We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
Ranked #201 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed October 1, 2013

How about you’re Disney, the same company that owns ESPN and ABC, and you put wide-screen TV’s in your hotel but then provide NO HD CHANNELS? Really. Maybe you get used to the inflated prices for food and extras when you’re here for a family Disney vacation but I was here for a business conference and I just do not want to pay $20.00 for breakfast buffet or get a bowl of raisin bran ala carte for $7.00. They tack on a daily “resort fee” which is $ 21.95, but don’t worry, they give you a card listing all the benefits and explaining what a bargain the fee is detailing all the things you get for that fee and what the various components are worth.…explaining that that one sleeve of in-room coffee has a “value” of $ 8.00, slow (1 Mbps) “high-speed” internet is worth $17.00, heck they say the right to print your boarding pass in the lobby is worth $2.00. I’ve never seen any hotel charge to do that before and I’ve stayed at everything from an Econ-Lodge to a Ritz-Carlton. The rooms themselves were OK. You can easily drive off the Disney Campus to a good selection of restaurants, or get there in about a 20 minute walk. The front desk was friendly and a few problems I had were fixed but not too promptly. Can't say this one can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We will share your comments with the appropriate department heads to ensure they are reviewed and addressed accordingly. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,763 - 2,769 of 5,300 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed this past weekend for a 3 day romantic getaway. We had a Downtown Disney View Room....what a beautiful view after a long day in the park. The rooms are quiet and beds are very comfortable. We had a great housekeeper for the three days...no problems! The staff at check in were very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
We are pleased you chose to stay with us on your romantic getaway. Thank you for the kind words and we will most certainly share your comments with our staff. If your travel plans bring you back to the Orlando area, we hope you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here in August with our boys aged 10 and 8. We had a downtown disney room that was clean spacious and had a great view of downtown disney and the Epcot fireworks. The location is brilliant just across the road from Downtown Disney. We hired a car and found the parking to be very easy at this hotel, we didn't use the valet parking and always found plenty of space to park no more than a couple of minutes walk. The staff were all excellent and were always helpful. The concierge were great and always had handy vouchers for restaurants in downtown disney. We ate the buffet breakfast in the hotel which was fab, the food was great and the kids ate free so great value. We also ate in the sports bar a couple of times and again the food was great and the service very friendly. We had a great holiday and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so for the Fabulous review. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is a very good value for the rates it offers. The rooms are just a tad worn, but clean. The bathrooms are not impeccable, but also clean and more than acceptable. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are relatively quiet. The location is hard to beat for access to Downtown Disney, although the traffic at the end of the strip is very heavy and slow during rush hour, especially currently while Downtown Disney is rehabbing some of its parking lots. The front desk is accommodating when asked and welcoming upon arrival. No this is not four and half star property or even four perhaps, but this property is priced right unless there is a special event going on. And lately I've noticed the price for the Disney owned hotels are out of control. Occupancy for the Disney hotels must be doing good, for the high prices they are charging, even for the Value resorts whose rooms are simply too tiny for a family of four. All of all, this hotel is a good bargain. Just don't expect the Ritz Carlton and you will be more than pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevators facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our spacious, clean rooms and location. We may have one of the oldest hotels in the area, but are location is awesome. We do offer competitive rates and desirable packages that are geared to those travelers looking for a value such as yourself. We want to thank you again and to say we truly appreciate the feedback.

We do hope you come back to visit again.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The resort was nice enough. However, I really didn't like paying an additional $24+ for RESORT FEE for things that should've been included in the price of the hotel, i.e. swimming pool, internet fee, coffee in room, etc. In the room we were given just one pouch of coffee (regular, no decaf) and just 2 paper cups. The paper cups weren't wrapped at all in plastic. In this day and age, I think that offering cups that aren't wrapped is a very unsanitary method. If I didn't use the pool or internet or coffee, should I still have had to pay the additional $24 resort fee? As far as I know, it wasn't a choice item. Hotels should charge the fee they set and not add-on a ridiculous additional fee like this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
We want to personally thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your comments and will be sure to share them with our management team to ensure they are reviewed and addressed accordingly. We apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We selected this hotel for its location to Downtown Disney, and having previously stayed there (although some years ago). Upon arrival check in was a formality with the reception staff being friendly and efficient. I had booked two rooms overlooking Downtown Disney. The rooms were clean and comfortable; although as our stay continued the level of housekeeping was seen to deteriorate (both rooms had cockroaches at some point of the stay), it also took housekeeping three days to change a dirty sheet after coffee had been spilled on it, this sheet was only changed after two trips to reception. We were given a $150 comp

The mini market was great for breakfast and late at night when we got back from the parks, likewise “Kooks” sports bar, serves good food, excellent steak, and various beers, with the staff in both being friendly and helpful. The pool area had plenty of towels and sunbeds and was never busy; however the pool requires more than a lick of paint, definitely not a four star pool area.

Overall the hotel seems to cater more for conferences than tourists, its big plus point is its location to Downtown Disney and the bus service to the Disney parks.

On a safety note the fire alarm went off one morning, I was in our room on the 15th floor and was unaware as the alarm did not sound, I only found out when my wife who was in the mini mart on level 1, returned to the room and told me the fire alarm had been activated and she had been evacuated!!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking Downtown Disney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKRichiesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very disappointed with our experience at a resort we expected a lot from. The service was execrable. The place was not that busy, but the concierge put us on hold for over ten minutes, two times, after which we hung up. Half the staff did not speak English or Spanish. They were friendly enough but bloody useless.

When we arrived about 3 PM, there was not a restaurant on premises to be found. Finally, a guest directed us to the pool snack bar, which had a very thin menu. Mediocre burgers, but good fish.

The bartenders were all excellent, but it was often hard to find an open bar.

Room maintenance was mediocre at best. Tubs often do not drain. Dirty towels left in rooms.

The catering staff (we went for a wedding) were a mixed bag. Some bent over backwards to be helpful, others ignored us.

There was supposed to be a shuttle to Pleasure Island, but there was no sign of it actually operating. It is a $20 taxi ride to go the 1,000 yards to Pleasure Island. <SHRUG> It's Mouseland.

I'll not stay there again. There are too many good places in Mouseland.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Traveler,
We are disappointed to read you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sharing your comments with our staff with hopes we can improve our facility and the service we provide in the future.

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
1.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#53 of 341 in Orlando
5,443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs™ Area
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs

Address: 1900 E. Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830-8432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#52 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $167 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the from over 150 one-of-a-kind restaurants, boutiques and the best of entertainment at Disney Springs™, Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace provides a contemporary oasis in a location second to none. The lake-front hotel has recently completed extensive renovations that include stylish, modern guest room redesign and the addition of two large pools, with private cabanas, a poolside restaurant and a Float Lagoon with beach entry that the whole family will love. Hilton Buena Vista Palace offers 5 dining options and a Disney Character Breakfast. Disney Benifits include complimentary shuttle to the parks, and onsite Disney store. Beginning January 1, guests of the hotel will have access to Walt Disney World theme park Extra Magic Hours benefit! Theme park admission and special voucher received at check-in will be required. Valid for stays through December 31. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing