We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Orlando
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Just back form 10 night stay with 2 teenagers in 2 bedded apartment. Hotel was described by agent as 3 star rating but a 4 star experience- would not agree. More like 2 star. Very dated and would benefit from an upgrade.The corridors to the apartments seemed prison like on arrival at 2am. Rooms were clean and housekeeping gave a light touch cleaning each day. Breakfast is a bonus but is very basic. If you're looking for a budget location on I Drive- this is probably the nicest part of it to stay in down to the Convention Ctr and not north of it. However if you're looking for a bit more luxury then not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta ES Suites Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here for 11 nights in June 2011 with wife and 11 year old son in a 1 bed apartment. Staff couldn't be more helpful, from reception, bar-staff, cleaners and maintenance ( the toilet overflowed one day, maintenance arrived in minutes). We had a fully equipped kitchen, lounge area with TV and dining area and full-size pull-out bed, master bed with another TV, bathroom area, seperate bath/shower/toilet, and a walk-in wardrobe with free safe. TVs had loads of channels including the BBC. Connection for broadband and wi-fi throughout (although the wi-fi connection was poor and kept dropping out). Basic cleaning every day and deep-clean once a week.
Buffet, all you can eat breakfast every day until 10.30 (very busy at 9.30) with repetitive but perfectly acceptable choices (scrambled eggs most days, occasionally omelette or corn beef hash), plus waffles, fruit, cereals, juices, coffees, yoghurts, boiled eggs etc. All included at no extra cost.
Small bar area (closes at 11pm - be warned if you want a nightcap). Three nights a week there was a 'happy hour' for 2 hours where the drinks (beers, wine, soft drinks) were free, as were bar snacks, one night it was a free full BBQ around the pool.
Pool is rather small, not really for swimming, but adequate. Plenty of loungers / chairs and free towels.Games room for the kids and jacuzzi.
Free access to computer.
The Staybridge is superbly located on the better part of International Drive with easy access on foot to loads of restaurants, bars and shops.Plenty of bus-stops and free courtesy shuttles to the major parks. Loads of bus stops on I-Drive. All major attractions easily reachable in no more than 20 minutes.
As other people have said, the Staybridge is perhaps in need of some updating (for example, kitchen units and so on) but don't let that put you off. Because of its great location and more-than-adequate facilitis, this is a great base for your holiday.
Note that other than breakfast and the snacks mentioned above, there are no lunch or evening meal facilities but we never needed them. BTW, there is also a small shop selling the basics, plus a laundry room.

Room Tip: 1 bed apt is perectly adequate for family of 3/4
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Upon checking in the staff was very helpful and efficient. Even though it was spotless the lobby had a very musty smell. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it was very roomy and clean. Kitchen cabinets were old and needed replaced. Beds were comfortable and the pillows were great. It was perfect for what we needed. Would not stay for a long period of time but for 1-2 nights it was great. The elevator closest to our room seemed slow and shaky. The pool area was very clean and fairly large for the size of hotel with a small kid area and very small hot tub. Breakfast was incredible-I was very surprised to see the amount of selection and how large the buffet was. Internet connection was very slow. A few updates to the elevator, kitchen cabinets, better connections to the internet and lobby scent and I would give this a 5 rating! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in a room by the pool. Too noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondi7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just stayed at Staybridge Suites in a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. It was great! My husband and I had a queen size bed with a full bathroom, and our 2 kids had their own single beds in the other bedroom with their own full bathroom. The kitchen had a microwave, large fridge, a stove and a toaster. All utensils and dishes were provided. The living area was large with a small dining table and chairs, couch, coffee table, chair and t.v. We had 3 tv's all together. This is the largest hotel room we have ever had and at a very reasonable price at under $125! Free parking in a large and well- lit lot. NO hidden fees for any services.

Breakfast was free and offered cold and hot items, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. It was pretty good. We were not there on the days they offer a light meal in the evening. We could walk to a few different restaurants, and walked to Ponderosa for dinner one night which was right next door. My kids loved the hotel pool and the waterfall feature. The hot tub was small but served its purpose.

This was a very clean hotel. Our room was spotless and the grounds were well cared for. I saw cleaning people working throughout the day and the floors shone. The breakfast area was very clean while not in use and kept very clean during the breakfast hours. There was plenty of space to sit as well. I have been to some hotels with very crammed eating areas without enough tables for all the guests, but that was not the case here. We were extremely pleased with our stay and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when returning to Orlando.

I am a Priority Club member and was greeted with cookies and water when I checked in. I also had requested a first or 2nd floor room, and was very pleased to be assigned a first floor room right by the lobby and breakfast area. We also could park right outside our room which made it very easy when taking our luggage in and out. We did hear a few loud people here and there as they came and went, but it was few and far between and is to expected at a hotel full of people wherever you go. The beds were comfy with very fluffy pillows. There is a pull out sofa in the couch, but we did not need it. This would be an excellent choice for families of 5-7 people. You would have plenty of room in one of these 2 bedroom suites!
This trip was to go to Universal and IOA, and they were very close to this hotel. It was a short drive. As far as International Drive goes, it can be busy and hectic, as can Sand Lake Rd., but I felt we were in a good area with alot of restaurants and other hotels very close by. I felt it was a safe area of town.

We will be back to Orlando again as we are Florida residents and do like to go to the parks now and again. We will stay at Staybridge on our next trip. We loved the large rooms and the staff was friendly and helpful as well. If you are a Florida resident, I would recommend signing up for the Staybridge newsletter for exclusive offers for special Florida resident rates throughout the year. SIgn up to be a Priority Club member as well, no matter what state you live in. It's free and does have its perks when you sign up. Overall a great experience for our family!

Room Tip: Sign up to be a Priority Club member and AAA.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ohiomrspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A clean and comfortable hotel, apartments were well laid out and the bedrooms were of a good size. The pool was clean but looked a lot bigger in the brochure, a bit deceiving. Breakfast was basic there was either scrambled egg or an omlette every morning and every other day there was streaky bacon, cocktail sausages, and i think it was something like corned beef hash not to sure tho,to go with the egg. Cereals were also available but not much of a selection. There was also bagels muffins and bread, you could also make your own waffle which the children enjoyed doing.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant and always did their very best to help us out in any way they could.
Overall we were all happy with our stay at the hotel and would go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryKatiedaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The rooms are large with everything you need- a full kitchen, 2 full baths, 2 large bedrooms and a spacious living room. We had plenty of space and were in a corner room, so it was not loud. The breakfast each morning was great. Plenty of room to eat. Great location- near all of the parks and restaurants! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StJohnGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Breakfast is awful, plates & cups dirty. Room smells damp & each night had to remove insects from the beds...lots of little creepy crawlies. Did complain to both reception & rep but got nowhere.
On a positive note great location with good transport.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patino1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Orlando

Address: 8480 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-9329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Orlando
#47 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#54 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $151 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta ES Suites Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Orlando offers a convenient International Drive location, across from the Orlando Eye, near the Walt Disney World Theme Parks, Universal Orlando, and Sea World Orlando. With a fresh modern appeal, all guest suites, public space and dining options have been completely re-imagined. Offering brand new One and Two Bedroom Suites (sleeping up to 8 guests), a complimentary upgraded breakfast buffet each morning, a new take on Happy Hour, on-site Shoppe convenience store, and The Pour, our new lobby lounge. The hotel also offers WiFi, onsite fitness room, heated swimming pool, business services, laundry, a shuttle to Walt Disney World and Universal Orlando, and an adjacent I-Ride Trolley Stop which provides transportation to Sea World, Aquatica, and the Orlando Premium Outlets. Guests appreciate this contemporary hotel near restaurants, shops and attractions easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing