We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Floridian Hotel and Suites
Ranked #220 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

All the hotel staff from front desk to housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and the beds comfortable. It is very good for the low price. Although it's in the heart of the chaotic collection of restaurants and attractions surrounding Universal Studios, it was very quiet at the hotel. My only complaint was that I could hear my neighbors and the footsteps of those on the floor above me. The rooms just weren't very sound proof. Thankfully, this wasn't a huge issue, but it did affect a few nights. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyoftheArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear LadyoftheArts:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about our hotel. We will share your comments with our staff to let them know how happy you were with us. Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

We look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    480
    290
    97
    103
See reviews for
578
249
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The first good thing to say is: everything seemed clean, bed were comfy, there was a window bed/seat. Very cose to Universal and Wet n Wild.

now for the bad: there were no comforters only sheets, rugs looked old and need to be replaced, out dated tv, needs remodeling, towels were tiny we needed more towels to be able to dry ourselves, and the breakfast was decent. not the best but they had the basics- cereal milk oatmeal, some pastries, apple, oranges, and juice.

Room Tip: There are no fridge so make sure to ask for one if you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear penpuple:
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We will share your comments with our staff and let housekeeping know of your positive comments. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it will help to us to continue to improve our hotel and we continue to make changes.

All of our rooms have had the bedding replaced, an upgrade has been made to the landscaping, our third upgrade to the wifi now includes more users, the parking lot has been resealed, and an ADA pool lift installed. By the end of April the lobby is going to be enhanced, all breakfast furniture replaced, the pool deck resurfaced; and we are adding 32 inch televisions, microwaves and mini-fridges to all guest rooms.

We look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were looking for a cheap hotel near Disney for my family vacation and we weren't expecting much, but we got a ton. We booked our room for less than the Days Inn or any other cheap chain and our room was clean, large, had an island in the middle with an extra sink, fridge and microwave as well as a brand new TV and sleeping area by the windows. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ryan F:

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we cannot be happier. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and we will share them with our team. They will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here. We look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We wanted a cheap hotel near International Drive as a base, and thats exactly what we got ; Whilst we might use it again I wouldnt recommend it to anyone else, it really was very basic;

When we arrived all of the windows we covered with polythene , as they were painting the exterior of the hotel ; we had booked a 'suite' ; dont be misled by this, its just a big room with a 'kitchen' island in the middle ; the refurbished rooms have new flatscreen TV's on the wall but the other furniture and bedding in the room is all still in need of a refresh;

Breakfast was free ; very basic - juice,coffee,cereal,toast and little donuts ; only a few tables but you can take the little tray from your room and carry breakfast back there, which we did a few times when there wasnt a spare table ; we even sat by the pool to eat one day;

Pool outside was nice, a few sunbeds ( all worn and broken, they could do with renewing them) - we lay out for a morning which was very relaxing - dipped a toe in the pool - very clean and well looked after

Staff were very helpful and friendly - we wanted to locate a shooting range and they printed a map for us at reception

Handy having a fridge and microwave in your room , so you dont have to eat out every night

Wifi was available but it was very slow and unreliable - that was a real disappointment

Handy for all the main road routes

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mytakeonthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mytakeonthings:

Thank you for taking the time comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We will share your comments with our team and your feedback is greatly appreciated as it will help to us to continue to improve our hotel. We have been making some improvements to the hotel, the painting of the building, and by the end of the April other improvements will have been made.

All of our rooms will have had the bedding replaced, microwaves, and mini-fridges and 32 inch flat screen televisions installed, an upgrade to the landscaping, our third upgrade to the wifi to include more users, new pool furniture, and the parking lot resealed. The lobby is going to be enhanced, all breakfast furniture replaced, the pool deck resurfaced and an ADA pool lift installed.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have you as a guest again during your next trip to Orlando. If you ever return to this area please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Great budget hotel just off international drive. Only 2 or 3 minutes walk to all the restaurants on International Drive and only 5 mins drive to Universal and 20 mins to Disney. For the price its unbeatable and the wifi was really fast and reliable. The rooms, although basic, are quite modern in stye unlike some of the more old fashioned hotels around. I'd certainly stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ACrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear ACrompton:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We will share your comments with our staff to let them know how happy you were with us. Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be out pleasure to be of service the next time you need a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've heard so many complaints about their breakfast, but I think it's really fine! There's only six tables at te room but if you wake up early you can have breakfast at the lobby every day! The hotel is being renovated and we saw new mattresses being delivered! I found a cockroach in the room, it was the only one! If I had found it again I would have traded to another hotel. There's no hairdryer, microwave, iron or fridge in the room, and I really care about this items! The carpet wasn't vacuuming most of days! The staff was not friendly but answered all our requests, and that its what matters! The pool was closed and I was charge 4,99 + taxes for Resort Fee! This is not a resort, and this tax it's not fair!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranGabiatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
March 5, 2013

Dear FranGabiatti:

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced when visiting our property. Please know your feedback had been shared with our team. The items you detailed in your review are alarming and certainly fall short of our standard. This review has been shared with our Housekeeping Department for immediate improvement.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and to renew your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated just one block from International Drive. Universal is a 5 minute drive. Lots of restaurants nearby, there is a Chillis and TGI Friday within a 3 minute walk. Rooms fairly basic but adequate. We had 2 brand new beds, fridge and microwave. Plenty big enough for the 3 of us. Breakfasts were filling but get up early. It's very very busy after 7.30. Staff all very helpful. The hotel exterior was being painted and the pool was closed but they arranged for us to use the pool next door. Overall a good hotel in a good location. We booked through expedia. We got the price of a flight each first, then added a car which increased the cost, then you added this hotel and it cost is just £3 each for the week unbelievably!!! The ticket seller has good prices in the lobby but some do involve looking at time shares for 90 minutes so we avoided. There is free wifi here so we booked online, then used the free printer in the lobby to print our tickets off. Air con in rooms very good too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1969ws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
February 26, 2013

Dear 1969ws:

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we cannot be happier. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments and we will share them with our staff. They will be glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation here at our hotel.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our team to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

We look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Grand Hotel Orlando
#196 of 337 in Orlando
322 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#215 of 337 in Orlando
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn International
#122 of 337 in Orlando
833 reviews
Rosen Inn
#107 of 337 in Orlando
2,923 reviews
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#296 of 337 in Orlando
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Floridian Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Property: The Floridian Hotel and Suites
Address: 7531 Canada Ave, Orlando, FL 32819-8274 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Floridian Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is conveniently located one block east of International Drive just minutes from Universal Studios, Sea World, Walt Disney World, Pirates Dinner Adventure, and many other area attractions. We are a 129 room, interior corridor hotel, and our standard rooms feature two queen beds. We also offer our Junior Suites with a two queen sized beds separated by a kitchenette. We are located within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in Orlando and the I-Ride Trolley. Our hotel offers a Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet access. Relax in our lobby with a Complimentary Cup of Coffee available 24 hours a day. We also have an outdoor swimming pool and a lobby computer for your enjoyment. Our friendly and helpful staff will welcome you and assure that you and your family have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Floridian Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Floridian Hotel Orlando
Baymont Inn International Drive
Baymont Inn Orlando
Orlando Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing