We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Ranked #149 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“A Great Value!”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed at this resort from August 18th-23rd. I traveled with my father and two younger siblings (8 and 12) and we had a great time! We have been to Disney World many times before, but this is the first time that we stayed on Disney property. The most we waited for any ride was about 40 minutes (Splash Mountain and the Rockin' Roller Coaster). It was crazy hot, but it's much more affordable at this time of year.

The Disney Magical Express was SO convenient and saved us the hassle of dealing with luggage (make sure you have everything you need for the day because it takes up to 3 hours to receive your luggage in your room). We had a slight problem with our first room in Aruba (there were people in it!), but we spoke with a manager and he credited us half of the price of the room for the day and upgraded us to a better location on the second floor of Trinidad North. The location was BRILLIANT! We had a brief 3-4 minute walk to Old Port Royale and the main pool (in the August heat, that was a blessing). The resort is LARGE, but not impossible to navigate. I love to walk, so it didn't bother me. Use the Internal Shuttle if you don't enjoy walking. Also, the main pool is 24 hours which is awesome, so you can swim whenever you like.

Our room was pretty basic (we usually stay at Hilton resorts), but it was clean and comfortable. It's NOT the Ritz, but for the money you pay it's a perfectly adequate place. ANd honestly, by the time you've finished exploring all the parks, you are too exhausted to complain about petty things. As for the noise levels that some people mentioned- IT'S A FAMILY RESORT. There are going to be crying children and other noises. Get over it. We didn't experience any unusual noises.

THE DINING PLAN IS WORTH THE MONEY. The food at the resort food court is OK. It reminded me of being back in college with the various "stations". It's good in a pinch, but save your table meals for the parks. Another helpful tip: MAKE RESERVATIONS at the Disney Restaurants. Most of the places are rather small and fill up quickly. We didn't make reservations and were turned away from some of the restaurants that weren't accepting "walk-ins". That part was very frustrating. We were able to make SOME reservations once we were there and that worked out nicely. Don't miss the 50's Prime Time Cafe in Hollywood Studios! The food is great (huge portions!) , the retro 50's decor is charming and the waitresses are a HOOT! One thing I will say about the Disney Dining Plan is that you will NOT go hungry. The portions at almost all of the places we ate were VERY generous.

OTHER THINGS: We bought the refillable mugs and that saved us some money too (bring them to the parks and they will give you ice and you can fill it with water at the water fountain. Saves you from buying $3 bottles of water all day). The shuttles can be very chilly, most of the time it's not a problem because it's so hot outside, but you may want to bring a jacket it you chill easily. Getting to the parks early is probably the best tip anyone can give you. Ride the very popular rides first (like Space Mountain and Tower of Terror) and then you can take the rest of your time to take in a few shows and ride the less popular attractions.

Overall, we had a "magical" experience. Although you pay for some of the convenience, staying on Disney property is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolie181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,304
    2,792
    1,423
    561
    296
See reviews for
4,885
1,064
60
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I have read the negative reveiws and they are just petty, I stayed there from 31 July till 20 Aug in Jamica with 2 young children (6 and 10) we did not have any problems, it was the best location close to the main pool and restaurant, each island had its own pool and beach if you want to have a quiet swim or relaxation! friendly staff ,cleaniness of the resort was outstanding!!! busses were constantly there yeah there were times u had to wait a little longer but they do say they run evey 15-20 mins. We just managed our time a bit better. On the whole an excellant resort and would reccommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KULLY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We just returned from a week at the Caribbean Beach resort. We stayed in Building 39 in the Trinidad South section in one of the newly remodeled Pirate rooms. The staff was energetic, polite and helpful. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The food and drink at Old Port Royale were more than adequate. The pool is open 24 hours and that was great since we closed the parks most nights. We had no trouble with Disney transportation. Busses ran on time and were clean and comfortable. Pathways are well trimmed and well lit at night. We had a great time and will be happy to stay at Caribbean Beach again Disney World. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooh_for_President
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

This resort is a moderate resort. By no means is it deluxe! I didn't really feel like I was in the Caribbean, but the grounds were beautiful and the pool was very nice, especially the pirate pool for children. Be prepared for the large size of the resort. You will be doing a lot of walking We stayed in the Aruba building 51. It was about a 2 minute walk to Old Port Royale ( shopping, food, and main pool complex).

The buses sometimes were few and far between. My Mom was in a scooter, so sometimes the buses were already full and we had to wait 20-30 minutes! On the plus side though, when we checked in at CUSTOM HOUSE, the staff members brought the scooter to our room so we wouldn't have to use the INTERNAL BUS SHUTTLE!

The food was OK, but the waitress at SHUTTERS was wonderful! We celebrated 3 birthdays and got 3 yummy chocolate cakes as a bonus! The food court has basic typical fast food and the lines can be long! The shop had quite a good selection of items to choose from!

I would not recommend going in the very hot summertime!

The mousekeeping was good. On the last day they had put all of their little cars we bought them in the window to display them! The room was clean. The beds were comfy. The bathroom was small!

You can see the EPCOT fireworks from one of the beaches at the resort. There are playgrounds for kids and hammocks for adults. It was a relaxing atmosphere.

I want to give a big shout out to JOSH and SOPHIE from Oregon/Pacific Northwest at Epcot's MISSION SPACE! They were the most wonderful cast members I have ever met! When they heard my story about Test Track breaking down, they took us right in with no wait time and my son was able to visit the CONTROL ROOM! It is one of those Disney Magical Moments that I will never forget! Thank you Josh and Sophie!
I would recommend Tony's Town Square at Magic Kingdom for dinner and The Garden Grill Character Dinner with Chip and Dale, Mickey and Pluto at EPCOT : decent food and a neat revolving restaurant!
I would not recommend Liberty Tree Tavern, San Angel Inn, or Rain Forest Cafe. Service was so-so. Keep in mind that the restaurants are loud and that you must make reservations WELL IN ADVANCE! Don't forget to use FASTPASS at the parks and have a magical Disney vacation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, NH
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We surprised our 7 year old with a trip to Disney before school started. Overall, I liked the hotel. The pirate room was great fun for our son... and the main pool was also pirate themed and lots of fun with cool slides and a water park for small children. The hotel also offers a "pirate treasure hunt" for children only on Sundays that our son thought was a ton of fun. Thanks to an email from Disney, we were alerted to this adventure. The hotel shuttle to and from the parks was very convenient.

There was a wonderful concierge desk with an extraordinary Customer Service Representative, Mary from Pa. She was so very helpful.

The main downside of the hotel was the FOOD.. It was horrible. Absolutely horrible.. If my 7 year old will not eat bacon, you know it is BAD! The eggs were disgusting, the pancakes were hard and I dont believe that there was one decent thing on the line for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Even the stand by pizza was like cardboard.

Overall, the grounds were beautiful, the staff helpful, the room comfortable and we did have a nice time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montcalmharls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

What a beautiful resort! You feel like you're in the Carribean as you walk through the grounds. Which by the way are HUGE. If you are not up for along walk, I recommend the "preferred" rooms. They cost a little more but are located close to the pool, restaurant, gift shop and game room. I can't imagine having to walk 10-15 minutes with the kids to dinner at night. We picked the preferred room instead of the pirate theme. The room we had was in the martinque area. When we arrived they were cleaning the carpet so we had to wait a bit before going to the room. However, we booked a magic your way package including tickets to the parks and so we hit those and when our room was ready they left a message on my cell phone. After a long day at the park, coming back to the pool was terrific. My 5 year old may have actually preferred that to some of the time we spent in the parks. We also did the pirate cruise for kids 4 to 12 (I'm not 100% sure on what age it goes to but kids have to be at least 4). They went on a pontoon boat looking for treasure and had a snack. He really enjoyed that too. The room itself was clean and very large. We have 2 year old twins so we needed to put up 2 portable cribs and were able to do so, no problem. They have a fridge in the room, which was terrific. No microwave though which would have been nice. Mousekeeping did a good job and the beds were comfortable. What can I say, who doesn't have a good time at Disney World!?! We sure did!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIdwestFamilyOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

having stayed in many Disney hotels i must say this is one of the best, it is not worth paying extra for the 5 star resorts becauses the rooms and ficilities are he same, the only downside to the resort is it is masive and sometimes the room can be a good 10 min walk to the main pool and food court (there are smaller pools dotted around but no slides ect) other than this the resort is great nice rooms good food even a steak house restaurant,dont forget to buy refillible mug (dring as much coffee soft drinks for your entire stay) parking was good and you get a pass to park in all disney parks for free saving 14 dollars a go. also in the night you can watch the Epcot fireworks from the resort which was great after a long day at the park!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly_vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Property: Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Address: 900 Cayman Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8411
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#112 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#129 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise built around 45-acre Barefoot Bay, this Resort hotel brings the Islands to you with swaying palm trees, white-sand beaches and colonial architecture. Six villages-Trinidad North, Trinidad South, Martinique, Barbados, Aruba and Jamaica-host colorful Guest rooms, some pirate-themed! "Island-hop" as you explore 200 lushly landscaped acres, or simply enjoy lazy days soaking up the sun in a hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneys Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disneys Caribbean Beach Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Florida
Disney Carribean Resort
Disney World Caribbean Beach Resort
Disney Carribean Beach
Disney Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disney Caribbean Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Disney
Caribbean Beach Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing