We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Conventions Center and Free Wi Fi wont make up for the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive
Ranked #281 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Buffalo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to Conventions Center and Free Wi Fi wont make up for the rest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

If going to the orange county convention center this hotel is a 7 minute walk to the west side. Location is a plus. Free wireless internet is also a plus. Furniture is new and modern in our room. That’s all I can say that was good. Our room was very damp; the window had condensation on it most of the day, thus the bedding felt damp and uncomfortable. The pool was cold and our daughter would not swim in because it was so cold. The heater in the room did not work. The A/C did but we caught some cold nights. Both A/C and heater were very loud, we could not sleep with either turned on. They offered to move us to a new room but we had so much luggage and stuff we decided to be cold. There is a McDonalds, Denny’s, IHOP and a Convenient store all with in a very short walk. The lobby was and restaurant were under reconstruction during our stay late Jan. 2009 thus can’t comment on them. The reconstruction work looked poor, if I were the owner I would not be happy. The room was in expensive thus we got what we paid for. If you are looking for a plush place this is not it. If you are a business traveler needing a cheap place that’s close to the convention center then you should be able to rough it in this place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jww1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    226
    229
    90
    112
See reviews for
262
145
31
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

As we arrived at the howard johnson plaza from the outside it looked ok.... We walked into reception with no happy greeting also noticed a horrible smell.
We went to our room (wasn't shown to the room) which we found was furnished ok but the view from our room was of a huge rowe of storage containers in the car park, we asked to be moved as we wanted a view of the pool area they said there was one other room we could have so we then went to this room again wasn't shown there, this room was very tatty looking and right in the corner of the hotel and the view still wasn't great.
we asked if there was anything else available in which we got tld all the rooms were being refurbished, we asked if anyone else was actually staying at this hotel as by this time we hadn't seen any other people!! not even in the pool area which seemed very strange when you think your in florida!!
We decided to stay in the first room we was given as this room was the best one inside.
The evening came and we decided to go to the hotel bar for a drink and to see if there was anyone else staying at this hotel, when we got there all the lights were off and the bar was closed! i then asked at reception if the bar would be opening at any point and they said no it wasn't going to be open for the whole 2 weeks we was staying there!! This was very dissapointing as we was expecting there to be an open bar like it said before we came on the hotel website.
We then wanted something to eat there was no source of food at the hotel. But there is a mc donalds, red lobster and a dennys diner near by and also a VERY expensive supermarket.
This hotel is also situated quite a way away from the main area of international drive which is where all the food, bars, pubs and entertainment is. But it is very close to a stop were you can get an i-trolley which takes you all the way down the i-drive this is very good value for money and comes at regular times (every 30mins). his service only runs until 10.30pm which was bad beacuse we then had to get a cab back for around $10 a time (always haggle with them they will try and charge you loads by meter).
Once on the i-drive though there is plenty to do and many places to eat. would highly recommend a chinese called ming court we had a lovely meal there was fantastic.
The howard johnson did have some small plus points , the free continental breakfast was ok, and there was a nice jacuzzi which has to be tryed if you still decided to go there that is!!!
Pool area was ok but doesn't look anything like the pictures on the website which is one of the reasons we chose this hotel, the flower bed should be called flower bad!! as it is just a mud patch.
Also there was alot of work going on around he hotel, which was starting at 9am on our first morning and continued right the way through our 2 week stay, thank god we was out at the parks early everday.
Room was cleaned quite well everyday even though we noticed a few minor things going missing sometimes i.e my hair grips.
The bath was very dated and dirty unlike the rest of the room.
Hot water was always good and shower was a nice power shower, also the safe in room was also good, the air conditioning unit wasnt very good and was very noisy!! Had to have a good few drinks to be able to sleep next to it!
There is a complimentary shutle that comes to the hotel daily on the times it says it does, well they said was complimentary but at the end of our stay we was charged $2.50 per day for this service considering even though we hired a car and only used the shuttle twice!
It sounds like we had a terrible time but if it wasn't for all the great theme parks there are in florida we would have... busch gardens tampa is a must best park of all.
They call it a 3* but i would say more of a 1*.
But all in all florda is a must!! just this hotel isn't!!

  • Liked — Jacuzzi , continental breakfast
  • Disliked — room view, no bar, situation, no other people staying there!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dissapointedcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

We paid $180 for 4 nights in this hotel in the midst of Christmas/New Year holiday season! For this price we were more than happy with what we got. Huge clean room with all the amenities and flat TV, nice service, free shuttle to parks, IHOP, Red Lobster etc and supermarket nearby, I-tram and shuttle to Miami stops almost in front of the hotel - what else one could want. Yes, free breakfast is very basic, but for couple of extra bucks they will provide with more, inluding bacon, sausages etc. We spent money we saved on this hotel on express VIP passes to Universals and could not have been more happy with the deal we got.

  • Liked — Its price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barsuchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

My stay was equivalent to price paid. I got a good deal from Expedia. I think we got a renovated room b/c the furniture was modern and the beds seemed new. There is a lot of construction going on the premises right now so that is probably why the rate was cheaper. This didn't bother us the first few nights but the last day we were leaving, loud drilling could be heard outside. I needed to stay a 4th night and the woman at front desk was really accomodating and agreed to match my rate paid from expedia.

Small issues: the window lacks a good lock. It was locked with a cheap metal clip, that's all. And since we had a 1st floor room, anyone could have broken in to our room esp. with all the construction and workers walking around. The hallways had an awful smell of cleaning liquids but you couldn't smell it once you got to your room. I assume this might be gone after they finish renovation. The bathroom was not newly remodeled but it was clean and functional. I always give housekeeping good tips so my supplies were replenished and they did a good job with the beds and cleaning.

Parking is free but hard to find a spot if you get back to hotel really late at night like we did. Free wi-fi in room and also 2 computers w/ free internet in lobby and a printer. Free breakfast is beverage and a small banana nut bread which I didn't eat. If you want the full breakfast with eggs, potatoes, etc., you have to pay a little over $5 which isn't bad.

Location is good. Across from the Convention Center, next to IHop and Denny's. There is also a grocery that closes at 11pm across from hotel (walking distance) that carries anything you could need including wine. We went to Universal Studios and it was about 5 min away by car. It is also very close to International Drive by car.

I have a feeling that after the renovations it will be much better to stay at. I would consider staying again because of the price.

  • Liked — Decent Value
  • Disliked — Not secure lock on window, smelly hallways, not enough parking spaces
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYArista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Orlando Convention Center/International Drive
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Ctr - 6443 Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#109 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Orlando Convention Center Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#140 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive
Address: 9956 Hawaiian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819-8101 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive Hotel Orlando
Clarion Inn And Suites At International Drive
Clarion At International Drive
Clarion Hotel Orlando
Orlando Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing