We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Ranked #166 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Nice property”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I arrived late check in was very easy. All the employees that I came in contact with were very polite. Had a nice view. Room was very clean. I have traveled to orlando a number of times either for business or pleasure and stay at the Doubletree Hotel. The hotel had a very good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhall9084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience of your stay. We hope to look forward to you visiting again soon!

Thank you!
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    403
    276
    137
    71
See reviews for
296
249
91
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week on a business trip, and found the experience to be very enjoyable. The room (especailly the bed) was extremely comfortable and all the satff were very helpful and friendly, with a good local knowledge.
I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel for work or pleasure!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SunsetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
It was lovely to read your review and we thank you very much for sharing your experience.
We are so very glad you enjoyed your time and do hope we see you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

For a place with such friendly staff and a great location, this corner king suite seemed like it was the one where they just piled in every single damaged piece of furniture. The leather/pleather sides of the ottoman were cracked and peeled, three pieces of furniture had multiple cigarette burns and the sleeper sofa was beyond horrid. If this wasn't just a one-night stay (I was in town for a concert so I only slept there for 6 hours or so), I would have fled.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and that you appreciated our friendly staff.
The furntiure items you mentioned are being replaced, in every guest room, this year. We hope next time the furntiure condition will provide a more favorable experience for you!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The lobby is delightful and the staff appropriately friendly.
The room was very nice and the sheets and pillows top notch.
Coffee in the room is good quality and Starbucks in the lobby is a great bonus.
Parking can be on the street and a nice walk to the lake and restaurants.
I would return when in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a high room to great a great view of the lake or city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrypacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay.
We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay and we will get to see you again soon!
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Check in was smooth and fast. Rooms were clean. The front desk, bellmen, and Saturday bar tender were the only staff that I encountered, but they were all very friendly and very helpful. Hotel was a short/cheap cab ride from the bars in downtown Orlando so that just added to the great Friday and Saturday nights I had. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pleasure in helping our guests feel at home, when they are away from away home and it is truly a pleasure to hear that it helped to make your stay with us.

We hope we get see you again soon!

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed one night 18th aug.nice reception welcome.clean beautifull room on 8th floor.great pool & jaccusi.great everything.would love ro return there.oohh &lovely choc chip cookies on welcome.v.nice staff too

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellabella032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write your thoughts about the Doubletree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We are very happy that you enjoyed the time you spent with us and that our staff is making your experience memorable!

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamAL
Level Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My company has chosen this hotel for a place for us to complete a project together with colleagues from across the nation. I've stayed here 8 times over the past year (plus once when it was a Sonesta) and have watched the changes they have made during these times. It is a nice hotel with a friendly staff, especially Doris, Heather, and Ruth, who go out of their way to keep guests happy. The drivers of the van who take guests anywhere needed within 3 miles are extremely friendly and knowledgeable.

The breakfast buffet is extremely good, especially the fresh fruit and the made to order eggs if desired (my favorite is the ham, tomato, and cheese, or simply poached eggs). Having hot oatmeal available each day with the "fixings" was also nice. The restaurant staff have always been nice, even more so now that the manager is there each morning. They keep a pot of hot coffee in the lobby each morning. The changes in the dinner menu are nice and the prices are more reasonable.

There are several restaurants nearby within walking distance, and many others within the range of the hotel's van. The one I used every day for lunch is the New York Deli that it is the lobby of the office building across the street. It is open for breakfast and lunch. I think their sandwiches are much better than the Starbucks in the hotel lobby. Also, having the little store in the lobby area is handy and his hours are posted on the door.

Right now they are renovating the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors. This created some problems because our meeting rooms were on the 3rd floor and the closest restroom was either in the lobby or your room. This could also create some problems with the pool and hot tub area located outside the fourth floor -- and there are presently no restrooms in the pool area. Fortunately their three elevators are relatively fast. I understand these renovations are to be completed in a couple of months. The meeting rooms themselves are very conducive for group work projects.

I was fortunate to have room 601, which is one of the "corner" rooms with a wonderful view of the lakes and Winter Park area. There were some air conditioner problems caused partially because of the extreme heat and morning sun hitting both sides of the room, and a small maintenance issue that Doris stayed on top of until it was fixed on my second day. Yes, the furniture is old, but very functional. I loved the table with the comfortable office chair and outlets on the table to hook the laptop and phone charger into. I also liked the piece of furniture in front of the house with the sides that allowed me to live out of my suitcase without it sliding into the floor. Housekeeping did a good job of keeping the room clean and I never ran out of hot water.

Yes, the train does come by several times a day and night -- and there are two crossings within a block of the hotel. It is a main line that goes by much of downtown and some engineers love their horns more than others. I've found that shutting the room darkening curtains also cuts out much of the sound. You can also ask for one of the rooms that faces the office building or the side that faces Ivanhoe Boulevard.

We have other trips planned and I hope we stay here. It was much nicer when the rooms got the new mattresses when Doubletree took over. I do hope to get to see one of the renovated rooms in the future.

And, the Doubletree’s free warm cookies are a crowning treat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Ivanhoe are the quietest. The "corner" rooms have a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveTravelingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments!!!
We really appreciate you and your patience as we work on our improvements!
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Downtown
#145 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#108 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Address: 60 S Ivanhoe Blvd, Orlando, FL 32804-6441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
#135 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing