We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated room, but friendly staff and tidy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Orlando
Ranked #23 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dated room, but friendly staff and tidy rooms”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I ran across this hotel in June when I was on business down here for two weeks while staying at another hotel. I looked up them up since we stayed at another ES Sonesta property last year in Myrtle Beach that was a prior Staybridge Suite property and that property was pretty nice. Well as several other reviews have stated, the rooms are very dated. The property pictures do not show you the 1970 air conditioning knob to regulate the fan speed of the a/c. It does not show the stained furniture. It does not show the mold around the air vents. It does not show the sagging light covers with dead bugs in them in the kitchen area. When I booked the room, I thought I was getting a room with two queens in one room and a king in the other, well that was not so, I was told that when the renovations are done, that would be available. Again, this property could use some work. On the positive side, the a/c is cold, the kiddie pool was nice, but more adults want to get in it than kids. The pool is a 1 foot pool and more women have been in that pool than children. The breakfast has been decent- typical hotel breakfast. He breakfast area is a little cramped when busy, but there are plenty staff around assist when needed. The big pool look nice and the staff is friendly and helpful- my interaction up to now! I still have three more days here. I would possibly stay here again, but after the renovations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaStaff, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. As a seasoned traveler, we understand and appreciate your acceptance of some of the aspects of our property. I am pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing our re-imagination of our property. Once complete (in December of 2013) I assure you that our new look, blended with our friendly staff, will make you next visit a positive and wonderful experience. We hope you will give us the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    659
    167
    53
    44
See reviews for
1,356
275
21
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were a little worried about staying here after reading some reviews regarding the dated state of the hotel but we shouldn't have been. The hotel was by far one of the friendliest and cleanest hotels we had stayed in.

The staff on the desk couldn’t do enough for us and Cat behind the bar was really nice and served some of the best cocktails. Our rooms were cleaned daily and the pool area was spotless. The rooms are slightly dated but it is being renovated soon. We saw one renovated room and can’t wait to go back and stay in it.

A really great hotel, highly recommended.

Mrs Bev Dowdy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaStaff, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly a priviledge to read your feedback, and we will most certainly share your kind words with Cat. We look forward to your future visit, and can't wait to welcome you back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm just home from a two week stay here .This hotel is very well placed they lay on shuttle buses and your given free breakfast with a great choice .There is a free coffee machine available all day .The hotel staff send up towels etc within minutes of asking for anything.As for people complaining about dated tvs and decor etc go elsewhere and pay double the price , the pool shutting at ten is good as most people in bed early as they have been at parks all day and want some quiet for early rises again the next day, I would say this hotel is for families and I will be back .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaStaff, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive feedback. The very best compliment we can recieve is a guest who chooses to return and stay with us, and for that we thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place puts a hold on your credit card for $75. that you should get back 3 days after check out. The rooms are musty and dated. The tvs are from the 80s! Really? No amenities for guest who may have forgotten something unless you pay. The air conditioner is loud. The pool is shallow and closes at 10pm. I would not recommend this place, The door access is on the outside more like a motel! Definitely a stretch from a 3 star. Very disappointed. Would NOT stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mittensmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaStaff, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our apology if our property did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your honest feedback, as this feedback has been listened to and we are currently undergoing a complete renovation of our property; everything from the lobby to each guest suite. Understanding your visit left you not wanting to return, we hope during your next visit to Orlando that you will stop by and view our new re-imagined property; we know you will not be disappointed. We are scheduled to be completed in December of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here 9 nights for a family trip to WDW in June, 2013. The 1 bath/1bedroom room was clean and well laid out, comfortable for a family of 4. Having a full sized refrigerator was great (I did not use the stove/oven or microwave but nice to have in the room). The bathroom was very small (trying to bathe 2 kids proved to be a challenge and I have a tiny bathroom at home so trust me on the small size note) but suited our overall needs. The pool was fine, kids had fun, nice space to picnic next to the pool. Laundry facilities on site are very suitable for a family. The shuttle to/from WDW was VERY crowded at night and you are almost the last stop-ugh. No restaurant or room service option was a bummer. There is a small bar and small store in the hotel. I had a delivery made to the hotel and the staff put it in our room prior to our arrival which was very nice. Overall, fine. Skip if you are looking for fancy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaStaff, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for providing your feedback. I am pleased to inform you that your next visit will be even better as we "fancy" up the place. We are currently undergoing our re-imagined look, and will be completed in December of 2013; we hope you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the second time I have been to the hotel with my family and what can I say would definitely come back .THe staff were excellent and kept the hotel clean to a high standard .We got a chance to see the new refurbished room and it was really really nice .IF you are coming to hotel next year what a treat it will be even better .The hotel is situated right next to good restaurant and the pirates golf and walking distance to point Orlando and wonderworks .I hight recommend staying here and hopefully will be back again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorpethEnglandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaStaff, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our property. We very much appreciate your willingness to return and hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location for all the parks and resturants and the staff are very friendly.
the breakfast was very nice and saved you getting up in the morning and looking for some where to eat. They also have an on site taxi service which we found very helpfull.
We did have an issue with a mattress in our room and reported this to the management and this was resoled very quickly.
The bar staff were very good and made us feel welcome.
The only problem with this hotel is that it is very old and tired but i was told that they are starting renovations in september for all the rooms and bar area if this is the case i will stay here again but if not we would not come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaStaff, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your honest feedback. We are very pleased to inform you that we are moving forward with our renovation and hope you will come back and visit us in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Orlando

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Orlando
Address: 8480 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-9329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Orlando
#47 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#54 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta ES Suites Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Orlando offers a convenient International Drive location, across from the Orlando Eye, near the Walt Disney World Theme Parks, Universal Orlando, and Sea World Orlando. With a fresh modern appeal, all guest suites, public space and dining options have been completely reimagined. Offering brand new One and Two Bedroom Suites (sleeping up to 8 guests), a complimentary upgraded breakfast buffet each morning, a new take on Happy Hour, on-site Shoppe convenience store, and The Pour, our new lobby lounge. The hotel also offers complimentary WiFi, onsite fitness room, heated swimming pool, business services, laundry, a complimentary shuttle to Walt Disney World and Universal Orlando, and an adjacent I-Ride Trolley Stop which provides transportation to Sea World, Aquatica, and the Orlando Premium Outlets. Guests appreciate this contemporary hotel near restaurants, shops and attractions easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing