We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, if you upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orlando Metropolitan Resort
Ranked #318 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, if you upgrade”
Reviewed September 22, 2005

I have just returned from a brilliant holiday in Orlando. Having read the reviews on this site I was very worried about this hotel which we had booked as part of a package holiday. We were originally placed in one of the standard rooms in the outside block and were not asked if we wanted to upgrade. The room was very nicely decorated and clean and much better than expected. However, it did smell very musty and the air con unit was a massive box which was very noisy. However, the main problem was the security - the rooms have outside access as other reviewers have mentioned but the real issue is that the front of the room has a huge window which is made of flexible plastic. These rooms would be very easy to break into and the fact was we would not have felt safe sleeping in there. So we contacted reception and upgraded and paid the fee which was worth every penny. The main hotel building is very nice - exactly what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The rooms were cleaned every day.The reception staff were very helpful and we had no problems whilst there. My only other complaint would be the lack of kitchen facilities making eating out a necessity. In terms of location, this hotel is excellent - it is within walking distance of several restaurants and is also around 15-20 minutes drive from the Disney parks.
I would stay in this hotel again but only if I could stay in the deluxe building.Please email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KatieWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    180
    277
    240
    774
See reviews for
586
354
83
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 13, 2005

We recently returned from Florida several days ago. We were hesitant about the hotel after reading the reviews on the Radisson Barcelo. But once we arrived there our doubts were put to rest. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and very very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. For the price we paid and the service we received we will definately return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 8, 2005

This Hotel is excellent value for money. We were very catious before we came on our hols following some of the reviews on some websites but when we arrived we were very happy with what we found. Massive rooms (standard). Only difference with the standard rooms and the delux are the beds (remote controlled). Very good house keeping. Excellent pool. Smack bang in the middle of the I Drive. We will be coming back

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2005

We stayed at the Radisson Barcelo last year and found it to be very clean, staff very helpful, and in a good location, we found it that good that we are returning again at the end of september 05

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2005

I would like to add to my previous post about the Radisson. After reading some of the reviews here, it is apparent that some are confusing the Radisson Barcello on International Drive with the Radisson Resort (Twin Towers)on Kirkman Road across from Unversal Studios which is now the Double Tree Hotel. There is a convention center attached to the hotel as well. It is a shame that a class act like the Barcelo is being confused with this other Radisson and people may be missing out on a good time at a nice hotel because of it. I urge anyone who is interested in either hotel to please check out each one's website and see the difference. We had a large group at the Barcello for a high school reunion. The food was excellent, the service was great and I would love to stay there again and I live in Orlando.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We just returned from our one week honeymoon at Radisson Barcelo in Orlando. The hotel was extremely nice and conveniently close to theme parks and many great restaurants.

Hotel’s website offered a great rate (which was an excellent value) and we booked our room online with ease. Upon arrival, our room was upgraded to the north tower for a little extra. Rooms were luxurious and the sleep number bed was heavenly! We even received a complimentary plate of chocolate covered strawberries!

Staff was extremely helpful, friendly and our clogged up showerhead was replaced immediately. My wife and I had a wonderful time and would certainly consider staying at Radisson Barcelo again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaymonVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2005

Very old...
Ice machine broken
People partying in the courtyard until 2:00am
Laundry carts up and down the nosiy hall until midnight
paper thin walls...
I was glad to leave...

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 338 in Orlando
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#245 of 338 in Orlando
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Metropolitan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Property: Orlando Metropolitan Resort
Address: 8444 Austrian Court, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orlando Metropolitan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Orlando Metropolitan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Metropolitan Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing