We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm cookies, warm staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Ranked #166 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
saint augustine
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Warm cookies, warm staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The folks at the front desk are very nice. My room was pretty noisy, but I knew what to expect from other reviews; it is a downtown hotel after all, next to a train tracks. But the walls were thin, I could hear the phone ringing in an adjacent room. The standard room was spacious, and the Priceline deal was terrific. But, the $17 self parking charge was a bit of a surprise.

The breakfast was not good. The breakfast potatoes were french fries. They did have made to order eggs (not stations, you have to put in an order) so we ordered grits, which took 30 minutes, and were watery. I love the location though.

Room Tip: We were on the side of I4 and had no noise from the street, but there is noise from adjacent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. While we are happy to learn of your appreciation for our staff and spaciousness of your room, we were disappointed that not every aspect of your stay was enjoyed. Please accept our apologies for the delay you encountered at breakfast and for the sounds emanating from the adjacent room. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    397
    272
    136
    71
See reviews for
294
245
91
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hallway carpets were dirty, there was hair on my shower curtain, walls in bathroom had paint chipping off of it. Not what I expect from a Hilton Hotel However, Front desk staff was extremely helpful and pleasant to interact with.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We truly regret your disappointment regarding the aesthetics of our hotel; however, your feedback is highly valued. Our hotel is currently in the process of updating our guestrooms. Two floors of our hotel have been completed and the work to the remaining rooms is being done every day. Thank you for your praise for our staff and for sharing your review. One day we hope that we can welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I kind of laughed when I saw the box of earplugs laid out with the shampoo on a recent one night stay for work. Around 2am, I realized they were not just a novelty. And again at 3am...and 4 am. The train is loud. The train whistle louder. The view of the tracks from my 15th floor room directly overlooked the tracks. If you are a light sleeper, I would not recommend this hotel. Otherwise, my short stay was okay, although it was quite warm in my room even though the air was turned low.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TampaDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business travels. We are truly sorry that the sounds of the train were disruptive to your visit and that the temperature in your room was not optimal for you. We appreciate the opportunity you’ve given us in announcing that there are plans to designate the downtown corridor into a quiet zone with the installation of the SunRail system. The means in which the approach of an en-route train is communicated is among the changes guests can expect to see and provide for a restful night’s sleep. Your comments are appreciated and we hope that one day we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel, great rooms and convenient location. It is geared more toward the business traveler and not tourist. It has limited space in the lobby area if you want to do a quick meeting, does have a dining area when not serving food. It has a small Starbucks in the lobby area and a bar area where I actually conducted a quick meeting. But overall a solid, clean hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjoytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. Whether our guests are staying with us for business or for leisure, it is always our hope to provide them with the comfort and services needed to enjoy their stay. We’re delighted that your experience was positive and our hotel’s location was convenient for your needs. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have now stayed at this Double Tree 4 times in the last 2 years. The first experience we had there was terrible. But, Stephanie Banks the GM and Ben the Front Desk Manager invited us back to see the improvements made and this last time we stayed it actually felt like a real Double Tree. The room we stayed in had been remolded and we had a corner suite with a beautiful view of Downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The staff is amazing and helpful! The front desk is always ready to answer a question or give you a recommendation. They offer a free shuttle service with a very friendly driver. It is in a great location if you are going to see a concert at the Amway or just want a hotel close to the downtown night life. If you are there during the weekend make sure to check out the Lake Eola Farmer's Market. It's right by the hotel and really shows off what Orlando has to offer.
Keep up the improvements Stephanie and Ben! We are excited to go back and see!

Room Tip: The corner suites are worth the upgrade for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiet89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and continued loyalty to the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We were delighted to hear that our staff made such a positive impact during your visit; we will be sure to share your review with them. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and are grateful for the suggestions you have shared for other guests visiting Orlando. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
236 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location here is superb but the hotel is dated and room renovations are in need. Beds were comfortable (if you like soft) but the views were lacking. Breakfast is easily available at the coffee bar. Great breakfast wraps and coffee. At these rates I expect more.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel overlooks beautiful Lake Ivanhoe and provides easy access for guests who wish to visit the multiple cultural venues and businesses in the area. Our hotel values all guest feedback and we will certainly share your comments with our team. Thank you for your feedback, guest room renovations on two floors have already been completed and work to the remaining rooms is currently underway. We hope to welcome you back again and surpass all your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked the Doubletree Orlando Downtown for its proximity to the Bob Carr Performing Arts Center but the proximity on a map is a bit misleading. The hotel is tucked way back by itself and there are not many amenities in the neighborhood: no restaurants (walking or driving), no bars. Great location if you're in the Orlando area for a very specific reason or want to get away from the congestion of the attractions, but not great for exploring (especially on foot), although the hotel website says they offer a free local shuttle which may help (we didn't see the shuttle moving about during our stay which doesn't mean it doesn't exist, just that I can't confirm what the website says).

Pro's: rooms are of a nice size. We had a junior suite which was pretty massive, with plenty of sitting area/living space, and also very quirky and interesting floor plan, and our friends had plenty of space in their standard king room. Staff friendly and helpful. Hallway noise fairly well muted. Everything very clean. Comfy beds.

Con's: while there are no restaurants or bars in the neighborhood, there most definitely is a train, and it's quite loud and disruptive. It may be problematic if you are not a heavy sleeper (I was woken up by the train about 4 times on the first night of our stay, and should have known there was going to be a noise issue upon finding earplugs with the toiletries). Not an ideal location for most attractions and few resources in the immediate neighborhood so you have to drive everywhere.

Also while the property itself is interesting from an architectural perspective (lots of interesting angles and such), it doesn't quite meet the "sleek and trendy" image that Doubletree is trying to invent for itself. Still a nice hotel, just not exactly what I had envisioned with the Doubletree brand (compare to, for example, the Doubletree Wit in Chicago). Lastly the decor and furnishings in the bedroom were nice and appealing but the bathroom decor and fixtures were really pokey, and in need of updating.

Overall it was a decent stay but the combination of the location and that godforsaken train would likely prevent me from wanting to visit again unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Your input and feedback are welcomed and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. It’s disappointing that although you’ve shared an appreciation for our hotel and staff, there were a few aspects of your visit that were amiss. We truly regret that your sleep was disrupted by the sounds of the train at night and that our location was not ideal for your needs. We would like to let you and others know that with the approaching installation of the SunRail system there is a plan to make the downtown corridor a quiet zone. Changes to the lines will include how communications to pedestrian and vehicular traffic that a train is en-route are done. Thank you for your comments; we hope one day to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Downtown
#127 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#98 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Address: 60 S Ivanhoe Blvd, Orlando, FL 32804-6441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
#135 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing