We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Missteps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside
Ranked #121 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Few Missteps”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We almost always use Marriott for our hotel needs as the quality is consistent throughout the chain. We frequent Marriott and Courtyard most often. I was surprised on this visit that we ran into so many hiccups, which has kept my review at 3 stars. I had considered 2 stars, but the prompt attention by the staff to rectify the problems moved it up a notch.
What happened? I made the reservation the night before but upon arrival it was not in their system and they had to look it up. Minor annoyance. No big deal. There is a parking charge, but you are able to use your room key to come and go during your stay. Except we couldn't. Our first exit from the lot forced me to pay for it as all our room keys were not recognized. (We had 2 rooms and I tried 3 of the 4 keys before giving up.) There was a button to call for service, but we were not heard - the valet service - college kids, they appeared to be - ignored us or were too busy. When we returned the front desk said to bring the receipt in the morning when we checked out and it would be taken off the bill. It was.
Oh, and I almost thought this was New York City - the only other place where wi-fi was not free. It cost $15/day unless you wanted to walk down to the lobby. Made me wish I had brought my tablet instead of my laptop. So we went without. Not too big a deal, but again, had work called it would have presented some difficulties.
The pool was nice, with both an indoor and outdoor section, and the fitness center was larger than most. (Then again, it was a huge hotel - 9 floors.)
Overall the staff was friendly and courteous, the room was nice, the bed firm (which actually helped me sleep). And even though it was by the airport there was no noise from planes arriving and departing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandc5744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vern65, Manager at Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking your valued time to write this review. We take all of these very seriously and review them with our team. While you had very nice things to say about our hotel, staff and pool area. the issues you encountered with our parking are not acceptable and and the experience with the valet staff was obviously not to par. We source out our valet service, but they are still a reflection on our hotel and represent Marriott. I have reviewed this with our Valet manager to address the shortfalls and correct them. Thank you again for you time and attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    382
    156
    66
    33
See reviews for
212
195
79
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala FL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed one night. It was a great experience from checking in with Mariela Ramono who was most helpful, friendly and informative to the guy who delivered the refrigerator I requested to the woman in the lounge where they served breakfast in the morning (on the 9th floor). Staff was outstanding all the way around. The room was a nice room, nothing over the top. I was surprised that I had to request a refrigerator, but it was not a big deal. Comfortable bed, clean as can be, had a nice view - it was a treat to be on the top floor as it seemed there was only adults up there, no noise from kids running in the hallways. Didn't even hear other guests. I'd have been happy to stay longer and I hope to use this hotel again. Parking was the only downside and it was $14/day. But it was a secure lot and not a problem for one night.

Room Tip: I guess you just need to be friendly and ask.....our room looked over the pool and had a nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydenbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked the hotel after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Wow, all I can say is Marriot employees must be posting. The moment we arrived I noticed a certain lack of professionalism with the bellmen at curbside. No greeting, bellman seemed more interested in his smartphone than my luggage. At check in we were greeted and our reservation ready. Arrived in the room which was very HOT. Seems the a/c is only barely adequate. Room smells stale...definitely not fresh as you would expect from a 4 star hotel. No in room safe. Seriously lacking maintenance....doors and hallways are dirty and in need of touch up paint. Having worked in hotel management I know this is a constant issue that must be attended to. This hotel has a serious lack of maintenance. We had a $25 credit to use at any of the hotel restaurants, well guess what? There's only one, which was CLOSED! They advised me they would be serving dinner in the bar the night we were there.....We went ahead and ordered since we had a $25 credit at the hotel. Kids meal was fine although we were charged $7.95 for the meal. KIds under 12 eat free (my kid is 9) Waiter had no clue about this policy. My wife ordered a seafood/pasta dinner. Seafood appeared fresh but was bland and was served on the same macaroni noodle that my kid had in her mac and cheese. Seriously? What a waste of fresh seafood! I ordered a NY Steak ($32). It came with no sides, no salad, nothing. But that's OK if the steak is prime. It was not. No salt and pepper on the table, had to request everything. The poor waiter had no clue and explained it was his first week on the job, not his fault at all. The bar where we ate was dead quiet, no ambience, no music. Only the noise from one obnoxious guest at the bar insulting other guests (all three). I asked for some background music to be turned on just to stop the suffering......the few guests that were in the bar trying to get dinner were upset with the situation just as much we were. We were given free desert to go. When I asked for 3 spoons the waiter gave us 3 long bar spoons, the type used in a bar to stir tall drinks. Again, not the young guys fault.
Self park room key scanner did not work so you cannot get into the park area without taking a ticket. Overall disaster of a hotel. We've been in FL for 9 days and this has been the worst stay yet. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night while traveling for business. I also booked a meeting room for business. At check in I was treated with wonderful customer service. I ordered room service for dinner, the food was great and was delivered to the room promptly. The next day I used the meeting room I booked. The room was perfect and before the meeting at least 3 different workers came in to make sure I had everything I needed. They were all eager to help and very friendly. I would recommend this location to anyone who needs a place to stay close to the airport. They also have a small café and restaurant in the hotel. I didn't try the café but the folks attending my meeting picked up a few things from there and said it was good. I did have lunch at the restaurant. The food was excellent. The only opportunity for improvement would be in the wait staff in the restaurant. They were very slow and seemed to have no sense of urgency. They were very friendly though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juneever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janee R, Executive Assistant at Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us ~ We appreciate and value your business. We hope that you will return to the Orlando Airport Marriott when your travels bring you back to the area, as we are confident you will again come to find the level of quality and service that has become a Marriott tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed one night due to an early morning flight. The hotel is in a very good location - safe and close to several restaurants. The beds were very comfortable - a lot of pillows. The staff at check-in and check-out were very efficient and friendly. Would stay here again for those reasons.

The only negative, which did not affect us was the charge for parking - $14 and $16 for valet (per night!) seemed very expensive. The valet parking people were very pleasant though, directing the person who was dropping us off to an area he could park his car while we checked in so we could all go out to dinner. Bottom line though, if we had had a car, we would not have stayed at this hotel.

Room Tip: View of pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlBucksPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here in February, 2013 for a conference for 4 nights. Would not be my first choice for a family vacation, but very clean, comfortable, and great amenities. Pool area was fantastic, clean, and very nice. As other reviewers have said, hotel needs automatic doors. Hard going in and out several times with suitcases and golf clubs. Only downfall to this hotel were the rooms were a little smaller than normal Marriott rooms, and you heard every door in the hall slam all night and day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZebraRef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 ( all 12 of us ) whilst visiting the fantastic Universal, Disney and Epcot parks. Nice hotel, very clean and with friendly staff. We didn't use the facilities much but what we saw was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zosta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Orlando Airport
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Orlando Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Orlando International Airport
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando International Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside

Property: Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside
Address: 7499 Augusta National Dr, Orlando, FL 32822-5015 (Formerly Orlando Airport Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Orlando
#40 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#58 Business Hotel in Orlando
#93 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#113 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from the Orlando International Airport, the resort-like setting of the Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside takes you away from the hustle and bustle of the airport activity. The Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside boasts environmentally friendly facilities with unsurpassed amenities. Recently renovated accommodations emerge as a contemporary masterpiece of luxury and modern delights with soundproof windows and premium bedding. Our revitalized fitness center features state-of-the-art equipment with an indoor/outdoor swimming pool. Conveniently located among Orlando Airport hotels, within close proximity to Walt Disney World, Universal Studios, SeaWorld and Port Canaveral. Other nearby destinations include the Orlando Convention Center, UCF Stadium, Lake Nona, Burnham Institute, Medical City and Downtown Orlando. Featuring 29,700 sq ft of event space, our Orlando International Airport hotel's facilities are perfect for weddings and social events of all sizes. Discover a leader in style and service among hotels near Orlando Airport at the Orlando Airport Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Orlando Airport Hotel Orlando
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing