We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld
Ranked #62 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed March 15, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. I have been to Florida several times, but this was my first time at this hotel. My reason for the vacation was to get away from the cold weather, relax, and catch some Spring Training baseball games. It was a great getaway! The hotel was fairly easy to find as it's located right beside Seaworld. You can literally walk from the hotel into Seaworld. From the minute we arrived at the hotel, we knew it was a good choice. It's a large, modern, and clean hotel. It honestly caters to adults/business people. The rooms had queen or king beds with flat screen tv's. The bathroom had a double sink with a shower/tub combo and was adequate. The hotel had a lot of ammenities including a Kinko's and a spa. The pool, outdoor garden area, and gazebos were beautiful. It was nice to sit out at night and get some fresh air. They even have some game tables outside, as well as an arcade inside. I liked the two bar areas with flat screens in the lobby. There was plenty of room to spread out and relax. A lot of people brought their laptops and were sitting around working on them. We found the Starbucks in the lobby helpful as well. We just wished it stayed open a little while longer as it closed early in the afternoon. The Tradewinds restaurant was pretty good. We ate breakfast there most days. They have a buffet or a menu was available. We chose the buffet, which was nice. Beverages were included and they had a lot of items to choose from, including made to order omlettes, waffles, and pancakes. We ate room service once and that was good, too. The service was quick, which is great if you're in a hurry (like to catch a plane). If/when we return to the area (which will probably be next year), we agreed that we'd stay here again without hesitation. If you can get a discounted rate using AAA or some sort of a package deal, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlinpa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,941
    1,100
    322
    126
    80
See reviews for
1,535
514
61
968
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I stayed at the Renaissance Orlando for one night to attend a conference at the hotel. The conference facilities are very nice and the rooms are comfortable. There is a FedEx/Kinko's on site and there are a few computers available to print out boarding passes.
The hotel has a lot of nice things going for it. For one, it is right off the expressway so access is easy. It is also a stone's throw away from SeaWorld which makes it very convenient. The atrium is nice and large and the rooms are very large and comfortable. The bathrooms are basic but large. Kids would have more than enough space in these rooms. I didnt have a car, but there seemed to be ample parking.
The restaurants are fine, I ate at the sports bar which had a nice menu and was reasonably priced. There is a bar in the center of the hotel that also serves sushi.
Check-in and service is average, nothing superlative, but nothing to convince me not to return. The bell staff and concierge are friendly and helpful
The amenities are nice. The fitness center has free weights, cardio equipment and an entire separate stretch room. Even though I travelled for business, I would bring my family back here to stay because the pool area is large and has a separate children's play area, a basketball court, a sand volleyball court, a putting green, and a bocce ball lane. There are also some very nice running trails nearby. And a game room.
In summary, this hotel was very comfortable and has plenty of nice amenities for the business traveller and the family vacation crowd.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Atman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Having not been to Orlando in years prior to this short business trip, I did not know what to expect from the hotels there. Having said that, I really liked this hotel, it is beautiful and centered around a HUGE atrium that lets in tons of light. I was not expecting that when I walked into this place. Check in was easy and I was assigned an "interior" room which meant I was overlooking the huge lobby. I had french doors and a nice terrace. Some people had their French doors wide open, but I did notice a few birds flying around in there so I didn't really want to invite them in :)

The room itself was huge! High ceilings and very spacious. King bed, full couch, which I presume opened into a bed, but I didn't check. Work desk and a dresser with flat screen on it. With all of these things there was still tons of room that was unused. The bathroom was big too with double sinks. I felt like the countertop was very high in here so it may be hard for kids but supervision it would be OK.

The one annoying thing is that people kept sliding menus under my door - I would hope the hotel would police that better, it made me feel less secure somewhat, not to mention it is annoying plus I wouldn't think the hotel would want these local places taking patrons from their own restaurants, which there are a couple of in the hotel. If I was in the Orlando area again I would definitely look into staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drc1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Very disappointing stay. Perhaps i was expecting something more akin to the Renaissance Chicago Hotel. The hotel is in major need of a renovation. It looks like a holiday inn from the 80's The atrium is impressive but the rooms are average at best. If you are looking for an average, mid-range 'take the kids to Disney' type hotel, it is fine. Otherwise keep looking. The staff is very attentive and polite

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TadTolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

At one time, this property was one of the premier hotels in Orlando. Its former glory can be still seen in the spectacular atrium. Alas! Nothing lasts for ever. These days, this hotel is in desperate need of major upgrades.

This hotel is located just across the street from the Sea World parking lot. For those without a car, a bus stop is located just outside the main lobby. I-shuttle and Lynx bus can take you to other parks and attractions.

During my three days at the Renaissance, staff always looked a bit overwhelmed. At any time, there was only one person working the front desk. Be prepared to wait on check in. We did, however, receive consistent good dinner advice and discount coupons from the concierge.

My room was on the 9th floor. It was large with two queen beds. Furnishings were old, beat up, and dirty. Minibar was empty; its grubby shell powered off. Flat screen TV often flickered and at times lost reception completely. Carpet and walls were grimy. Bedding was clean, mattresses comfortable, pillows plush and plentiful. Bathroom had a large counter with two sinks. Bathtub had a few stains. Bath faucets had seen better days.

I had one lunch and one breakfast at the hotel's Tradewind restaurant. My Cuban sandwich was fair at best. The waiter was very attentive. Breakfast buffet was pitiful. Continental costs $15; full breakfast will set you back $20. Selections were limited. Pastries were cold and a bit stale.

If you just looking for a convenient place to crash for a few days in the Sea World area and use Priceline.com you might like this place. On the other hand, if you pay full price and expect luxury, you likely will be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene_Augusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2009

We spent Xmas and New Year at this fantastic hotel. It was our fourth visit and still continues to be our favourite. All of the staff are excellent and cannot do enough to help you. The public areas are outstanding and the rooms are very clean and spacious. All rooms have coffee makers and fridges. We have had such a fantastic holiday there that we have already booked to go again this Christmas. We have been going to Florida for over twenty years and can honestly say that this is in our opinion one of the best places to stay around Orlando

We were lucky enough to have an upgrade to a suite overlooking Sea World - Wow!!

  • Liked — Clean and modern very luxurious
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmolidaveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights after 2 weeks travelling around Florida. We had requested a slightly early check-in which we were offered although also offered a room upgrade if we waited. Balcony rooms are nice and worth the wait if you can upgrade.

Location is excellent for SeaWorld - just across the car park although be aware that the hotel charge guests 12USD per day for parking (which is a bit cheeky considering the hotel is only accessible by car, therefore 4 stars awarded not 5) so it's not like you'll save money. BUT it does mean that adult guests you can take advantage of the free beer in SeaWorld and just walk home!

The other advantage with the location is you're right on the junction for the I-4 which means you can get to Disney in 10-15 mins without having to go anywhere near the highly congested International Drive (aka I-Drive). Whilst I-Drive is nearby it's not walkable so you'd still need to drive if you want to go out to the bars, restaurants, shops and mini golf that are located further north (and you would over a longer stay as the hotel restaurants are a bit limited and pricey) or I suppose you could get that elusive green trolley bus that stops outside although I wouldn't want to use that regularly as they are very slow and not frequent.

Hotel itself is a massive venue, geared up for meetings, incentives, conferences, events which isn't necessarily a bad thing (rooms are large and well appointed catering for business guests) but it's certainly not cosy.

Pool area is nice and spacious and a good area to relax in between themeparks.

Overall would definitely recommend if you want quick access to SeaWorld and Disney (and Busch), probably not if the Universal parks and the lively I-Drive scene is more your thing.

P.S. Take a sick bag if you go to the new Shamu show, 'Dreams' and you are even slightly cynical.

  • Liked — Location for SeaWorld and Disney
  • Disliked — Limited to car for nightlife, food and shopping outside the property
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando at SeaWorld
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 339 in Orlando
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
5,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld

Property: Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld
Address: 6677 Sea Harbor Dr, Orlando, FL 32821-8092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#13 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#28 Business Hotel in Orlando
#31 Family Hotel in Orlando
#37 Green Hotel in Orlando
#46 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld 4*
Number of rooms: 781
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive in and discover your perfect Orlando vacation at Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld. Welcomed with complimentary champagne or sparkling cider, you’re the king of the sea when you stay at the Renaissance. Among the largest guest rooms in the area, choose a room with one king bed and sofabed or a room with two queen-sized beds. All include a 32-inch plasma TV and oversized bathrooms with double sink vanities topped with Aveda shower products. Conveniently located to three awesome theme parks, the Renaissance also offers additional coolness for every guest. Health nuts: enjoy the workout facility, accented with personal flat screens on your treadmill of choice. Caffeine-aholics: there’s a REAL, full-sized Starbucks located lobby level. Dining options include Mist Sushi & Spirits serving sushi and handcrafted cocktails; Tradewinds Restaurant serving American comfort food; Palms Pool Bar & Grill which offers free WIFI and casual dining in a relaxing setting and Boardwalk Sport Bar, the perfect place to unwind and enjoy refreshing beverages, imported and domestic beers and light snacks. Competitive siblings: duke it out in a mean game of Foosball or Ping Pong. Luxury-seekers: indulge in the lavish Neu Lotus spa. Catch a wave of family adventure as you splash the day away with the kids in the on-site water park, R Aqua Zone, complete with a thrilling 120-foot water slide, water jets, a rain tree, and more. Papa Penguins and Mommy-mermaids glide in the signature pool or bask in the sun loungers. As night falls, cozy up at one of the fire pits and let your day melt away. Provide your family with the resort that has all the right touches for an exquisitely fun experience. It’s all here. Take the plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Orlando Resort At Seaworld Hotel Orlando
Renaissance Orlando Hotel
Orlando Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Orlando
Renaissance Orlando Resort Seaworld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing