We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a complete renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Ranked #135 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Ii will start out by telling you that this hotel as the lobby I remember from the mid to late 1990's. It make no sense that they have not upgraded the lobby. The outdoor areas especially the pool are well maintained. The room I stayed in was a motel type entry from the parking lot. All of the modern ametnies were present including ranite vanity, ipod alarm clock, and flat screen T.V. The holel is very close to Sea World and the Orange county convention center. Sadly, the shopping center and motel across the street are in terrible shape. The staff at this property does attempt to go out of their way for guest. I found every staff member extremly polite and friendly. The long and short of it is it looks like thery are trying. They are still in need of some additional renovations in the main lobby, and the shopping center across the street needs some new tenants.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nike1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubtletree_Orlando, Management at Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

Thank you for the detailed review and listing the amenities that you enjoyed at the Doubletree Resort Orlando. We’re proud of the service our staff provides, but it makes us even more proud when a guest acknowledges their courtesy and service. Recently, we finished a $35 million dollar makeover to the hotel and entrance so it is a bit disappointing to read your opinion about the lobby. We extend our appreciation to you for taking the time to write your opinion and thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,499 - 6,505 of 7,220 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed here for two weeks for my first holiday to Florida.

The Hotel is situated on International Drive with an i-ride bus stop outside which will get you anywhere. The hotel provide free return shuttle service to all the parks if you need. If you decide to hire a car like I did, Route 4 (the main motorway connecting everything) is around the corner. There is a gate at the rear of the hotel which leads to SeaWorld, Discovery Cove, Aquatice, 5 minute walk, quality!

Cleanliness of hotel was spot on, maid visited everyday, made the bed (nice king sized), fresh towels, refilled the coffee! :)

Only drawback was WiFi in rooms was chargeable, however in the main lobby area it was free. Also a charge for parking but I parked over the road for free!

All in all, it was a good price and I would definitely stay there again; i didn't know until I arrived that it was a Hilton owned hotel so that in itself tells you it must be decent! Plus the car fulls of pilots and cabin crews that stayed there!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeLad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubtletree_Orlando, Management at Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Doubletree Resort Orlando during your first vacation in Florida! We will share your review with our housekeeping staff, as the positive feedback is an encouragement and a reflection on a job well done. Thanks for taking the time to write of your experience here. We hope you’ll get an opportunity to revisit Florida and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in the main tower for $100/night. I had read about the renovations the main tower went through so we went for it and was very impressed. When we first got to the room, it was on one of the corners near the elevator which scared me, but we did not hear the elevator once. Even better, since it was a corner room, the size was more comparable to that of a junior suite with a sit in area. The room inside was very nice and the bathroom was very modern/contemporary. The king bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. The location of the hotel was great (we went next door to Discovery Cove) and was right off the highway for easy access to everything Orlando. The premium outlets were less than a mile down the road but ran out of time. Overall, great hotel at a value price. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfento05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubtletree_Orlando, Management at Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

Thank you so much for the wonderful detailed review! After the $35 million dollar makeover, we’re thrilled at the end results at the Doubletree Resort Orlando. Reading that you also enjoyed the end result of that renovation really puts a smile on our face. Hopefully next time you return you’ll be able to visit the premium outlets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I will admit that I got a great room rate, there were other things that detracted from our experience. First of all, the practice of charging separately for internet access is a practice that most hotels have done away with. Even less expensive hotels include free internet access nowadays. This was not made very clear on the website or in the information sent to me prior to my arrival. Since I am an online student, I had no choice but to pay the extra charge. That plus the daily parking charge ate away at what started as a great rate. I was also not impressed with the housekeeping. The second day we were there our room was not cleaned until I called the careline at 8:30 pm. The next day it was sort of cleaned - they brought clean towels but left the dirty ones in the room. I'm not sure it will be on the list of possibilities for next year's vacation.

Stayed: March 2010
Thank purple45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubtletree_Orlando, Management at Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

We’re glad you were able to secure a great room rate at the hotel. With each review we are able to learn about our guest’s experience to determine the areas where we are exceeding expectations but also those areas that we can look into further to continue improvement. We’d like to let you know that the internet access in the main lobby is free. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at this resort and would highly recommend it to any families going to Orlando. Staff where brilliant, pools where great, mini golf, table tennis and pool, Room was immaculate and spacious cleaned daily and fresh towels. Hot Cookie on arrival was a nice touch, free shuttles to all parks, Seaworld was a 10 minute walk away. i -Trolley stop right outside, purchase weekly pass from Hotel shop.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louisemalone6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubtletree_Orlando, Management at Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

Thank you for the recommendation to other families in visiting the Doubletree Resort Orlando. When one of our guests enjoyed all aspects of their stay from the resort facilities to the staff to the housekeeping, it really makes our day! We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The hotel was awesome. When we arrived we got a complimentary upgrade and the front staff was so wonderful to our young child. The room was gorgeous and really spacious. The staff was SUPER friendly. The best part it was literally a 10 min walk to the entrance of Seaworld. We can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesSeaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubtletree_Orlando, Management at Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

There is nothing like seeing the excitement in a child’s eyes when they visit Orlando! So for us at the Doubletree Resort Orlando the children that visit with their families are a beautiful reminder of that excitement. Thank you for acknowledging the friendliness of our staff, it will make their day! We hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed here for 10 nights during Christmas and New Year. It was still called the International Resort when we made the booking. We had been looking into booking another hotel but a travel agent had mentioned that she had stayed here and recommended it plus with the good reviews it had received on trip advisor we decided to go ahead and book an Acquamarine Exterior Room. We made the booking through hotels.com and pre paid for our entite stay.

It was late at night when we checked into the hotel and the receptionist gave us a room in The Tower which we were quite pleased with. As I mentioned we had prepaid for this room, months in advance and she requested that she was wanted to scan our credit card and by doing so a charge of €50.00 per day would be charged and this charge ($500)would be credited back onto the credit card 10 days after check out! We didn’t understand this at all and refused to give authorisation. We did however compromise and pay a $200 deposit which we still weren’t overjoyed about. Loved the warm cookie though ... maybe she should have given that to us first!!

The Tower is not very far from the lobby. Our room, located on the 8th Floor was very nice, spotless and very spacious with two extremley comfortable queen beds with tonnes of pillows! Loved it! You could see Sea World in the distance from the room window. There was coffee making facilities available, no mini bar and no in room safe. The bathroom was nice and well lit with a large mirror, plenty of towels, hair dryer and lovely neutrogena toiletries. The shower didn't get very warm though. A complimentary newspaper was delivered most mornings and the room was serviced every day by housekeeping with fresh towels and toiletries.

Breakfast wasn't included in our rate but we did eat breakfast in the hotel on a few occasions. It cost $14.95 (plus tax) and an 18% tip is added onto your bill. We we found this to be excellent value. The breakfast room was lovely and there was a huge selection to choose from - eggs, bacon, pancakes, freshly made omlettes and waffles, fruit, cereals, croissants, juices - all you can eat really. It really filled us up for a long day at the parks as sometimes the dining options at the parks aren't the best. There is also a little deli on site and you can get coffee/tea, pizza, cake etc here.

The hotel is only a short distance from Sea World which you can access via the back entrance of the hotel - only a 10/15 minute walk. There is also a shuttle bus service which stops at the hotel and takes you to Universal and the Disney Parks. The last bus back to the hotel from Universal was a little too early for us so a taxi fare from Universal back to the hotel cost us $20. Also the I-Ride stop is located directly outside the hotel - Stop 29.

On New Years Eve we could see the fireworks in Sea World and Universal from our room window which was spectacular.

We didn't use any of the other amenities at the hotel but the pools looked lovely but we didn't use them as the weather was a little on the cold side when we were there.

There is also free WiFi available in the lobby.

We really enjoyed out stay in the Doubletree and Orlando although we would have loved to have stayed there longer. We had no hassle really and were delighted that we upgraded to the Tower. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful at all times. We would without hesitation recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OGONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubtletree_Orlando, Management at Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

Thank you for recommending us at the Doubletree Resort Orlando. We loved how you explained the details of your stay! Knowing that the extra pillows were a hit ,the hot cookie was a plus, the good valued breakfast, the proximity to the attractions are all the details to say we are on the right track with our guests! The $50 charge per day is to cover incidentals but is promptly credited back to your card at check out. A detailed review like yours gives us a great perspective on a guest’s stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write out your review. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
4.5 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#83 of 341 in Orlando
3,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 341 in Orlando
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
2.6 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#31 of 341 in Orlando
5,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld

Address: 10100 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-8019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Business Hotel in Orlando
#95 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $94 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1026
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld. Conveniently located adjacent to SeaWorld and its water park Aquatica and just minutes away from Universal Orlando Resort, Walt Disney World and the Orange County Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando At Seaworld Hotel Orlando
International Plaza Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing