We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Villas of Grand Cypress
Ranked #1 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
isle of man
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Villas for 8 nights during our Honeymoon and can not speak more highly about the place. The rooms were clean and staff great.

This resort is 10/15 minutes away from Disney via small back roads hence avoiding traffic, but feels like you are a million miles away. It is extremely tranquil, but is connected to the massive Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, where there is endless entertainment.

Expensive but amazing is the Nine18 restaurant 5 minutes walk from your Villa.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time and request a Villa, that has a porch that is on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed Disney, the Hyatt, and had an exceptional and relaxing stay with us on the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    136
    34
    21
    13
See reviews for
586
366
27
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Having stayed here on several occasions years ago we were excited to be going back but it is massively in need of some tlc, the location can't be faulted and the tranquility of the place is excellent a real break from the Disney chaos but the accommodation was very poor, we stayed in a two bedroomed apartment and were fairly shocked on check out that the charged room tax and a resort fee per room, i ended up paying about 500 dollars more than i expected for a 6 night stay ,,! the bedrooms were ok comfortable beds but the lounge was awful, it had two dirty chairs and a grubby sofa, the furniture was so sparse it looked as if half of it was missing, the dryer in the kitchen made so much noise we couldn't use it and half of the bulbs were missing from the lamps. We won't go back again, Orlando has so much more to offer elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jb140563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your recent stay with us. As published on our website, we do charge a nightly per bedrom resort fee and state-mandated room tax for all of our rooms. I would like to speak with you further regarding the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. Please feel free to call me directly at 407-239-1961.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the moment we departed the security entrance gate, an immediate sereneness was felt driving down the neatly manicured streets that wind through the golf course. Complimentary drinks were offered upon check-in. Our one-bedroom villa in Court 2 was tastefully decorated, light and airy, with a spectacular golf course view. The course looked in great shape, btw, even though we were not there to golf. Restaurant quit serving breakfast at 11am, which I thought was too early for a Sunday morning...but still gets two thumbs up and a return vote!!!

Room Tip: One bedroom with king size bed very spacious with sitting area and mini bar; oversized bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a complimentary review of your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and more importantly found time to relax and enjoy your stay. We want each of our guests to arrive at our resort and experience the "serenity" that you described in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

A nice departure from standard 'box' hotels. Very nice rooms, if somewhat dated, with condo-esque layout. We had King BR suite with sunken living area. No fridge. Gated community, very quiet, secluded feeling yet only 3 miles from Downtown Disney. Definitely would do again. Booked through hotwire -- great rate but Villas tacked on $22 "Resort fee" on top of Hotwire payment...

Villas pool is not large, but also, was not crowded at all on Saturday we visited. Also have access to Grand Hyatt pool, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Booked through Hotwire
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprtlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for choosing our resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed having a more spacious accommodation our close proximity to Downtown Disney. For the benefit of other readers, we do charge a $22 per bedroom, per night resort fee which covers various amenities at The Villas in addition to the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. Some of these amenities include: complimentary parking and 24-hour shuttle service around the resort, a 24' rock climbing wall, complimentary wi-fi, daily transportation to the theme parks, complimentary use of our driving ranges and practice facilities (including a 9 hole pitch-and-putt), complimentary bike and boat rentals, among many other amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next trip to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Villas of Grand Cypess for about a week. In that week, we went to theme parks for 4 of the days and the other 3 days, we decided to take it easy and go to downtowns(Disney/Universal) and stay at the resort. Overall, it was a good experience and would probably go back. Below are some details on the trip:

Room: I can see where people are coming from and I agree that the furniture/rooms are a bit outdated. The Grand Cypress Hyatt supposedly went through a $20 million or so renovation, not quite sure why that didn't apply to the villas. Anyways, we stayed in a 1 Bedroom Villa which had a master bedroom, full kitchen, dining room, living room with queen sofa bed, bar, and patio overlooking a golf course. Highly spacious villa and it was necessary for a family with young children staying for a week. Kitchen was a great tool since many times, we didn't feel like going out for lunch or dinner, so it was worth having a kitchen. Overall, nice and spacious, however some updating needed.

Resort Features: The resort+the Hyatt property has many activities including a great golf course, canoeing, large pools, gyms, biking, etc. Pretty much, everything which you would expect at a 4-5 star resort. Everything on the Villas side was great, however, the Hyatt side-not so much. The Hyatt side is where most of the activities such as tennis, canoeing, and others are and our family decided to head on over there for one of our non-theme park days. Didn't go as planned.. No one was there to help us in the tennis center or the water sports center. Canoes were thrown all over the place and bikes were on top of each other, scattered everywhere which didn't show too highly of the Hyatt. So we decided to just return to the Villa side and enjoy their smaller pool, bikes, and golf.

Service: Overall, service was somewhat below my expectations. I was expecting great service throughout the resort, however, only found good 4/5 star service in the lobby. For example, My daughter and I wanted to go for a bike ride and we needed to get a bike, however it was locked. (The bikes are located adjacent to the pool side where there are staff who will unlock it for you). I asked one of the staff members to kindly give us a few bikes and it took him 10-15 minutes to come and take out a bike from its lock. A bit too long when the staff member is literally 20 feet away from you.

In a whole, this was a nice resort nested away from the highly active theme park atmosphere. After a day of walking, riding, and exploring the Disney themeparks (always an adventure, this was our 7th time in Disney), it was nice to come back to a serene villa environment. If I were to debate whether to stay here or at the Hyatt side, it would definitely be at the Villas. The Villas give more attention to the details and although there is not as many features, it is more relaxing and spacious. Would come back to Villas when visiting Orlando again.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time and say which type of view you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redskins2971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed our resort and had a chance to enjoy the theme parks as well. We are very fortunate to share a portion of our property with the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, but we are owned and managed separately. Although you provided some very complimentary feedback, I would like to speak with you personally in regard to some inconveniences you experienced with guest service. You can reach me directly at 407-239-1961. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here because we were able to get a discounted rate since my stepdaughter was getting married at the Hyatt Grand Cypress. We wanted to be close to the wedding venue but we needed more than just a regular hotel room.
The villa was very spacious with a spectacular outdoor space and view of the lake and golf course. The fireplace was a very nice feature especially because we arrived during a rain storm.
I was disappointed that the inside of the villa was very outdated. The kitchen and bath reflected 1980s style and were a bit shabby. The kitchen was small in comparison to the size of the villa.
There was a musty odor and a couple of cleanliness issues when we arrived so we called the front desk and housekeeping was sent immediately to deal with it. I would not want to stay here if I was paying full price unless they update.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMouse1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your stay with us this past April. It is very disappointing for us to read that our accommodations fell short of your expectations as we strive to exceed all of our guests' expectations. We hope that your stepdaughter had a "grand" day on her wedding day at our sister property, the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort on your next trip to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I went to this resort for a writer's retreat (so it was business with a dab of pleasure) and I loved it. I stayed in a club suite. Had a roommate so we had double beds (or maybe it was two queens), anyway, the bed was soooooooooo comfortable. I loved the suite. It was very large. It's much larger than a standard hotel room or even most suites. It was one large room, but it was large. The bathroom is a small spa. The tub was amazing and I took two hot soaks just because I couldn't resist. The sitting area was very comfortable and we had a great view of the property from the balcony. There was a lovely fountain which made it very peaceful.

We ordered room service once. It was prompt and the food was good. I dined in The Club a few times. Pricey but yummy. The shuttle service around the property was also very prompt. The staff was nice, pool was well kept and clean. I didn't use the spa. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you're attending a conference you may want to ask for a room that's within walking distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RennyN30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on The Villas of Grand Cypress. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, although you were here for a business conference. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,339 reviews
Floridays Resort
#19 of 339 in Orlando
8,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas of Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of Grand Cypress

Property: Villas of Grand Cypress
Address: One North Jacaranda, Orlando, FL 32836-6699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#1 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#1 Family Hotel in Orlando
#5 Business Hotel in Orlando
#31 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villas of Grand Cypress 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its appealing atmosphere of seclusion and easy proximity to entertainment attractions across central Florida, the Villas of Grand Cypress is the go-to destination for business and leisure travelers in Orlando. Located adjacent to Walt Disney World yet seemingly a world away, the 1,500-acre resort features 146 luxury villas, world-class amenities, ample meeting space, and engaging activities including 45 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature-designed golf, the renowned Grand Cypress Academy of Golf, and complimentary bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas of Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas Of Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hotel Of Grand Cypress
Of Grand Cypress Orlando
Villas Grand Cypress

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing