We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Ranked #162 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cornwall, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Check in process was quick and staff was efficient and courteous. We are used to staying in a condo for our trips to Orlando, but we were offered a deal at this hotel we could not refuse. Our room had two double beds; a little tight for myself, my husband and our 13 and 11 year old, but we survived. We asked to have a refrigerator brought to our room, which was done within two hours. Overall, average stay. The shower's water temperature was never consistent. We took many luke warm showers. Our children used the pool. Jacuzzi is not in service as it is not handicap accessible. Through our deal we paid a reduced parking rate, thank goodness. Our room was on the I-4 side, so we never had any sound issues with the train. Free wi-fi was great.

Room Tip: Choose I-4 side, ask for a mini-fridge at time of check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for alerting us to your experience. While earplugs are offered to minimize outside noise and discomfort to our guests, your feedback lets us know other resolutions should be considered. I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience and any discomfort and hope we can welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    409
    277
    137
    73
See reviews for
298
259
92
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well, if you want to be able to sleep you will need to ask for a room not facing Highway 4...... but then you will probably be facing the rail track and the trains blow their horn at 1:00 am....this is probably the reason why the amenities include ear plugs.....p
Other then that, this is a decent hotel with friendly and efficient staff but for that price i will find something else next time......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for alerting us to your experience. While earplugs are offered to minimize outside noise and discomfort to our guests, your feedback lets us know other resolutions should be considered. I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience and any discomfort and hope we can welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
997 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Let me start out by saying the staff are great here and there's nothing wrong with the hotel decor etc. Unfortunately, there is one seriously major downside to the hotel and that is that it is situated right on the Amtrak rail line and the I-4... it is horrendously noisy.

The hotel are obviously used to complaints as they provide ear plugs in the rooms!

The biggest problem is not so much the location, but the fact that the rooms are just not insulated enough; we have stayed in big cities and even airports and not experienced any noise at all...

The noise here is totally unacceptable and we definitely would not return. We did complain and the Manager on Duty (Ben) was very understanding and gave us $22 a night discount on our room rate... we'd rather have had a good nights sleep to be honest, but at least they acknowledged it is problematic....

Room Tip: It doesn't matter where you are, you are going to get a noisy room... so just be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed our staff team and the hotel overall. We do hope that the train noise will be alleviated in the coming year, as there are plans in place to designate quiet zones with the new SunRail system. We hope you'll give us another chance if you should return to our area, then.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last week (Sunday and Monday nights) and left on Tuesday. The aesthetics of the hotel were nice enough - nice lobby and lounge. The pool area was average but had good access to sunshine. Now the bad - no mini-fridge in the room. I was told upon check out if I had asked they would have provided one. I would have assumed it be standard though. Parking was an issue as it was $17.00 a night. There was free parking on the street but jockeying for a spot was difficult. Now the ugly - the trains that passed by at 4:00 a.m. and 4:45 a.m. Monday morning were unbearable. Earplugs were provided but were of little help. Until soundproofing is done I would not recommend staying here at all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank pjfan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're sorry to hear that the noise disruptions and parking costs were problematic to you, during your stay. Your feedback is very important, as it lets us know what to do in order to better serve our guests comfort levels. We have forwarded your parking cost concerns to the garage Manager and understand your concerns with the train.

Kind regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I expected a much nicer hotel. My room was old. The bathtub was cracked and patched. Yuk! The noise is unbearable. I thought it was peculiar when ear plugs were provided in the room. On a positive note, free WiFi is always a plus, and it is available anywhere in the hotel. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmull83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It is through such feedback that we are able to monitor and improve our product and services as well be able to inform our guests of what we are doing about it. We have been busy with a remodel of the hotel and the first two floors of our newly renovated rooms will be coming into service in April. We have just completed a remodel of our Ballroom spaces. We will be continuing projects throughout this year and we greatly appreciate our guests patience as we try to accomplish these improvements with little inconvenience to our guest experience. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you soon, with improvement at the Doubletree by Hilton Orlando Downtown.

Warm regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

first night overbooked. promised an upgrade the next morning. after sleeping on a hide-a-bed and a roll around bed, went to desk next morning no upgrade was availible. came back later the same night, upgrade wasnt an upgrade. find out after we got a regular room that refridgerator are by request only and microwaves are an additional $10.00 per night.
after getting fridge up to room, the electrical recepticle doesnt work :(
moved fridge into bathroom just so we didnt have to swap rooms for the 4th time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strokr383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We’re very sorry that we were unable to offer you the proper accommodations you expected, while staying with us. We try to accommodate 100% of our guests, but overbooking situations unfortunately can happen. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenient circumstances and contact me directly so I can help make things right.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are travelling to Orlando for business, stay here to avoid the massive amounts of tourists. The staff is extremely professional and accommodating. The entire experience was customer centric.
Upon arriving at the hotel you will be greeted by the valet, but feel free to self-park. At check in, you will be greeted with a warm cookie and a friendly face. The rooms are large and classically decorated, as if Ralph Lauren had decorated it himself. The room service is excellent and I am still thinking about the blackened shrimp Cesar. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are perfect. On your way out for the day, a Starbuck's located in the lobby is a great perk and helps you start your day off right. After making the mistake of staying at other hotels, this is my new home when travelling in Orlando.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hparkerray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate being selected as your Orlando based home away from home! We will strive to always exceed your expectations and make the perfect blackened shrimp caesar salad!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#90 of 338 in Orlando
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Address: 60 S Ivanhoe Blvd, Orlando, FL 32804-6441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
#135 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing