We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not get closer to downtown Disney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
Ranked #210 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location just across the street to downtown Disney and buses to all the other parks. Staff was great but the property needs some minor attention starting to look tired. Hint buy you Disney tickets from the store downstairs and not the hotel desk

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank advcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Could Not Get Closer To Downtown Disney,
We are so happy to hear you had a great visit with us. We agree with you and feel very fortunate to be so close to Downtown Disney and everything thing the area has to offer. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope you come back to visit us soon.

Warm Regards,
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,017)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,541 - 2,547 of 5,019 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night with my teenage daughter at the end of July. I booked it as a 'top secret' hotel with travelocity. I chose it because it was rated a 4 star resort, and the price was very good.
First the pros: Great location across from downtown Disney. The staff was helpful and friendly, from the valet workers to the front desk. The food in the cafe was good.
Cons: The resort fee is ridiculous. Many 3 star hotels provide those amenities for free. The concierge was a salesman trying to get you to listen to a timeshare pitch which I found extremely offensive. Our shower drain did not work. By the end of my shower the tub was almost completely full. Gross. Valet parking costs an additional $21 per night.
I would not stay there again considering all of the other options in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DS1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Fairfield, Connecticut,
We truly appreciate your feedback and the kind words about our staff. Our location to Downtown Disney is most certainly a plus and we are happy you enjoyed the area. We pride ourselves in providing the best in service and facilities and we were disappointed to see that you were not completely satisfied with the resort fee and the amenities it included. We will be sure to check the shower drain and we hope you would think about coming back again if your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked an impulsive week in this hotel, after extending our holiday by a further week. As I was impulsive we failed to do what everyone should and consult the wise words from Tripadviser (which is a lesson learned now!)

After booking and paying ($1,590 plus resort tax for a double queen island 'suite') I read the reviews and they were pretty awful, so here is our story :-

Checked in very well and received all the information we needed.
We went to the room (which was a disabled room) with a single King bed. Not very helpful when there are two adults and two children!!
Back to reception to amend the room, which we had to wait one night for. They did however deliver a rollaway bed which a least got us through night 1.

We moved to our new 'suite' (please understand they are far from suites) and from the start we were impressed by the hotels ability to offer a truly disgusting experience :-

Some lowlights for you -

Blood on the toilet seat
What looks like faeces on the wall
Stains on almost everything (cupboards, floor, chairs, walls)
A fridge that didn't work and leaked water
Pests in the trees outside that start chatting at 23.00 every night, and rest assured they are so loud that we had to buy our children ear plugs to allow them to sleep!!

To cap it all off, on day 3 we encountered a cockroach in a towel in the bathroom to my children's horror.

After complaining to the front desk I was offered a whopping $90 off our holiday cost....then after 1 minute to consider this increased to $170. I advised them to have a little think......(which they clearly didn't the brain power to do)

On day 4 we returned to the room at 22.45 to find our keys deactivated (others were at the front desk with the same hassle). And after asking our children to wash up before bed we found yet another cockroach in the bathroom!!!

I complained to the hotel manager this time and his response was....never forthcoming.

Positive things about the hotel :-

The beds are very comfortable and the in room coffee is good.

Rooms to choose :-

Impossible to say based on our stay because the island suites have a problem on all sides - front = bus loading zone for downtown disney (great view but noisy is an understatement) middle = 24 hour pool / back = Bug city detailed above

According to the front desk "you have the best room in the place" so lord only knows how bad the rest of the hotel is.

Spa :-

It looks great, but we didn't get time to use it,other than for my hair cut. To qualify my next statement I am virtually bald and use trimmers to cut back the fluffy hair. This takes about 5 minutes and just needs clippers. In Disney Magic Kingdom I had this done, and it was a great experience plus I got sprinkles in my hair and for all the family at a cost of $17 which was good value. In the hotel they charged me $24 and it certainly didn't include any sprinkling of magic and they must be laughing all the way to the bank.

Access to downtown :-

Fantastic location for getting to all the shops and restaurants.

Access to parks :-

The bus is ok and runs twice an hour, but at busy times you cannot get on which is an issue. Therefore getting back to the hotel is a hassle.

It is much easier staying in a Disney hotel and transport is never an issue.

My advice :-

Do not stay here basically, if you want a downtown hotel look at Saratoga Springs, Old Key West, Port Orleans as they all have boat access to downtown and they are all 10 x the Buena Vista Palace will ever be.

Selling :-

If you want cheap tickets to theme parks and attractions then by the minimart in the hotel you can achieve a 33% discount. However the catch is, they sit you and your family through a 90 minute timeshare presentation which was only mentioned just before we nearly bought Sea World tickets. We didn't proceed with the booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

- I asked for a quiet room. I get a room next to the elevators and the vending / ice machine. Had to request a different room, it was more quiet until the people in the room came back, walls must be made out of paper. It was loud, at different times thru out the day and night.
- pool is open 24/7 equals to kids and drunks being too loud well into the night.
- main building of the hotel felt like a casino with drunks and drinks & beers left on tables in the main lobby. (Lack of attention to details)
- they charge you this Bogus Bull $-it resort fee of $21 a day
- is an old hotel it needs to be upgraded
- TV remote control is a key board, you have to figure out how to change the chanels
- Pro side shower had great water preasure
- i would not recommend this hotel period

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumbero75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear West Palm Beach,
We appreciate your feedback and will definitely share your comments so we can improve our service and facilities.

Warm Regards,
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is not bad but it isn't great as well. The location of this resort is perfect and close to the theme parks and shop and is also close to great restaurants of all kind. No matter what country your from there is always a place to eat. With more then 3 pools and many restaurants inside the resort it's self it is perfect for people of all type. I stayed here for 6 nights and had booked a suite which happened to be of the ground floor and spent the first night there but in the morning while opening the curtain and lizard fell from the curtain and ran around the room, we were very disappointed so go a room change, but the next room we moved to smelled of smoke. Again we were very sad and called the front desk they changed the beddings in the room for as and we were fine with the room. For the rest of the day we had a great time visiting the parks and the hotel had free buses to the parks. The people working in the café were extremely rude though, when we went down to pay for some stuff we had purchased I put the money on the counter and the lady working there misunderstood us as being mean and while returning the change in my hand which I had in front of her waiting, she tossed the money on the counter and insulted us! We had a great time in Orlando and also loved the resort itself but the staff was very bad and need more training on how to work at a hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors are better because you can see the fireworks every night, and rooms on t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siddhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear 50/50,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope you had a fabulous vacation and rest assure, we will be sharing your comments with our staff to help us improve our service we provide to our guests.

Warm Regards,
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for a third time because of its relative good value for money and previous positive experiences as well as its excellent location for visiting Disney without Disney prices. Once again we had a great holiday and would stay again but noticed a few areas were looking a little tired. The public areas in the main hotel building are beautiful and the staff helpful and friendly. Our room was good but the bathroom could do with a little updating and there wasn't a lot of storage space for a family of four on a 2 week stay! The pool area in particular looks very dated. The loungers are in a very rundown state with the cushions discoloured and ripped. Our other complaint was lack of towels in our room -we had to ring for them four times and I even had to collect some myself from reception when none were forthcoming.
However, those moans aside we still would recommend this to other travellers looking for a well located and comfortable hotel. Our 14 year old daughter loves it and always says she wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are our preferred choice
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkYorktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear York York Traveller,
We enjoyed reading your review and are so happy you had such a wonderful holiday. We truly appreciate the loyalty and can not wait for you and your family to visit again.

Warm Regards,
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at Buena Vista Palace Hotel for 4 nights for a Disney vacation. Hotel is not Disney themed but it does provide continuous shuttle to the Disney parks, a short walk to Downtown Disney, and restaurants nearby.

Restaurants are a bit pricey but I asked for breakfast vouchers when I booked the rooms and got some 2 adult voucher per day. ($20 value each)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear M C,
We hope you had a fantastic visit. Thank you for your response and we sure hope you come back to visit us real soon.

Warm Regards,
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terra Verde Resort
#11 of 63 in Kissimmee
442 reviews
Windsor Palms Resort
#10 of 63 in Kissimmee
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs

Address: 1900 E. Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830-8432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#56 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $160 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is walking distance to the newly re-imagined Disney Springs®. Enjoy complimentary shuttle to Disney Theme Parks (all within 5 miles of the hotel), Disney Character Breakfast every Sunday, our new Float Lagoon pool, newly renovated guest rooms, exciting new restaurants and much more! Plus, we're just 25 minutes from downtown Orlando and the Orlando International Airport (MCO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing