We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Royal Palms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Royal Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Royal Palms
Ranked #157 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Marriott Royal Palms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice older resort. We visited 12/23-12/29/12. The resort was quiet and the grounds were well maintained. It is connected to the Marriott World Center. The World Center had a very nice Christmas display. They even had Santa with complimentary pics. Nice touch.
The Royal Palms staff is top notch, very friendly and helpful.

The units were nicely equipped. The bed was super comfy!! Loved the colors. The second bedroom was tiny. It had a queen size bed and a small lounge chair that converted to a single bed. The bathrooms were also small. Overall, the look and feel of the furnishing was nice. The covered patio was spacious.

Now, there were a few things I think need improvement. The quality of the refurb left a lot to be desired. The cabinets had been refaced and the film was peeling. The water pressure in the hall bath was minimal.

Although they have a variety of restaurants at the World Center, It would have been nice to have one at the Palms. The Market Place was also limited. I also did not like the gym that was in the main lobby. It was a glass box with a few machines. Since I was traveling with children, I was also disappointed in the lack of a game room/ activity center.

It was a very relaxing location. Very close to Disney and shopping. I just expected more from a Marriott. Compared to a hotel it was great. But, compared to the Marriott I own it was just okay. The Marriott resorts I have stayed at are Lakeshore Reserve, Harbor Lake and Grande Vista. I own at Cypress Harbour.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2Travel5834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    122
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
236
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This slightly older Marriott Vacation Club lives up to the standards of the newer ones--relaxing atmosphere, spacious and comfortable lodging, pleasant surroundings, and easy access to resorts and groceries. In addition, the staff here is quite friendly, one of the most helpful welcomes we have had.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lame14020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Alfred, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had wonderful sleep. Construction was going on but it really did not interfer with our stay. The indoor pool was being worked on :=(

Plenty of space with just about everything except the food. Really enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: We were on the end on the top floor (4th) and it was great. Don't know about anyother rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xangotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Royal Palms was under construction, and our villa was in the middle of it. Lots of hammering and furniture moving in the mornings when we were trying to sleep in. The microwave turntable didn't work, one of the phones had no dial tone, the hour button on the coffeepot didn't work so I couldn't use the timer function, the cable was intermittent, the carpet looked dirty and turned my socks black, the toilet ran all night. The wireless is not fast enough for things like Netflix. That said, they did bring us a new coffee pot immediately and they fixed the toilet. They offered to move us but we chose to stay close to the pool. The pool/hot tubs at Royal Palms were nice, well heated. The main pool at the adjacent large Marriott hotel was still no where near completion even though the email they sent me the week before we left for this vacation assured me it would be done the day before we arrived. (So don't believe the emails.) It will be beautiful when it is done, but the marketing/customer communication folks aren't very in tune with construction project schedule. The location is very good, short drive to Downtown Disney where you can park and take advantage of Disney Transportation (from DTD, go to one of the hotels, from there you can get anywhere on Disney property and you wont have to drive or pay for parking when park-hopping.) The staff was AWESOME, our biggest complaint was how "used" the room looked. We enjoyed the patio. Apparently this room had been renovated, but they need to steam clean the carpet/furniture more often. Also, I was expecting two beds in the second bedroom; my 6 ft tall son ended up sleeping on a day-bed type thing up against the wall. This was my fault for not checking the floor plan, I didn't even know they had this sleeping arrangement as an option. I am a Marriott Vacation Club owner, this was not what I was expecting based on the size of our maintenance fees and the sales pitch that of course occurred at a brand new hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the top floor, away from any construction. Always check the floor plan of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
214 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The apartment was marvelous. The master bath was spacious and extremely well appointed. If you are staying for more than a day or two this has it all over a hotel room for space and comfort (loved the screened balcony overlooking the golf course). And access to any of the Disney World parks is so easy to avoid all the traffic of I-4 or International Drive. The staff was also very accommodating. The only caution would be that you must recognize that you may not get the same amenities that you are used to if you stay in a hotel. You may not get daily maid service. There is no complimentary coffee in the lobby. (They have an individual Starbucks brewed coffee for $2 please). But if you can live without those tiny things, and Disney World is your focus, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Secondtimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for a week at Royal Palms at the end of November 2012. We received an e-mail a couple of weeks before we arrived asking for any preferences we had in relation to the accommodation. They were able give us two of our preferences - top floor and near to the pool but there wasn't an upgraded 2 bedroomed apartment available. Even though it wasn't upgraded the accommodation was excellent. The only sign of needing upgraded was in the shower and bathroom which was looking a little tired. The second bedroom was quite small but our daughter and her husband said that it was perfectly adequate for them.

Royal Palms is very well situated and the staff were very friendly. We had a problem with the safe in the bedroom as it needed new batteries but this was completed within 10 minutes of phoning and reporting it.

The only negative about the resort was that the pool was supposed to be heated but it was still very cool - however the hot tubs were lovely!

This is the first time we have stayed at Royal Palms and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a top floor apartment to avoid the noise of people living above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just stayed a week at the Marriott Royal Palms as a family of 4. Everything was fantastic, from the warm and not crowded pool and hot tubs to the friendly staff all around. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. There was a modern and very nice fitness center. I would highly recommend and would definitely stay again on a trip to Orlando,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_R_1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#50 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,812 reviews
5.4 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Sabal Palms
Marriott's Sabal Palms
#133 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Imperial Palms Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Royal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Royal Palms

Property: Marriott's Royal Palms
Address: 8404 Vacation Way, Orlando, FL 32821-6377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#93 Family Hotel in Orlando
#133 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Royal Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Royal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Royal Palms Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Royal Palms
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing