

And when we went to talk to management about our experience, they couldnt care less. They said "It's florida, there are bugs and humidity...go ahead and check out". We lost money on leaving early but were glad to not spend one more second there! Just because it got a facelift doesnt mean the rooms are actually nice. Stay at the many other options in the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank htravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Being able to walk to the Magic Kingdom or take a boat or monorail to Fort Wilderness, Wilderness Lodge, Grand Floridian, Polynesian, Magic Kingdom, and Epcot made life that much easier on our most recent vacation. We stayed at Bay Lake Tower. The room was clean, location was great, and for the most part there were no issues with service. The one issue we experienced with housekeeping was rectified to our satisfaction.

Helpful?
Thank Sheriff3477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My room was nicely updated - double sinks in bath with marble - large bedroom with with couch, working desk, fridge, coffee maker and wonderful lake view - the monorail runs right into the hotel and takes you to Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Floridian and Polynesian resorts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent the night at Disneys Contemporary Hotel this past weekend for the labor holiday. The reason we chose it was because we have small children and it was so close and convenient to the Magic Kingdom that we would rather pay more to stay there and not deal with the hassle of Disneys transportation system late at night when the kids were tired.
I found the hotel clean and the rooms were nice. Our room (garden wing/garden view) was a bit of,a walk from the lobby though. My kids loved the arcade and all the cast members were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannonm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#62 of 338 in Orlando
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Contemporary Resort

Property: Disney's Contemporary Resort
Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#102 Business Hotel in Orlando
#110 Family Hotel in Orlando
#134 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Contemporary Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 655
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this ultra-modern Resort hotel and discover award-winning dining, white-sand beaches, spectacular views and dazzling pools. Walk to Magic Kingdom park, or catch the Resort Monorail as it breezes through the iconic A-frame Contemporary Tower. Inside, a 90-foot-tall mural by Disney Legend Mary Blair-responsible for the distinct look and feel of the "it's a small world" attraction-celebrates the Grand Canyon and the American Southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando
Disney Contemporary Hotel
Contemporary Disney Resort
Disneys Contemporary Resort
Contemporary Hotel Disney
Contemporary Resort
Disney Contemporary Resort
Disneys Contemporary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing