We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, lovely and definitely worth coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Ranked #164 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thane, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cosy, lovely and definitely worth coming back”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are a group of doctors who had come here from India for a medical conference. Overall the service was good, rooms were big and cosy. The front desk was quire courteous and I used to get my coffee pods even at 5.000 AM when I asked for them. Our tour operator had arranged for breakfast, lunch & dinner from a catering service ( I guess Tabla Restaurant) so that we all could eat Indian food while we stayed here. I am not writing on behalf of the group. The opinions expressed here are totally my own. The rooms were delightful, the room service was very polite and courteous. The front desk too was helpful. I would salivate on the aroma of the food here but since I am a pure vegetarian and we all ate on the food from the catering service , I am not in a position to opine on food here.

The ear plugs were welcome & commendable, I greatly appreciate the availability of business centre 24x7 and complimentary printing facilities of your boarding passes

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Alok_Modi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your kind endorsement and hope we will see you visiting the area again some day!

Warm regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    405
    277
    137
    71
See reviews for
297
254
92
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very slow at checking guests in. After you register they tell you you can pay an additional $17 per night to park in "their" parking garage or $20 p/nt for parking w/valet service. There is NO outside parking unless you park on the street which most of the time you'd have to park a city block away or more. I've never had to pay for parking at a hotel that owns the parking garage. This is just a way for them to show a lower price for your stay and to gouge you after the fact. I find it a very poor way of doing business!!!!
Then when you park in the garage the first 2 floors are for valet so you have to carry all of your luggage to the parking garage elevator down to the lobby and take another elevator up to your floor.
Very inconvenient!!!

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your opinion of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding the parking and valet and we will pass these comments on to the company responsible for the garage as they are a separate entity form the hotel itself. The entire downtown area, like many major U.S. cities, has limited no fee parking and we have to rely on these garages to house our vehicles while in the city center. We do hope that won't prevent you from visiting the city beautiful again, someday soon.

Best Regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Charming hotel, very nice decor. Outstanding customer service, valet and restaurant staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves excellent food, there is a small but nice bar, an Internet hub, a small cafe serving a quick bite and.Starbucks coffee. I didn't use any of the other amenities so I can't opine on those. You can park for a fee, if you self park it's a few bucks cheaper but you have to pay the attendant in cash on the spot because it is a timeshare. I have no complaints, the location is fantastic if you're driving since its right off the highway. This is a great stay if you are in the area on business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cco4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel, the team, the food and your stay!
Hope to see you again soon!
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel has a nice decorative lobby. The room was really clean. If you can get a room that faces the Orlando skyline for a nice view. As far as the train, we did not hear it at all during the night. If you don't want to pay the high parking price of $17 per night, there are a couple streets on the roads around the hotel that have free parking. I received this tip form a gentleman in the lobby. Also there is a free shuttle that can take you to all the downtown bars until 10pm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay, we will pass your thoughts on to the parking company regarding the fees but definitely ask us for more "local" tips next time you're here, we love to share them!
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I was concerned about the distance to the city center, it was too far to walk for business but the hotel provided a complementary shuttle that was like having a private car and driver. They took me right to my meeting and picked me up afterward. The hotel was on a lake. Very nice surroundings. Staff very helpful. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, pricey but no more than you would expect at hotel. If you have a car you can go somewhere less expensive but if you are without wheels it was a good choice. I'll come back.

Helpful?
Thank K Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
In one word, THANK YOU! We really do hope you will be back soon!
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here for business in downtown Orlando. I had a beautiful view of the lake, but the multiple trains that ran from midnight to 5:00AM did not make up for the loud noise. I felt like My Cousin Vinny; it took forever for the hot water to get hot enough for a shower; room service was quick; I would not stay here again unless it was the weekend when the trains do not run. Rooms are outdated, and need updating but I did get my hot cookie!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of downtown would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaytread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are glad you enjoy the Doubletree brand. We truly hope you will consider trying us again in the future. We are currently in the process of updating the hotel rooms, with floors 4 and 5 out of service for renovation. We apologize for the train, some engineers like to be more aggressive than others with their horns but there is a plan to make the downtown area a quiet zone with coming changes to add SunRail.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Although it is titled Orlando Downtown, the DoubleTree Orlando isn't really downtown, or at least the part of downtown where there are restaurants, activities, etc. I stayed in this hotel because it is nearby where I needed to be and the price was a consideration, better than other "downtown" hotels. On the plus side the hotel is clean and comfortable and area is quieter than the city center. A complaint about this hotel, is the lack of staffing at the front desk. Both times I stayed at the hotel, when checking into the DoubleTree Orlando Downtown there was only one person working the desk despite a line of guests waiting to check-in. The desk clerk was polite and apologized for being the only person at the desk, but I suspect that this is the norm and not the exception. Although it wasn't a bad experience, I will probably stay at another hotel when I need to be in Downtown Orlando again the next time.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks so much for writing about the hotel, we are actually at the start of the downtown line for the city of Orlando, as designated by the city signage right at the corner of the street. We recognize the hub is few blocks down, which is why we provide a shuttle services do our guests can take advantage of it! We appreciate your comments and promise you that having a single agent at the desk is not our norm.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#95 of 337 in Orlando
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Address: 60 S Ivanhoe Blvd, Orlando, FL 32804-6441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
#135 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing