We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the benefits of a villa but with full hotel service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Royal Palms
Ranked #151 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All the benefits of a villa but with full hotel service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

As a family of four we stayed at Royal Palms for two weeks in August 09. It was exceptional. I stayed at the JW Marriott in Orlando last year andRoyal Palms was much better! Royal Palms is located in the grounds of the Marriott World Center Hotel and is surrounded by the Hawks Landing golf course. It is a Marriott Vacation Club property but we stayed there as rental guests which meant that the room was fully serviced each day just as in a hotel.

The apartment we stayed in was in the 42xx block near the swimming pool and as far from the road as possible. Some ofthe other blocks were quite near to S Apopka Vineland Road (SR 535) although all apartments overlooked the golf course from their balconies.

Our apartment had two bedrooms. The small bedroom was entered through a small lobby off of which there was a bathroom. The small bedroom had a standard double bed and a single bed. It had a TV and roof fan. The large bedroom was very large and had a king size bed, desk, large drawer unit, TV, double vanity sinks and a large spa bath. Off of the room was a separate shower and WC.

The living area of the aprtment was very large. It had a well fitted kitchen (over, hob, microwave, dishwasher, waste disposal, coffee maker), dining area with large round glass table and a lounge area with a sofa a three arm chairs. There was a also a utility room with washing machine and tumble drier. The lounge area led to a balcony with a round table and four chairs. The balcony was well located to wasn't really visible from anyone else's balcony.

The whole aprtment was immaculate and finished to a high standard and it really did feel like home from home.

There was a good sized swimming pool, basketball and pickle ball courts just outside the apartment building. There were also free to use gas barbeques dotted around outside as well. The reception area of Royal Palms is like a hotel lobby and includes a small shop for essentials. They organise a schedule of daily events for kids there as well. Being located in the grounds of the Marriott World Center hotel all of the facilities of that hotel are free to use as well. A shuttle bus runs on demand from Royal Palms to the main hotel when you want it to. The pool in the main hotel is huge and includes waiter service to your sunlounger and you can charge back to your Royal Palms apartment - too easy!!

We didn't use the golf course but my son asked if he could try putting on the practice greens and the pro shop lent him a putter and some golf balls - a really nice touch and something that would never happen in England where we live!

With two teenage kids this aprtment worked really well for us as everyone had enough space to chill!!

I'd recommend Royal Palms to anyone, it was excellent and especially good for a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    123
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
240
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightwaters NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We booked a 4-night stay with two 3-day WDW passes as an American Express Rewards package. We had a beautiful and very spacious two-bedroom suite overlooking a golf course. The rooms, patio and fixtures were all in excellent condition and everything we could possibly want (except food) was in the suite when we arrived, right down to a box of detergent in the laundry room. The oversized Jacuzzi in the master bedroom was a very nice touch and relaxing after a long day walking the parks. We never heard a sound from our neighbors upstairs or on either side of our suite. Housekeeping was impeccable, there's a convenient mini-mart onsite, and the staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Wireless Internet was fast and free. Best of all, it's less than a 10 minute drive to any of the Disney parks from the property, making it very easy to come back to the suite for a shower and lunch break each day. My only suggestion is that they upgrade the TVs to flat panels. We would definitely stay here again at the hotel's regular rates!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

The Royal Palms with 2 bedrooms is one of three timeshare properties at the World Center. The room was very spacious with great soundproofing in the walls and tastefuly up-to-date decor. The kitchen was well stocked and layed out for easy use. The washer/dryer in the unit was in good condition and used many times during our stay. I have to say the entire staff from the front desk, shuttle driver, grounds crew, to maitenance was very friendly and always said hello. We had no issues during our stay except the kitchen tile floor appeared to be mopped with dirty water. The shuttle takes you very quickly to any of the properties, but do watch out for wet van seats! Apparently people use the pool at the World Center (it's huge) and come back on the shuttle wet! We are from only about 2 hours from the area and know all of the roads well. My biggest suggestion is to have a car, get a good map, and don't be afraid to venture out. There is a lot to see beyond the theme parks. All of us agreed that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lowkeytraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

This was a time share trade. Easy location on and off the highway and literally right outside of Disney World. Rooms are very clean and it's quiet. Great for golfers or non golf playing adults. Shuttle bus gets you around the property for free. Pool is nice and they claim 8 of them. I only found seven but that's more than enough. Close to two major outlet centers and three good supermarkets. There is some stuff for kids but there are other Marriott time shares in the area that offer more. Free wireless internet. Upscale restaurants at the main hotel. Very nice! I would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luv2TravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

We tried to book Imperial Palms where we stayed last year, but there was no room so we welcomed the chance to stay in a 2 bedroom 2 bath villa at Royal Palms. Upon arrival, our villa was spotless and meticulously clean. Like Imperial Palms, the rooms are elegantly furnished, very spacious, filled with light and from our lanai we had a wonderful view of the golf course. We enjoyed two days at Disney, and another day at Universal. Having breakfast at the World Center Solaris restaurant is such a treat.

Everything seemed to be going well until we smelled smoke. Although our confirmation certificate clearly states that Marriott Royal Palms is a smoke-free resort and there are signs everywhere on the villas and the property, we were really disappointed about poor enforcement and the lack of regard that some guests have for others. We had to close the sliding door of the lanai to keep the smoke out. We were really turned off at the Royal Palms pool because we noticed several employees and guests smoking and drinking. Even though there were lots of children playing in and around the pool, there were cigarette butts on the pool deck and near the BBQ grill.

To avoid these conditions, we took the shuttle to the World Center pool. Midpoint during our stay, we encountered guests in the next villa who said that they requested to be moved because of the smoke, but could not be accomodated because of high occupancy. Smoked away, they left.

Eventually, the smoke did go away and we could enjoy being on the lanai again. I'm glad we stayed to complete our vacation. I just wish the smoking imagery is not part of the memory. Because of that, I give the Royal Palms average marks in service due to lax and ineffective enforcement of their non-smoking policies.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MemorableWeekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

My family of six; husband, 4 kids ages 10 to 15 and myself arrived on Monday March 30 for a five night stay using Marriott Reward Points. (We are also Marriott Vacation Club Owners.)
The Villas are on the same property as the Marriott Orlando World Center. The grounds of the World Center and it's golf course are absolutely meticulous but the grounds in the Villa area (Royal Palms, Sabal Palms and Imperial Palms) are just OK...not bad but not like the World Center. The amenties at the World Center are four/five star but the ones in the Villa area are not. Again, not bad but not like the World Center.
There is a shuttle to take you to and from the World Center but hold on to your belongings. The ride from the Villas to the World Center is very bumpy (speed bumps) and my new digital camera fell unknowingly out of my pocket. When I realized it 10-15 minutes later and called for the shuttle to get it, it was already gone????
The Royal Palms unit we stayed in was generally spacious and the kitchen looked to have been updated within the last couple of years. It was nice. The living room, dining room and master bedroom were very spacious. The problem our family had was with the second bedroom. Although there is a double bed and a built in day bed there was no room to move around in the room. There is a sleeper sofa in the living room which was not comfortable at all so we ended up putting the mattress on the floor.
The rooms were lightly cleaned and tidied daily and fresh towels were always available.
Although we didn't use it, there is room service but it's not provided by Marriott.
The entrance to Walt Disney World is maybe 1/4 mile out the main entrance to the World Center so it's definitely conveniently located to Mickey.
Overall, it was OK but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeJay000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

Mariott Royal Palms has lovely 2 bedroom condos that have elegant furnishings and granite countertops. The use of the Mariott World Center is a definite perk. All hotel pools were heated. Our children used the very nice basketball courts, and enjoyed the activities such as Hoops contest, DJ music, Wii tournament and the easy access to all of the pools. There were plenty of games and sports equipment to check out from the front desk. The shuttle is easy and convenient to Mariott World Center. Condos have plenty of space and are well-appointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llent3932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.8 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
0.4 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Sabal Palms
Marriott's Sabal Palms
#129 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Royal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Royal Palms

Property: Marriott's Royal Palms
Address: 8404 Vacation Way, Orlando, FL 32821-6377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#93 Family Hotel in Orlando
#133 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Royal Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Royal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Royal Palms Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Royal Palms
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing