We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Don't get what you pay for” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
Ranked #213 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Huntsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You Don't get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2006

We were in Orlando for a conference and had no choice of where to stay, unfortunately.

At $229 per night we stayed in a room with mildew growing on the bathroom ceiling above the shower, wallpaper peeling off the walls with nasty mold/mildew growing behind it and cracked tile in the bathroom. Our refrigerator had been removed. And, 2 out of the 4 days housecleaning did not replace our two "free" water bottles or the "complimentary" coffee which is what you are paying the additional $12 resort fee to get!

Valet parking was $15 per day but if you choose valet when you check in, what they don't tell you is that you get charged $15 immediately upon check-in, then each morning when the new employee clocks in. So for the first night (we used the service less than 24 hours) we got charged double plus tax and they refused to remove the charge!

The bus service was on time but had to stop at 4 other hotels to pick up guests so after the first day we decided to drive our rental car to the parks- we saved a lot of time this way. Plus, we could always stop by a fast food place and eat some reasonably priced food.

The prices at the restaurants, room service and the convience store were extremely inflated. The first night (after waiting 35 minutes in line to check in) we were starving so we ordered room service. We got 1 adult cheeseburger and 1 child's cheeseburger with fries and water and paid a total of $35!! They added fees, taxes and a 20% gratuity to a $15 cheeseburger!!

I felt like I got ripped off and cheated at this hotel. They know most people stay here for conferences and that "rich" people stay here for the "resort" features and feel like they can charge these ridiculous prices. I DO NOT recommend this hotel to anyone! The next time we visit Disney World we are staying at a Disney owned hotel- at least we will get what we pay for!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cw517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    1,354
    844
    487
    420
See reviews for
1,767
1,031
135
823
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2006

Our family of four stayed at the Buena Vista Palace for three nights in early March. We were there for a business function, so we didn't really have a choice to go elsewhere. The service at the Palace is excellent, from the time we drove up in our rental car and were greeted/assisted promptly, to the concierge desk with multiple staff to assist, and the friendly bellmen and front desk staff -- they were all prompt, helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately, the property itself is undergoing renovations currently. Supposedly most of the room renovations will be completed by the end of 2006. When we were there only the lowest rooms (i.e., floors 12 and lower?) had been renovated.


We unwittingly asked for a higher room facing Epcot/Disney World, so we could see the fireworks at night. They put us on the 16th floor. The view was nice (though, understand, Disney/Epcot are far off in the distance). However, the room itself was very basic and a bit worn looking. There were four of us in the one room. It had one small sink area, two queen beds, no refrigerator, or much else. In another words, no frills save for the complimentary toiletries. Hardly what one would expect for $190/night.

To make matters worse, every morning the contractors would start hammering on the upper floor pipes around 8 a.m. so we awoke to a relentless clanging sound. Then, around 9 a.m. every morning, sometimes sooner, they would cut the water off to all rooms on the upper floors. Our second morning there, we had no hot water. I complained. As it approached 9 a.m., I decided to take a cold shower rather than no shower. After I soaped up, the water began to trickle. I rinsed off as best I could -- literally pressed up against the shower wall trying to get the shampoo out of my hair with the few drops still coming out.

A maintenance man showed up, but had no explanation for the loss of hot water... or why we lost ALL water earlier than 9 a.m.

I complained to the front desk manager that, for a lot less than $190/night, we could find a nearby hotel that offered showers in the morning. He apologized and offered to move us to the Island Suites part of the hotel. The bad news: it was located on the other side of the pool, so we would have to gather all our things and move over there, for one night. We quickly decided to do it.

The Island Suites building is only about six stories tall, but the rooms are about 800 sq ft, which is more than twice the size of the rooms in the (27-story) main tower building. I'm not sure how much the suites cost per night, but if you've got a family of four, it's likely worth it for the extra space -- and extra bathroom! There are two.. well, actually one and a half. The second bathroom doesn't have a shower.

The suite is divided into two main rooms. The first room contains the foyer, half-bath, mini fridge, small microwave oven, wet bar, sleeper sofa, love seat, coffee table, end table, TV, a table that seats four, and window facing the pool area. The second room has two queen beds, a TV, dresser, end tables, a table that seats four, a small balcony that faces the pool area, a vanity w/ sink, and a bathroom with toilet and shower (no tub). Best of all there's LOTS of space to walk around in both rooms!

Like the Buena Vista tower rooms, the rooms in the Island Suites bldg are a bit "worn" looking. Our room had a bit of a smoke odor even though it was supposed to be "nonsmoking", and our mini fridge didn't work, but the amount of space and comfort we had made up for it. The shower was very nice/modern too.

A lot of reviews here rave about the Buena Vista Palace's location. We rented a car so we could be free to roam as we pleased. We never walked across the street to the Disney Marketplace, which is sort of an outdoor shopping/restaurant complex. Instead we spent our evenings at Disney World or Universal Studios. We could drive to either within 15 mins. Parking cost $9/day at all the amusement parks (so if you drive to two different parks in one day, expect to pay $18).

Prior to staying at the Buena Vista Palace, we spent two nights at the Regal Palms Resort. We rented a 4-bdrm, 4-bathroom furnished townhouse there for $125/night. It was wonderful, and easily accessible to Disney and Universal if you have a rental car (about 20 mins to either). The only thing the Regal Palms lacks is service. In spite of its name it's really a rental facility with some very nice pools/lazy river. I wrote up a review of our stay there too. There is one complimentary shuttle that goes to the parks, but you have to catch it at 8 a.m. and catch the return at 6 p.m.

I guess if you feel the strong need to be within sight of Disney during your whole stay, and you're willing to make sacrifices in the quality of your lodging to get that, then the Buena Vista Palace may be suited for you. But I suggest you wait until more of the renovation work is done or at least get a low-level room. I would think better of the place if the rooms were $100/night rather than twice that.

A final note: During the closing day of our conference at the Buena Vista Palace, the CEO of our national firm, got up in front of the hundreds of people in attendance and apologized for the crappy quality of Buena Vista Palace. He said we would be looking elsewhere, for a better facility, next time.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Virginian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2006

After a smelly night in the Hilton this place was awesome. My girlfriend and I drove to Orlando from Naples without booking a room. Every room on Disney property was booked so we got what we could. We first stayed at the Hilton in Downtown Disney which I must say was AWEFUL (our room smelled like dirty feet!) We then got on the internet and found this place. $119 a night during peak season and we couldn't ask for more. 2 swimming pools, a nice sized bathroom, $9 for internet which is pretty standard there, desk, very clean, and a balcony. We actually laid down in bed and watched the fireworks from all the parks everynight. Overall a great experience, I would definately recommend it for anyone looking to stay outside of the park. The shuttle bus ride is the last stop which is good and bad. First stop is Disney on the way into the park, but the hotel is the last stop on the way back. All and all definately a good time.
PS
Dont be confused by "The Outback" restaurant down on the 1st floor. We thought it was the popular Outback chain seen all over the US... It isn't and I ended up dropping $42 on a ribeye.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

The location of this hotel was great, since you can walk across the street to Downtown Disney. The check-in was easy, lobby was beautiful and overall the place seemed clean. Our room was an average hotel room with some problems: The curtains only cover half the sliding door to the balcony(so you wake up with the sunrise), the balcony had cigarette ashes left from previous occupant and we had plumbing problems. Game rooms were good and the pool was nice. The biggest issue I had was the price of things at the hotel cafe/store....for example a cup of coffee was $4, a bottle of coke $3, etc.,. I know that you always pay more at a hotel, but this place certainly overdid the inflated prices and is by no means nice enough to warrant them!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drvacation2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2006

Like many other reviewers, I was somewhat nervous about the hotel with all of the negative reviews out there. As we drove up to the hotel, we were very impressed. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The lobby is beautiful. The pool is wonderful. The service at the front desk and otherwise is fantastic. We went up to our room and were not too disappointed there either. Yes, it is dated. But it is very clean and nice and does the job. It has a balcony and we had a view of the "Lake" where we could look down and see turtles, large fish, beautiful birds, etc. It's Orlando and you don't spend much time in the room anyway other than sleeping and showering, both of which were fine. The location is amazing. Walk to Downtown Disney and Pleasure Island, can't beat that! The shuttles to the parks were always on time for us, no complaints there. It was a great service. Check-in and check-out went incredibly smoothly and they even allowed us to have a later checkout time at no extra charge. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank iamkelber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2006

While the location near Downtown Disney was great, the rooms need major work and the housekeeping stinks!

Our room had a oder that I finally found was a waste basket hid behind the window drapes full of used baby diapers and rotten fruit! I complained at the front desk and was given a card to fill out? The glass door on the shower was broken, the tile around the shower was in need of repair and in general the rooms are run down!

At $190/night you can do better!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioBob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

Was a little worried about chosing this hotel after reading some of the negative reviews, but we were happy with the hotel. Check in went smooth, less than 5 minutes. Our room had a nice view of the pool. Room was clean and well stocked. Didn't have any problems with the bus schedule, they were always friendly and on time. Didn't use the pool, but my husband went to check it out and said it was really nice. My husband was a little annoyed with the $12 resort fee, but that was/is our only complaint.

The location is perfect, they have busses to Pleasure Island, but it's easy to walk across the street to Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Palms Resort
#7 of 58 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Regal Palms Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Davenport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs

Property: Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
Address: 1900 E. Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830-8432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 1014
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an Orlando resort getaway that ascends above the rest. Soaring 27 stories above the world's favorite destination, Buena Vista Palace is a beautiful resort in the Walt Disney World® Resort just a short walk from Disney Springs™. Guests can enjoy complimentary transportation to Disney Theme Parks and the Disney Springs™ area. Feel the magic the moment you arrive. For work or play, delight in our exclusive amenities, stunning accommodations, and alluring setting. Plus, we're just 25 minutes from downtown Orlando and the Orlando International Airport (MCO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing