We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You to everybody at the Metropolitan Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orlando Metropolitan Resort
Ranked #316 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thank You to everybody at the Metropolitan Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

I wanted to write to Thank everybody at the Metropolitan Resort for making our extended stay most welcome. Having read some of the reviews, i was a little worried that the Hotel may not suit our family requirements, but everything about the Hotel and the staff that work there made our stay most enjoyable. The rooms were good value for the budget price we paid and all of the staff were more than happy to help any of their guests, from the Housekeepers (Angel), all of the (breakfast) restraunt staff and the staff on the Service Desks - not forgetting the resort shuttle bus driver.

When it turned out that we were stranded away from home due to the Volcanic Ash, the staff were very helpful in extending our accomodation stay - at the same rate as we had already paid and managed so that we didn't even have to move rooms. There was no cashing in on the crisis in the way Eurpoean Countries have done so.

Thank You everybody at the Metropolitan Resort !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatboyOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Member of New Management Team at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2010
On behalf of the management and staff of The Metropolitan Resort, we thank you for your expression of gratitude. We appreciate this so much. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    177
    276
    230
    741
See reviews for
563
340
80
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

Good location. Room nice and spacious. Double nice. The bathroom shower is not the best and not always the water warmed. Avoid the breakfast. The photos of the site is misleading. First of the breakfast is located in the Radisson, which belongs to the same owner, but not the same hotel. There is new tower. The new tower is the Radisson. The Metropolitan is another hotel. The continental breakfast is terrible. If you want breakfast in the photo have to pay more for it. And yet it is not worth paying.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Me and my boyfriend went for 2 weeks in april, loved the hotels location, staff are really helpful...had a few problems with our toilet so they moved us straight away which was nice, some people were moaning because they thought they were stayin in the radisson...which is right next door and u get to use all their facilities anyway...what do they expect for 40 dollars a night?? we would definatley go back again, the rooms are fine, very spacious and you very clean, maid came in every day to clean the towels...i honestly dont understand why some people write bad reviews! if we had children we would also definately stay there!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Member of New Management at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2010
On behalf of the management and staff of The Metropolitan Resort, we thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. Thank you for acknowleging that although you had a problem, our staff took care of it. Thank you Thank you Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
473 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

This was a long shot through one of the booking services that won't tell you the name until you book and pay and it was an excellent deal.

On the main drag of International Drive, near enough to Convention Center to walk and close to many, many restaurants, etc.

Hidden back with the YMCA and other hotels costing three or four times as much.

Outside entrances, four or five floors. A large property. My room was freshly painted and had everything I wanted except WiFi which was priced extra or you could go to the lobby and log on. I passed it up for $8/day.

Some noise at night...mostly a factor of its attracting families that were looking for cheap accomodations,etc and noise from neighboring hotels.

More nice, new, good sized towels that I often see in $200/night places. Marble topped counters in baths, 2 sinks, plenty of hot water in a clean shower with new curtain. Good size TV, (not a lot of channels and not best reception), decent bed linens and pillows. For $36 a night couldn't be beat!

Quibbles:
Bathroom door was coming apart and should be replaced.
Poor lighting in parking areas.
Not where you'd want to stay if you were doing Disney....too far away.

But.....
I'd stay again.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Member of New Management Team at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We appreciate your comparing us with some of the more established branded hotels along International Drive. We are constantly addressing concerns of our guests so that our guests will have a good guest experience during their stay with us.

I have copied your review and forwarded it to our engineering team who will address the issues you highlighted in your review.

Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again. You may contact us at metropolitanresortcares@gmail.com

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

Upon arriving in reception and being met by some very rude staff members, we finally found the room after an adventure in the scarily creaky elevator. Room was spaious for a twin and clean enough although the fridge was not touched due to the tiny crawling creatures inside!!!!!
People trundling past the windows with suitcases all day and night did not add to our enjoyment, especially when they looked in the windows!!! Not soundproof - could hear a couple having arguements outside the apartment.
On going down to the pool we were greeted by workmen, no towels available and CAUTION tape right around the pool area - due to work & painting going on. No jacuzzi available either.
Brekfast served in what obviously used to e a room was a complete JOKE - there's fod on the go .. then there's this, on a whole new level. Also was told not to go into the "breakfast room" with a bikini top on!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall staff were unhelpful, it was dingy, dirty corridors, dodgy lift, the least relaxing poolside area ever. On the plus side shuttle buses were good and the taxi driver we got to the airport was lovely.
Would not recommend this to anyone, only those travelling on a very low budget. DO NOT GO HERE WITH A FAMILY!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrigallbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynSt, Member of Management at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am not sure where you stayed because I know that our staff are not rude and you refer to breakfast to go in a room...I am not sure where you had breakfast but our breakfast is served in our restaurant. Obviously you did not stay at The Metropolitan Resort. We do not have double twin rooms...all our rooms have sleeper sofas in them.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at whatever hotel you stayed at but I can honestly say it was not The Metropolitan Resort. We may have challenges but one thing I am sure of is our welcoming staff and our clean rooms.

If you would like to discuss this further, please write us at metropolitanresortcares@gmail.com.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Broendby Strand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

We arrived after a long flight from Denmark (Europe), and when we arrived we wondered why the hotel did'nt look like the one we had picture of on our brochure.
Anyway the frontline staff was very nice, and we got our key to the room, and from there it was a dissaster!
The elevator sounded like it would fall down any time, and our room, well if you have ever seen the movie with Eddie Murphy "comming to america", this hotel room could be compared with the one from the movie.
It was very dirty, big spiderwebs in the corners, and worst of all, it had mug behind the carpets. We could see, because the carpet was falling down!
I had to find out, why it did'nt look anything like the pictures, and I did. All pictures from the dining room and the pool, and even the one showing the front of the hotel (is now changed) was from the nabour hotel Raddisson. But when you live at the Metropolitan you can use these facillites from the nabour hotel!
We checked out and moved into the Raddisson (same adress 8444 Int'l Drive) instaed, at that was a nice hotel.
Even though it was a dissaster, I must say that the staff at the hotel were nice. They appologised when we checked out, and we have even got our pre paid money back, after arriving to Denmark. But then again, I guess the are used to unhappy guests!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanmarkChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynSt, Member of Management at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. Obviously there was some type of misunderstanding through your agents in Denmark because we do not have any brochures that have pictures of The Radisson.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and while you chose to make statements that our staff are accustomed to unhappy guests, that is not true and what you should really be is thankful to the team for approving the transfer to The Radisson without additional cost to you because of an error on the part of your travel agent.

Please know that none of the courtesies that you experienced with reference to rectifying the error your travel agent made could not have happened without the negotiation of the team members of The Metopolitan Resort with The Management team of The Radisson and acknowledgement that we wanted to make you as our guest happy during their stay in Orlando although it costed us your reservation and it is somewhat frustrating to hear your say the things you say about our hotel but as the world knows...everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We got this hotel through Priceline and were extremely unhappy after reading reviews.... But we had a great experience especially having in mind the price paid! The staff was very nice and the room was big, clean and comfortable. We used the free shuttle to Disney World and public transport to go to Downtown Disney. We also rented a car to go to Cape Canaveral (there is a rent-a-car on premises, but we used Avis that is in a hotel nearby).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrr_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynSt, Member of Management at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Thank you Thank you Thank you.

We use our guest comments that appear on Trip Advisor and other Guest Surveys as training tools for our staff and sometimes we feel like although we are trying so hard to please our guests and improve our hotel, we constantly hear from guests who are not happy with their stay.

Thank you Thank you for giving us hope that some of our guests actually recognize our efforts.

Thank you again from our entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#250 of 335 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 335 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Metropolitan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Property: Orlando Metropolitan Resort
Address: 8444 Austrian Court, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orlando Metropolitan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orlando Metropolitan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Metropolitan Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing