We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Ranked #151 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I and our 9 month old son stayed here in August. At first we were booked into the All-Star Sports Resort, but upon walking into a clogged up and rather smelly sink and finding out that the pool was being renovated (nice of them NOT to tell us that when we were making the booking) we ran out of there as quickly as possible.

After seeing the shambles of the All Star Resort, and knowing that the Caribbean Beach was only a few hundred dollars more, I was prepared for the worst, but was surprised with the best!

It's a beautiful resort, lovely big rooms, decent food, lovely pools, and fantastic staff. We couldn't have been happier.

Piece of advise though, get the meal package! It's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DohaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,286
    2,773
    1,411
    556
    291
See reviews for
4,846
1,052
60
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Check in was not smooth for us, but other than that we had a fabulous time! The food court and hot tubs are far if you are not a fan of walking. Also, this resort has a lot of bus stops. Food court was yummy with great selections, and shutters was delish! I'm part of DVC, so I prob wouldn't stay here again, but more of the deluxe resorts. Beautiful grounds and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lppenny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Enjoyed our short trip to Disney. We enjoyed the pool. The beds were extremely comfortable & I appreciated the privacy curtain that seperated the changing/wash room from the bed area. The front desk person was very nice, but was from another country & I had a very hard time understanding him. Would definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room near the food court would have been better for us. That is also near the big pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbelleAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here during spring break this last year and it was very nice. Another Disney home run. The rooms are nice and the hotel is always amazingly clean and in order. I love the walk to the food court in the morning across the bridges and lakes. Renting the boats is fun to!

Room Tip: If you like a scenic relaxing walk to the food court in the morning ask for a room in Jamaica, Aruba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After reading many reviews leading up to our trip I was nervous about our decision to stay here, however, I am extremely glad we did. I have detailed our experience below and hope that these details will help you make your decision.

Transportation: We did not use the Magical Express that was part of our package but chose to take a taxi to/from the resort. Based on previous trips, the Magical Express can add up to 1.5-2 hours to your communte and we were not willing to lose these hours at the parks. I do not think it is necessary to leave 3+ hours before your return flight, but that is their standard booking. The taxi cost was $65 each way and took less than 30 minutes.

Arrival/Check-in: Upon arrival we did not have to wait in line as we had checked-in online the week before. We had paid for a preferred room and were given our first building choice (Martinique 26) which is the closest building to Old Port Royale. A bellman drove us to our bldg and brought up our luggage as our room was on the 2nd floor. The entire check-in process was smooth and effortless for us. As many others have posted, it is definitely worth the $ for a preferred room as this is a very large resort. If you plan to use the dining options and/or main pool area and activities, you will want to be as close as possible.

Room/Mousekeeping: The room was larger than I had expected based on reading other reviews. We are a family of 4 (2 adults/2 7-yr olds) and we had no problems with the size of the room or storing all of our luggage. While the decor is slightly outdated, our room was clean and all items were in working order. The beds were small (especially if you are used to a king-size bed), but comfortable. Mousekeeping left us 2 towels animals upon arrival and another later in our stay. I left a tip and note for Mousekeeping each day and all requested items were left and room was cleaned adequately. I was concerned about this from previous reviews and did a thorough examination upon returning each day finding no issues. The divided bathroom is slightly strange, but we soon found the division to be helpful and allowed us to all get ready at the same time. The shower/toilet area is small, but efficient. Keep in mind, you get what you pay for and this is definitely a 'moderate' room for a 'moderate' price - think Courtyard by Mariott. If you are expecting the Four Seasons, you will be disappointed.

Food Court/Old Port Royale: We were on the QS dining plan and found the selections available and quality to be decent. They offer the typical fare - pasta, pizza, burgers and sandwiches - for adults, however, the kid's selections were limited to burger, chx nuggets, pb&J and pizza. They did offer healthy side selections for the kids. The free refillable mugs were a nice touch, but keep in mind, you can only use them at this resort for free and all meals come with a bottled beverage selection, so we did not use them much. We found the adult portions to be too much food and the kids' portions to be adequate. I would suggest using any dining credits at the parks as there are many restaurant choices and the food selection/quality is much better. We did order pizza one night delivered to the room and it was very good..

Main Pool/Activities: The main pool is terrific and the landscaping around the resort is beautiful. There are many beaches/hammocks around the lake and the island/cay offers a great kid's play area. The kids enjoyed the pool/slides/activities each day and the lifeguard staff was very attentive. The daily activities for the kids were great and we enjoyed the smores and nightly movies on more than one occasion. The pool bar is also very convenient and not overly priced. We enjoyed most evenings poolside where we could see the Epcot fireworks from the pool deck.

Bus Transportation: First the good....the busses were all in good, working condition and we only had to stand on one occasion. The rest will keep us from staying at any Disney resort without monorail access or without renting a car for personal transportation. The busses are supposed to come every 20 mintues, but that never happened. Our wait for the 'right' bus was 25-45 minutes and often we saw multiple busses going to different parks during our wait. The commute, once boarded, to MK and AK were over 30 minutes as we were often the 2nd stop of 6 within the resort and then had to proceed to the park of choice. Our total commute time was typically 40-60 minutes from the time we left our room or exited the park and added 2 hours to an already long day. We often wanted to return to the parks for evening hours but did not because of the bus system.

Overall: We enjoyed the resort and would definitely return....if (and it is a big if) it were on the monorail system (not going to happen) or we had our own car (added expense). The only negative experience throughout our trip was the bus system and I hate to ding the entire resort/staff/property over this as it is part of most Disney hotels. You must plan accordingly for the bus delays and commutes....it really can alter your plans and overall experience. You must pay for/request a preferred room. The previous reviewers are correct...it is a very large resort and walking from one of the outer buildings would be a 10-15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Pay for a preferred room. Plan accordingly for bus system travel to/from parks to add 45-60 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raible01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We read reviews on this resort for MONTHS before we left on our trip. We were disturbed by a lot of the reivews and even thought about changing our resort, but decided to stay and take all the reviews with a grain of salt! We are so glad that we did! We pulled up to the resort and two staff members actually greeted us at the bus. They had all of our resort packages ready to go, we didn't even have to walk into the custom house and stand in lines. They gave all the kids balloons and other goodies, which was great! We went right to our room and I have to say it was FANTASTIC, we stayed in Martinique #23, we had a corner until, it was beautiful, we had banana plants right outside of our window, which was great! It had more room than the value resorts that we stayed at in previous trips! The beds were so comfortable than the other resorts we stayed at as well. This is an older resort and some parts do show it's age, but everything is better with age. Our room was cleaned daily and had a ton of towels every day. The water pressure could have been better and our room phone was broke the entire room, but we really didn't need it. Please take all the negative reviews with a grain of salt! Stay here yourself and see how wonderful this place is. It's huge and if you aren't close to the Port Royale, it can be a bit of a walk, but it's a pretty walk! The food court was great, not very crowded at all. Great food choices! We spoke to the concierge about our check out info, he called and set up a time for the transportation to pick us up and take us to the custom house, which was so awesome! They were on time and we check out early and enjoyed the rest of our day at Magic Kingdom. My only complaint at the CBR is the bus service, most nights it felt like our bus was never going to get to the parks! It was always the last bus!! The internal buses were far and few between, so that was frustrating! All in all, we would stay here again, we are trying to staying at different resorts on every visit, but we would again for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andiandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just came back after 5 days. We (my wife and i and two kids) stayed at Trinidad South. The room had a pirate theme. My wife kept banging into the odd shaped bed frame. No door on the bathroom and the sink area was way too small. The cheesy coffee maker was on the bathroom sink. We were all fighting for electrical outlets to plug in chargers. The room was clean, but the soap and shampoo were below par. The first night i walked to the food court which was a 10 minute walk or i could have waited for the bus for twenty minutes and then rode an additional ten minutes. The internal resort bus wait to the main building seemed incredibly long. The food court offered various things that we were sick of very quickly. The bus wait was the worse part. Maybe it was bad timing but it didn't seem as if there was a set schedule for them. We always received the same "15 minute" answer. In the daytime the walk to the food court was very nice and scenic. The main pool area was nice and the grounds were well-kept. We stayed at the port orleans and it seemed much easier to get to the park via the bus. I probably would not stay there again, mainly because of the bus system and because the only snack option was the poorly located food court.

Room Tip: Stay close to the custom house or close to the food court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.5 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
1.6 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
0.8 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
3.8 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Property: Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Address: 900 Cayman Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8411
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#112 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#129 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise built around 45-acre Barefoot Bay, this Resort hotel brings the Islands to you with swaying palm trees, white-sand beaches and colonial architecture. Six villages-Trinidad North, Trinidad South, Martinique, Barbados, Aruba and Jamaica-host colorful Guest rooms, some pirate-themed! "Island-hop" as you explore 200 lushly landscaped acres, or simply enjoy lazy days soaking up the sun in a hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneys Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disneys Caribbean Beach Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Florida
Disney Carribean Resort
Disney World Caribbean Beach Resort
Disney Carribean Beach
Disney Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disney Caribbean Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Disney
Caribbean Beach Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing