We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the staybridge suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Orlando
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Having stayed at the staybridge suites several times over the last 10 years, we were extremely disappointed with our experience this time. Whilst there, they were attempting to update the suites, however, instead of carrying this out floor by floor to cause minimal disruption to guests, they adopted a haphazard manner. Various pieces of furniture disappeared without explanation, not to be replaced, the carpets were filthy, the cleaning was extremely limited (our carpet was only vacuumed once in three weeks), the timing of the cleaning was often unacceptably late, (we often returned from the parks at 4-5pm to find our room uncleaned), the pool area tables were often not cleaned from the day before, the pool area itself was dated and had broken and missing tiles. Additionally the business area which houses two computers, was supposedly not available to the under 16's, however it appeared that they were constantly being used by the same to play never ending computer games, with scant regard to other guests wishing to use it for the purpose intended. Finally, the hotel appeared to be turning a blind eye to rooms that had been booked for a maximum of 6-8 guests being occupied by far more, and it was not an uncommon site to see mattresses, pillows etc being loaded back into vehicles on the day of check out by large parties, for whom the rooms were not intended.

Suffice to say, with great sadness, we will not be returning to the staybridge suites, as for the prices they are charging, we feel we will be better served taking our business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta ES Suites Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2007

It was a very GOOD stay. I had seen all the comments and was a little scared to stay there. I am so glad that I did. i had a wonderful time. the room was wonderful the staff was very helpful. The breakfast and the evening drinks helped to. I would go back again. THANK YOU making my stay in Orlando a GREAT one. I can't wait to see the hotel once you are finish with all your renovations.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank msgottahaveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

We stayed there May 11th to May 14, 2007

The only problem we had was no disabled rooms.
Overall the experience was the best I've had in Orlando.
We have rebooked for June and into July.

First the desk clerk was extremely nice. We signed up for the staybridge priority club and were greeted with a bag off cookies and water. Ymm. Our room wasn't ready yet but they gave us a 2nd story suite.
The clerk was extremely helpful.

The room was easily reached from the parking lot. One room key did not work but was quickly repaced at the front desk. He apologized.

The room was exquisite. It was clean and new. New furnishings and new bedding. The room had two bedrooms and two baths. One bath was a little small but was very clean. The towels overflowed our whole trip. We ened up with clean ones!

Th ekitchen had full fridge microwave and coffee maker. Tons of dishes all clean and silverware and plates.
Free coffee and tea.

We hopped in the little store downstairs. It has everything a traveler needs. They were so nice to my 9 year old.
We went back 3 times. She kept buying slurpees.

We had breakfast at the motel 3 times.
This is the BIGGEST breakfast I have seen in florida!
I've stayed at 11 other motels ovr the last 5 years. This was crazy big.
Hot oatmeal with nuts and brown sugar. Grapefruit juice, OJ, and cranberry juice. Fruit salad two types. Boiled eggs. everyday scrambled or folded hot eggs. A waffle maker area. Syrup and promise provided. Milk and 6 TYPES of cereal! Apples oranges and bananas every day! The meat changed three times. First corned beef has, then sausage links the bacon. Hormel! all you can eat.l Coffee three types. Two much more to list. Bagels, three types of bread, 3 types of danishes, and a toaster area.

This is the largest breakfast for free I have ever had!

The pool was only 4 feet deep but beautiful! it has a well lanscaped area with tons of tables and tons of chairs. The towels were never out. We went three times. The sap doesn't bubble but was very nice. The light however doesn't work but other lighting abounded.

We had at the door maid service and had no problems. Checkout was a breeze. The staff was friendly

We even tried the game room it had about 10 games and was room key protected. The whole motel had great security. To enter required a room key.

The plants hug from balconies it was just like the pictures. THe room was just like the pictures.
I was so relieved.
We used the couch for my daughter the graduate for one night. She sleep like a log so It must have been fine.

It is extremely near 10 restarants all in easy walking distance.
We played minature glof at pirates cove across the street and walked to Ripley' believe it or not.
Ponderosa is right next door all you can eat with an attached store.

Gets better Grocery store is in same shoppibng center Kings. Ok Prices and you can cook in your room as pots and pans are there as well

Overall A wish they had disabled rooms. Mother had issues with low potty.

Go there don't believe what you read.
Breakfast alone is better then Ponderosa's!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tatiasc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We are a family of two adults and two children, from Ireland on our 5th visit to this area. We generally would spend more money each time we come upgrading our accommodation from previous visits.This hotel was no better than the Enclave which is far cheaper to stay at. We booked and paid handsomely for a two bed suite. We were told we would get a newly refurbished room! All I can say is thank god it was REFURBISHED!!! The toilets broke in both loos three times during our stay, considering we were constantly out at the parks etc " they got little use" this was terrible.There was also a nasty smell during our entire stay, through the buuildings. The suite although with all appliances needed, was shabby and not clean enough! The cleaning was done whenever it suited them, and very late in the evening, we came home regularly at tea time to get ready to go out again and our room was not touched. Light cleaning is an understatement. The pool is bad...clean, but small and very cold"not heated as was stated in booking"The reception is a let down campared to what it appears to be in the magazines! The shop is a non runner, really awful. Breakfast selection is good, but the eating area is small and cramped, get up early and get fed, we ate out!!! The hotel took a couple of peices of furniture away two days into our stay and we never saw them again???? no body told us what was going on!! The reception will call a cab for you, but be warned you will pay higher prices here. Get a cab number yourself and call from your room you will save upwards of 25% each time. The business centre is an alcove with two computers, that are hogged by the kids all day.This hotel has a shabby feel to it, couldnt wait to get home!Would never stay here again. The only positive thing, Location and John on the desk very helpfull! Considering the cost, really awfull.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank corce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Stayed for a fortnight at the beginning of April 07. Paid extra but was quite disappointed. When we arrived in the middle of the night, they had let our room and we had to be split up for one night. Pool very cold and chlorinated and not a bit pleasant. Breakfast a total disaster with not enough seating and awful corned beef hash. What kind of a 4 star hotel has a bar that seats about 6 and shuts at 11pm?
Rooms quite gloomy, though the beds were comfortable. One day we left a glass on the counter and room service placed it in the dishwasher and turned it on. For one glass!
Found it very hard to get seating in nearby restaurants, possibly because it was the holiday season, though the food was invariably nice when we did so. Uno and the Ponderosa were our favourites.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

First time in Orlando, Disney trip with 8 yr, 7 yr and 16 mth baby. Had read reviews on this hotel and was slightly concerned as reviews generally were not great.
Arrived at 8.00pm Sun 25 Apr for 2 weeks. Our booking had us down for a single room, but we were given a two bedroom instead. Good job as we would not have survived in a single room. The reception welcome was quick and effortless. We had to find our own room, which I can live with.
The room was a good size, clean but very dated decor and equipment. To be fair everything was there, fridge, cooker, d/w, microwave, toaster, iron, hairdryer and safe. Clean towels were there every day and the room was cleaned every other day. Two on-suite bathrooms big plus too. TV in every room and a cot provided at no extra cost. All local phone calls are also free.
Had a few problems, the fridge which was massive with ice maker but I think had a diesel engine as every 1/2 hour it kicked on and vibrated throught the apartment, ,however you got used to it. We we on the top foor and on the second night the air con unit on the roof starting making an awful noise at 4.00am up until we left. Fixed that day though. Also had a couple of problems with blocked toilets, but the hotel staff very quick to sort out.
Free buffet breakfast, great for tea and toast and coffee, cereals, patries, fruit and limited hot food. Not the Ritz but it;'s free. The first couple of days it was great, but then got very busy running up to Easter and a bit crazy. Free coffee all day too. Small 24hr shop too and a ticket booking office. We booked the Dixie Stampeed, kids loved it, good quality enterainment good value, food ok. Something different.
Location was perfect, I would say approx middle of IDrive. Whilst we were not going to hire a car, I did in the end. Great decision. Disney by car was only 15min away all motorway, very handy. Would not have liked waiting for transport outside Disney Parks. Disney carparking $10 per day, massive carparks but Disney trains take you to the entrances and very safe. Carparking at the hotel was free and very safe. The IDrive is very long and wide and there are enough great eating houses well within walking distance from this hotel. There is also a massive pitch and put across the street, literally. If you want the Malls and the likes of Wall Mart and Best Buys Electrical, you will need a car. Florida Mall good spot.
Had a good holiday, didn't spend that much time in the Hotel all said, but wasn't planning to. There is free beers, wines, Tue-Thurs 5.30 - 7.30 at Hotel, availed of it once. Free internet access on two, again dated computers.
The pool is very small and used quite a bit by guests early morning and late at night.
To sumerise, the hotel is clean safe and comfortable. However I fear an overhaul is required with a clean fresh look.

Stayed: April 2007
5  Thank connord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We visited the Staybridge Suites in May 2004. Check-in was quick and friendly. Help was offered with our bags which was greatly appreciated after travelling for almost 24 hours!

We stayed in a two bedroomed suite that was more than big enough for the four of us. It was air conditioned which was great.
There was a master bedroom with a large king sized bed and seperate bathroom. The second bedroom had a queen sized bed and a single bed also with a seperate bathroom. Both bedrooms had their own tvs. The living area was comfortable with a large television and video player. Movies can be rented down at reception for a nominal fee. The kitchenette was well equiped with all necessary appliances such as cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge-freezer etc.

Staff were very pleasant and the suite was cleaned daily. The complimentary breakfast buffet was excellent as it set you up for the busy day ahead of you. The buffet contained a large variety of choice: cereals, bagels, fruit, toast, buns etc.

The pool was of average size, however, it was very shaded. Not suitable for those who like to sit out in the sun. That didn't bother us though as we spent most of our time out in the theme parks.

The complex is located in the centre of international drive . You are spoilt for choice on restaurants and some grocery stores are located within walking distance. The hotel does not offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from the theme parks like most hotels on the drive which was disappointing. We found other ways of getting to the parks though. The I-ride stops right outside and is an excellent way of getting to each end of international drive and also to wet and wild and seaworld.

Overall I would say this is an excellent choice. The staff are friendly, the suite was comfortable and the location is excellent . What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sunnydays321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Orlando

Address: 8480 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-9329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Orlando
#47 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#54 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $151 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta ES Suites Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Orlando offers a convenient International Drive location, across from the Orlando Eye, near the Walt Disney World Theme Parks, Universal Orlando, and Sea World Orlando. With a fresh modern appeal, all guest suites, public space and dining options have been completely re-imagined. Offering brand new One and Two Bedroom Suites (sleeping up to 8 guests), a complimentary upgraded breakfast buffet each morning, a new take on Happy Hour, on-site Shoppe convenience store, and The Pour, our new lobby lounge. The hotel also offers WiFi, onsite fitness room, heated swimming pool, business services, laundry, a shuttle to Walt Disney World and Universal Orlando, and an adjacent I-Ride Trolley Stop which provides transportation to Sea World, Aquatica, and the Orlando Premium Outlets. Guests appreciate this contemporary hotel near restaurants, shops and attractions easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing