We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the Trains!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Ranked #166 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, FL
1 review
“Avoid the Trains!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The location was perfect, as we wanted to have quick contact with Winter Park. The desk staff was helpful. And who couldn't love the cookies! However, our suite's decor was dated and the A/C was very uneven. The most difficult part, though, was putting up with the loud train noises at night - up to 6 trains, pulling on their horns, right at the foot of the hotel. The sound-proofing seemed to be non-existent. Consequently, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank StillOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are happy to know you enjoyed the location and the staff, with the approaching installation of the SunRail system there is a plan to designate the downtown corridor and make it a quiet zone, with changes to the lines on how to communicate to pedestrian and vehicular traffic that a train is en-route, believe us, we are all looking forward to that!
We hope you will check back with us for improvements before making a final decision when visiting the area!

Best regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    403
    276
    137
    71
See reviews for
296
249
91
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. The breakfast was really great and worth paying for. The room service was hot and served in a timely fashion. The staff was obviously trained and did a great job. Yes, there was a train nearby, but it's no big deal. The parking is somewhat inconvenient but space is at a premium downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you!!! We truly appreciate you writing about your stay and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed it!

Appreciatively,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'm accustomed to a certain level of service when I stay at a Hilton property. The Doubletree is a middle grade hotel and that is exactly what I received, middle grade service. So if you are looking for a clean and comfortable room you will get it here. However, if you want that room clean and comfortable at a reasonable hour then you might be waiting a while. Housekeeping was understaffed. They were kind, but they definitely needed more workers. The front desk employees were also pleasant, but most everyone there didn't know standard procedure in terms of how to handle specifics of a wedding party. I will say that parking was a breeze. You have the option of street parking or paying minimally for self-parking in the hotel garage, which is great considering it's a downtown hotel. If you want to be near the parks you should stay somewhere else. And if you are visiting the Orlando Science Museum (as I was) this is prime real estate. It's extremely close to the museum.

Room Tip: If you get a corner room, you are more likely to have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoyoforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We respect that we may not be able to be everything, to everyone but we are happy that you found some of our attributes to be positive for your needs.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights because we took 15 year old to see the Taylor Swift concert at Amway Center on 4/12. I thought that it would be nice to have the corner king room because of the view and the sofa sleeper bed. Upon arrival, an extremely friendly desk clerk checked us in quickly, smiling and gave us 3 warm chocolate chip cookies. Although I did not eat mine, the cookies got a huge thumbs up from the kid. We had to park in the garage 3 floors up, then take an elevator back down to lobby level that is separate from the lobby hotel elevator. This was a slight inconvenience but this is the only option you will have if you choose to self park in the garage for $17 a day. This means lugging your stuff from the car to the elevator down through the lobby to the indoor elevator up to your room. It was not too bad and we did not use a luggage cart. Besides, you only have to do it when you check in and then when you check out or if you buy a bunch of stuff at Disney! To us, it seemed to be a better choice than waiting for the valet to bring our vehicle each time we wanted to leave. The self parking does have in and out privileges, and when it expires, the clerk will charge you for the next time or you can pay it all upfront when you enter the garage. Okay, enough about parking. The evening of the concert, the hotel did end up providing their shuttle to Amway because the cabs that the front desk called never showed up for other guests. Amway is TOO far to walk from this hotel. And it is apparently very hard to get a cab for short distances when there are big events going on, so make arrangements ahead! The hotel shuttle drops off only, does not pick up.
Our room was exactly as pictured on the hotel website, although it does look larger on the site. I used my AAA discount to book it. The freeway outside can be loud at times, but it did not bother us. If noise is an issue, there are earplugs provided in the room, but a notecard said that those were provided in case the noises from the train bothered guests. I did not notice any train noise, only the freeway. The view was outstanding but other than that, it is a regular hotel room. Nothing extraordinary about it and quite honestly, in hindsight, I should have chosen to stay further away from Amway at a much cheaper rate and just spent the extra on a longer cab ride to the venue. My mistake. The room is a good size for 1 adult or 2 adults and a very small child. 2 adults and a teen is pushing it! The angle at which the sofa bed is placed makes it very hard to move freely in the room when the sofa bed is out. The room was just too small for us. The air conditioning did not cool consistently. Maybe it is due to the large windows. We did have wonderful room service! The food was excellent and our server was outstanding and invited us to come and try the restaurant as well. He was very nice. It was a good stay there, but there was really no reason for us to stay close to Amway once I found out how hard it is to get a cab, coming or going! We left the concert and noticed the cab drivers refusing to take people to downtown hotels because it was 'too close!' Poooo!!!! We walked for 15 minutes and finally found a nice cab driver who agreed to take us back to the hotel. He said that in the area the can drivers are looking for people staying at Disney hotels/further hotels so they can make more money in one trip. Okay, makes sense but still! I booked the room thinking it would be easier to be close to the concert and avoid a big parking mess at the venue. We gave the driver $30 for a 7 minute ride because we were so grateful to him for picking us up. The hotel is nice, an older property, and they are currently remodeling the pool area. The king bed was comfortable, towels were plentiful and clean smelling. We liked the hotel and it was fairly nice. I just wish I had done more research before booking. The area around the hotel is lovely. It reminds me much of the West University/Village area of Houston, Texas. *I did not notice shopping or restaurants within close walking distance of this hotel, but driving around is easy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3esplv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad you loved the lake view and we agree, it is very pretty from your room. We appreciate you telling us about the comments from the local cab drivers and will definitely address with our local hospitality driven businesses to see if we can help that along!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Stephanie Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, Ca
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I took a good chance to stay at DoubleTree Hotel Downtown Orlando in my first ever visit to Orlando, FL. The hotel gives me very impressive experience from front desk to my room. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are really happy that your first experience was so good and we hope that it turns into a second!

Hoping to see you again,

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice Spot but fare away from the attractions!

We were at the Doubletree for 3 Days in April.
The staff is very helpful. The front desk is occupied 24/7.
Here is no complimentary breakfast in the morning. A Starbucks is located right in the Lobby.

The rooms are clean. Our junior suite had a Jacuzzi, but the Shower didn’t work very well. The whole carped was soaked full of water after you take a shower.
Parking is not for free,(valet) but the wifi worked perfect. Pool Towels can be picked at the Front desk. The Outdoor Pool is heated. There is a nice equipped Fitness studio at the 3nd floor.

Negative:
The Hotel is really fare away from most of the Orlando attractions.
In our Room the shower need to be fixed.
The worst thin was the noise at knight. The doors aren’t very sound proofed. Till late you could hear people coming home slamming doors.

Room Tip: Don't take the Junior Suite! The only thing especially in is the Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience and we are always happy to assist with any noise issues, the best we can, through our front desk or our house security teams, Hopefully you will come back again and give us an opportunity to show you.

Best regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was at first hesistant about getting this hotel since some reviews said there was a lot of noise, parking was a hassle, and it appeared old, but that was definitely not the case. I spent my birthday weekend in Orlando and I really enjoyed my stay here! The hotel is beautiful and clean, and the staff was very helpful (Joyce at front desk was great!) I only heard the train go by once during my visit and whilst it was loud it really was not a bother or annoying. The room was clean and big. We always found a parking spot on the street next to the hotel so parking was never an issue for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel! Oh and the beds are so darn comfortable!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and even happier that you wrote your review about it!

Appreciatively,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Downtown
#145 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#108 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Address: 60 S Ivanhoe Blvd, Orlando, FL 32804-6441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
#135 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing