We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous- Stay Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Orlando Downtown Centroplex
Ranked #311 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a truly scary hotel. There was a fight and yelling in the hallway in the middle of the night. No hotel staff was present to do anything about this. There are many criminal types hanging around and I felt unsafe. There are chain locks on the room entrance door and the balcony door, but none on the door that is shared between rooms and the door did not lock. The ownership of this hotel should install dead bolts for the doors instead of chain locks. The front door is left unlocked. A person does not need a hotel key to enter and there is no staff here at night in the lobby. They probably cannot stay because its dangerous for them to since the owners of the hotel have not invested in card key locks for the front door. Anyone from the street can come in and do anything they want. When I walked to my room, people would open their doors, come out to see who was walking by and stare at me as if they were paranoid about something.

The air conditioning was blowing the drapes wide open so I had to turn it off so that no one would see me from outside the window. If there were heavier window panels this would not happen. The bed linens smelled dirty so I did not sleep under the covers. the bed linens need to be cleaned after every guest.

In the morning when I went to take a shower, there were drops of blood on the bathroom floor, small pubic hairs in the shower and the towels were stained, tattered and frayed. I know the towels don't have to be the best quality, but at least the ownership of this hotel can invest in NEW thin towels that are not disintegrating or stained. The bathroom surfaces should be scrubbed clean so that even if some one has bled on the floor, the next guest should not know about it.

The pool was filthy and starting to manifest a green color. Looking back, I should have stayed in the bed and breakfast by the park even if they had no pool and had ugly online pictures. I chose the Travelodge Centroplex because of its close location to the park, the pictures and the pool. Whenever those pictures were taken, those days are long gone! What a shame.

The coffee room had no coffee.

One manager or bossy associate was poorly dressed in sloppy, grungy, non-uniform clothes and treated his fellow employees in an unprofessional bossy manner in front of guests. I would tell that manager or bossy associate to dress in uniform, trim his facial hair and comb ALL of his hair neatly when he is in front of the guests in his hotel, especially if he is going to be bossy toward another employee and seem like the management example others need to follow.

The front desk staff is the only great thing about this hotel because they are polite, helpful, neat looking and professional. They are the only reason I did not run away from this place when I arrived. They get an "extremely satisfied" from me, but everything else in the hotel is extremely dissatisfying and disapointing.

The ownership of this hotel should fix this place, upgrade and clean EVERYTHING! Then they should charge more money so that the criminal types of people do not want to spend the money to stay here. That is an easy way to keep them out.

It seems like this place was once great and nice, but the ownership has allowed it to become run down. If it were my property, I would take better care of it because there will always be guests to stay in that great location, but not if it is this bad and dangerous. Travelodge can make good money if they take care of this place. I don't understand why they don't.

I would not have stayed here if I knew the place was so scary and gross.

Room Tip: Don't stay until you know they've fixed their problems like putting a card key system on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sroxc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 498 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place has to be the worst I've ever stayed in. We chose it because on the particular night we went to Orlando the other hotels in the downtown area were pricey. Big mistake. The room was filthy, the shower so moldy and dirty I could hardly bear to use it. And the bathroom itself was full of insects. Disgusting. And last but not least it was pretty unsafe. Do not stay here!!

Room Tip: There isn't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This Motel Is pretty run down, the toilet seat was broken, the shower had what appeared to be mold growing on it, other than that the room was clean enough... the only reason I stayed here was because it was cheaper than the other motels in the area and I was going to a concert at the social which was walking distance right around the corner..... But overall the room was not even worth the price I payed...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackblack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you wish to give your family the ultimate ghetto experience, then the Travel Lodge in Orlando is the place for you! Your kids can enjoy watching crack heads make "not so subtle" drug deals, learn to decorate with empty beer bottles, be stalked by local child molesters and take in the smells of vomit and urine all in one location. Every room provides the comforts of ghetto life which includes no microwave, no refrigerator, no clock, no radio, no doors on closets and no extra bedding. This motel provides all the danger necessary to truly experience what it is like to live on the streets by offering no working smoke alarms, locks that do not lock, faulty electrical wiring, and balconies that are easily accessible to local robbers. In regards to hygiene leave your soap and shampoo at home because all showers are dirtier than you. And each bathroom comes with its own brand of filth whether that that be cob webs, various molds or dead insects. Also the sink faucets actually fall apart in your hand as you turn them on. Don’t forget to enjoy the overall ambiance of the poor life as you walk by homeless people sleeping and begging on the streets, view the large garden pots filled with cigarette butts, listen to the loud music and slamming doors during all hours of the night. Experience true need as the “not so friendly” staff ignores each and every request. So come on, get out of those suburbs and take in the sights and sounds of the ghetto, visit the Orlando Travel Lodge today!
• Not responsible for loss of luggage, personal injury or the results of a drive by shooting.
R.Monahan Freeport, Maine

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I booked into this hotel a while back whilst visiting Orlando. The lady receptionist was very rude at the desk and unhelpful. We had missed our flight and was therefore delayed for our check in date even though we had a three day stay, I was also travelling with a child. The receptionist told me that I had lost my booking (which was not true!) there was no sympathy and help, I had to ask to use the phone to call Expedia which was the agents who I booked with who sorted it out with a kind service. The receptionist then as a result gave us a room. Whilst waiting at the reception while it was late I saw gangsters walking through the reception area. It just felt seedy!

The hotel room was old fashioned, out dated I guess that's why it was cheap. The decor was terrible. The pool was shabby. The only okay thing was the free continental breakfast.

I booked this hotel as I needed a short stop near the airport before going to international drive. I also knew it was a bus ride to the mall.

Their computer in the main reception for guest at the time was not working and had to go across the street to use another hotels Internet (which was much nicer!).

Don't book here it's cheap and dirty.

Room Tip: See pictures before travelling. Maybe book a self catering room which may be slightly better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you wish to give your family the ultimate ghetto experience, then the Travel Lodge in Orlando is the place for you! Your kids can enjoy watching crack heads make not so subtle drug deals, learn to decorate with empty beer bottles, be stalked by local child molesters and take in the smells of vomit and urine all in one location. Every room provides the comforts of ghetto life which includes no microwave, no refrigerator, no clock, no radio, no doors on closets and no extra bedding. This motel provides all the danger necessary to truly experience what it is like to live on the streets by offering no working smoke alarms, locks that do not lock, faulty electrical wiring, and balconies that are easily accessible to local robbers. In regards to hygiene leave your soap and shampoo at home because all showers are dirtier then you. And each bathroom comes with its own brand of filth whether that be cob webs, various molds or dead insects. Also the sink faucets actually fall apart in your hand as you turn them on. Don’t forget to enjoy the overall ambiance of the poor life as you walk by homeless people sleeping and begging on the streets, view the large garden pots filled with cigarette butts, listen to the loud music and slamming doors during all hours of the night. Experience true need as the not so friendly staff ignores each and every request. So come on, get out of those suburbs and take in the sights and sounds of the ghetto, visit the Orlando Travel Lodge today!
· Not responsible for loss of luggage, personal injury or the results of a drive by shooting.

Room Tip: None are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EmilyM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

It was a few years ago... We booked te room because of the price, we found this accomodation the cheapest at that time. Not the best hotel, but when you out from early the morning till night, that is not a problem, The room was a bit old, and the breakfast was basic , but if you know, that is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, it's ok. The point is that the most important things for us was close enough. So it worth the money, but not too trendy hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umeshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Best Western Orlando West
#241 of 342 in Orlando
329 reviews
Eo Inn
#229 of 342 in Orlando
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#113 of 342 in Orlando
465 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Orlando Downtown Centroplex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Orlando Downtown Centroplex

Address: 409 N Magnolia Ave, Orlando, FL 32801-1524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Orlando Downtown Centroplex 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Orlando Downtown Centroplex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Centroplex Travelodge Hotel Orlando
Travelodge Orlando
Orlando Travel Lodge
Orlando Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing