We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Preferred" rooms not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Ranked #149 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Preferred" rooms not worth the money”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I did not realize that I would need a shuttle bus to take me to the pods where I then had to search for my room . I thought "preferred" meant I would be fairly close to things. Apparently it means you are within 5 minutes of the food court, and a 15 minute walk to the "customs house". Oh, you can wait for the shuttle, which runs every 20 minutes (except early in the AM when you might need to leave to catch a flight). I should have stayed at a value resort and saved the money. Also the only Disney property where I've actually seen a rat!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tourist33878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,304
    2,792
    1,423
    561
    296
See reviews for
4,885
1,064
60
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My family just came back from here. Good choice for a Disney hotel for families. Our only comment is this resort is large and requires plenty of walking to reach the gift shop, bar, or food court.
After a long day at the parks it was difficult at times to walk to the food court.
We would stay here again but would pick an Island close to the food court etc...
Staff at main custom house can be a bit unorganized but still very friendly.
Most trip to magic kingdom took 20 minutes by motor coach , depending on traffic . But still an easy trip.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missymypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My children (ages 11 & 7) and myself stayed here in July and we had a great time! Let me start by listing the positives (as there were far more than negatives).
-The resort is actually as beautiful as the pictures found on disney's website. The beaches were very pretty and there never seemed to be many people around so we could spend a LOT of time laying on the hammocks or playing in the sand. (You just cannot swim in the lake).
-The swimming pool is by far the BEST at disney! It is very large and their small children's pool was a HIT w/ my 7yr old. It has a wonderful play area that dumps buckets of water on their heads. Very cute!
-The room was very clean and the maids always met all of my requests for more towels, soap, etc.
-Bus service was fine. We waited probably 20 minutes for a bus to Hollywood studios, but all other buses we needed came w/in 5-10 minutes. I was never annoyed by the service they provided. It sure beats driving myself there!

Negatives---and there is only one-----
-The food court was ok. I hate listing it as a negative because it wasn't bad by any means; however, my children and I have a strict diet and we were unable to find many healthy options. The food is all fast food style, which again, isn't a bad thing...it just wasn't what we were looking for. We made the best of it and ate there when we needed to and utilzed downtown disney quick service restaurants for the remainder of our stay.

I have read a few reviews that state that this resort if super LARGE and I would agree that it IS large; however, I felt it wasn't outragous. I would recommend a prefered room if you have health problems or if you are slightly overweight, because the walking could be a little much for someone after a LONG day at the park. We are pretty fit and we even found it a little exhausting at times to walk far to the pool or food court. So my recommendation is to splurge on the prefered room or use the internal bus system. I wouldn't make it a deciding factor on staying here....because the resort is FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: -prefered room -use the quick dining plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelbugMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This was our second time staying at Caribbean Beach. Although it is a large complex consisting of six different islands of buildings, the setting makes up for any walks to the main restaurant and pool are of Old Port Royale. This main pool features an old fort like structure for the older children and a pirate ship are for the younger kids. The restaurant area features both table-service seating "Shutter" and the counter-service stations that provide a variety of food.

The islands of room complexes are placed around a lagoon that features a lovely walkway around the perimeter. Martinique and North Trinidad are preferred room areas and are closet to Old Port Royale. South Trinidad is the farthest from OPR but hosts the pirate rooms that have the boat-like beds, crate furniture, pirate curtain and other theme-like decor.

Distance from the parks is average with no major rides to the parks. The only downside with the CBR bus service is the stops at all the varying island pick-ups.

Overall, this is a great spot to stay at WDW.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coondog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantsville, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We just arrived home from Disney's Caribbean Beach Club and loved every minute we were there! The grounds are gorgeous and you feel as if you are in the caribbean. It does not have the "Disney Feel" but you feel the Disney Magic throughout your stay no matter where you are or what you are doing! Our last visit to Disney we stayed at the Wilderness Lodge. We loved it but the Caribbean Beach is so much more geared for children. The main swimming pool is so much fun for the kids. There is a tropical bar to order frozen drinks while your children swim. The rooms are not huge but it fit two adults, a 9 and 6 year old quite nicely. We had three suit cases and four carry-ons and we never felt cramped. We requested Martinique Building (since it is the closest to Old Port Royal: food court and stores). You should really google a map of the resort to choose what building you want to stay in so you are not disappointed if you have a "long" walk to the main area. We visited during Spring Break (Easter Week). We were able to catch a bus to the parks with a 10 minute wait. Once in a while it would be about 15 minutes. But just make sure you leave enough time for your travels to make any reservations that you might have at the parks or other resorts. We never had a problem and we were there during one of their busiest times of the year. Overall, for a moderate Disney resort...they do it right!! Enjoy and Relax...it is a vacation!! This review is dedicated to my friend Bonnie...Have a Blast!!!

Room Tip: Pick a building near Old Port Royal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klelmore
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed here last week and really enjoyed it. We had the premier King bed room and it was awesome. We felt like we really were in Aruba and it was enoyable. Our area was the second to last bus stop which made it perfect because we always got out of our resort in less than 5 minutes. It was perfect. We loved walking to the main area (food court, pirate pool, bar, etc.) as it was no more than a 5 minute walk which was really nice. This area was great and had great food selections for us that we really enjoyed. I would highly recommend this hotel, but it is worth it to pay for the premium room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kecompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Great location and amazing pools. They don't have wifi though :-/

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthBronxPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Property: Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Address: 900 Cayman Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8411
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#112 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#129 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise built around 45-acre Barefoot Bay, this Resort hotel brings the Islands to you with swaying palm trees, white-sand beaches and colonial architecture. Six villages-Trinidad North, Trinidad South, Martinique, Barbados, Aruba and Jamaica-host colorful Guest rooms, some pirate-themed! "Island-hop" as you explore 200 lushly landscaped acres, or simply enjoy lazy days soaking up the sun in a hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneys Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disneys Caribbean Beach Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Florida
Disney Carribean Resort
Disney World Caribbean Beach Resort
Disney Carribean Beach
Disney Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disney Caribbean Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Disney
Caribbean Beach Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing