We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but in disrepair and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orlando Metropolitan Resort
Ranked #318 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap but in disrepair and dirty”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not reading the reviews did it...needed to stay one night in Orlando close to the International Drive and selected this dump online without checking the opinion os previous guests. The infrastructure is crumbling and clearly maintenace is perfunctory, rooms are dirty, and there was a most obnoxious chemical smell in the rooms and elevators. Pillows and bed linen are old and full or holes. Mildew in the bathroom and in the old noisy and inefficiente air conditioner unit. When leaving in the morning noticed a YMCA logo on the hotel sign at the entrance driveway -- if you ever did read John dos Passos description of the YMCA flophouses of the Depression era (particularly his "USA" trilogy books), this establishment fits perfectly to the style -- well...one must say that there was some, let's call it "ambiance" to the place. Unless you want to try that sort of experience do not come close to the place. For 20 bucks more you can stay in one of the many chain hotels/motels in the neighborhood. Rating is terrible for all categories except for location....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdiazmethotelgroup, General Manager at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us . We use all comments in order to better ourselves and provide a more enjoyable stay all for all our guests. I would like to take this opportunity to speak with you. Please feel free to contact me. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    179
    277
    240
    773
See reviews for
585
353
83
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Came into town to see friends and celebrate a birthday. Front desk staff was super friendly, and we were greeted with a smile as soon as we walked into the lobby. The front desk manager, Bill, was very helpful with giving us directions and suggested an excellent restaurant for dinner on Saturday night. The next time we visit Orlando we will most definitely look into the metropolitan again!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdiazmethotelgroup, General Manager at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We at the Orlando Metropolitan Resort would like to say thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We take each and every review and use them to continue to better ourselves and offer the best service that we possibly can. We thank you for your kind words and hope that the next time you are in the Orlando Area that you will consider the Orlando Metropolitan Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were greeted with a smile the guys name was Bill... We had a great pool side room and were treated like royalty... It was our anniversary and he made dinner reservations for us and it was a day to remember... Thank You Bill!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdiazmethotelgroup, General Manager at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We at the Orlando Metropolitan Resort would like to say thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We take each and every review and use them to continue to better ourselves and offer the best service that we possibly can. We thank you for your kind words and hope that the next time you are in the Orlando Area that you will consider the Orlando Metropolitan Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I made the reservation through hotels.com which I have never had a problem with before. After making the reservation I came across some reviews that were not favorable so I called the hotel. I was guaranteed by the desk clerk that he was going to personally assign my room so it would be clean and up to general standards. All I wanted was a clean room with 2 queen beds so when we arrived between 11-12pm (midnight) we could rest comfortable and be well rested for our workday the next morning. I called the hotel 3 times, to make sure everything was in order.
WELL!!! When we got to the room - the beds were not made, sheets were off the bed, a messy crib in the room, partially eaten food 7 trash from fast food restaurants everywhere - bathroom, beds, desk,night stand, and the floor. AND this room was hand picked for us????
After waiting almost 30 minutes for them to decide where to move us to, we went to the front office and checked out because there were no more rooms!!!!
I called hotels.com and made them aware of the problem. They made notations of the occurance and told me I would be receiving a refund within 4 days. Today I received an e-mail informing me of the refund which was 1/2 of the total room charge. I have been calling the hotel for over an hour and cannot get anyone to answer.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernS1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdiazmethotelgroup, General Manager at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. According to our records a full refund was given from our side. We do regret that you did not have a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Deffently worth the money we spent we stayed for two nights and of course it is not a Hilton but it was clean , newly renovated and fairly nice staff , the pool and pool area was clean and breakfast was ok, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allysomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdiazmethotelgroup, General Manager at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Orlando Metropolitan Resort. We are always looking to improve ourselves and offer the best possible stay to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Go get a nice room mildew almost take us over, smells horrible, I got stuff in the evelvater wifi only in lobby my sister had to change room, iron markers on the floor safe ain't working THIS IS ALSO A HAUNDED ROOM (1229) no joke front desk clerk ( the black man) no respect! White boy kool

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdiazmethotelgroup, General Manager at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We take all reviews seriously and look to always improving our ourselves. I would like to speak with you reagrding your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this nightmare for a week. If we would have known in advance what we were getting into we would have not come. Even though we read the reviews we were going against them and give the hotel a chance. That my friends was the biggest mistake we made. The carpets had more iron burns on them the doors had no latches, the beds were hand me downs from the marriot hotel (for real it said so on the side) the fridge was leaking the room smelled awful, the front desk was rude, the staircase smelled like urine oh my god it goes on and on i could write a book. We asked for another room it was worst then the one we had. We could not get a refund to move to another hotel. People the reviews are true true true listen to them or you will be very upset when open the door to your room. Pay for one night and you be the judge before you pay for a week like we did and could not get the a refund.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdiazmethotelgroup, General Manager at Orlando Metropolitan Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We take all reviews seriously and look to always improving our ourselves. I would like to speak with you reagrding your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Heart of I-Drive
#290 of 338 in Orlando
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#245 of 338 in Orlando
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Metropolitan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Property: Orlando Metropolitan Resort
Address: 8444 Austrian Court, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orlando Metropolitan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Orlando Metropolitan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Metropolitan Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing