We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Floridian Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Floridian Express
Ranked #298 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a trip through Kayak and got this hotel super cheap, but the hotel charges an extra resort and tax fee which is around 6$ a night. This hotel is in a great location for all of your travel plans including good restaraunts and shopping outlets. If you dont plan on staying in the room for long periods of time its not bad at all. The free breakfast consists of bagels toast and cereal. They have it outside by the pool area which is pretty much infested with flies. The 2nd floor smells funny and they try to mask it with bleach. The tv's come with about 7 channels of cable and 4 of them are Spanish (Sorry I speak 100% English). There is no dvd player. The whole room was painted and seemed to have a clean bedspread but we had 2 broken lamps. We aren't a picky couple. We were just glad the A.C. was cold and the water was hot. Its a cheap hotel which is convenient since Orlando isnt the cheapest place to vacation. On a side note be prepared for the countless pizza menus that will be placed under your door :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are trying hard to make the improvements for our guests and with comments like yours it will assist us greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    376
    396
    203
    344
See reviews for
603
385
76
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We are currently in this hotel. When we checked in we were given a second floor room which overlooked the bar so we asked to change to a quieter location. Without hassle we were given another room. This one the previous occupants had obviously been smoking even though all rooms are non smoking. Again we were given another room without trouble. The new room had a couple of issues, the toilet continually ran, the bath tap wouldn't run as couldn't switch it over from the shower and the safe didn't work, it was also missing the iron/iron board (not that we minded that one!). We called reception twice as we noticed the problems separately and they sent the maintenance man around who arrived within 5 minutes of the phone call to resolve the issues. We spoke with the manager the next day and it turns out the hotel has literally just changed owners so hopefully will get a revamp in the near future. The staff have been very good (I would have given 5 /5) with the exception of one on reception. We came in tonight and this new couple were checking in. The way he spoke to them was disgusting, it was the worst customer service that I have ever witnessed. The couple didn't speak english and he had no time for them and told them to go to another hotel!! This was just because they queried that they had already paid! We stayed to help them and told them that tomorrow the day staff should be nicer!! We then asked for our stuff from the safe (as ours couldn't be fixed) and his reply was 'you have nothing in there!'. I am looking forward to make a formal complaint about him tomorrow. If he worked for me he would be shown the door! On another positive note our bed is incredibly comfortable, the aircon is noisy but it didn't stop me sleeping. This hotel is a budget hotel, bear this in mind. Hopefully the new owners will iron out the simple maintenance issues.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our hotel. I do hope the next time you visit you will be able to give us 5/5 as this is what we are trying very hard to accomplish. Your issues are duly noted and will be addressed in a timely manner. Again thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here one night in two room. They charged me three times for both rooms!!! I'm trying to resolve this problem but they don't answer me on the phone!! The rooms were terrible, the bathrooms were nasty, and the beds and pillows were horrible!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laricmenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest, This is the first I am hearing of 3 charges for 1 room. I do apologize and if need be please feel free to call if this has not been sorted out for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed April 22nd - May 6th. Was slightly apprehensive after some poor reviews but was more than happy with this hotel. Location is perfect for those not driving. Universal was 20 min walk away with perhaps the better hotels further away. This was ideal as it saved waiting for an I trolley or paying for a taxi and we could come back in the middle of the day for a break or go in the evening with no problem. I trolley is just outside the hotel for transport up the i drive and to seaworld. The problems mentioned by others are not that bad. Yes the ceiling was discoloured. I could have took pictures and complained but did it make a difference - no. There was a musty smell when you entered the room (from the carpet) but you soon got used to it. The air con was powerful but loud. We originally had problems with the safe but was easily sorted. Fridge, microwave, ironing board and hairdryer but strangely no cutlery The check in is bad at 4pm with only 1 member of staff but we arrived later so no problem. Staff are friendly and room is cleaned everyday. The pool area does not look the most appealing but is ok for a quick dip with water at a nice temperature. This was definitely not the best hotel we will stay at but for a theme park holiday it was just fine and we would stay again. Lots of restaurants nearby. Black Angus had the nicest food and is good for karaoke on a Friday/ sat night. British pub across road to watch prem football. Sweet tomatoes 5 min away is excellent for something healthier and very cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your response. We hope the next time you are in town you will try us again and maybe give us 4 stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed in a lot of hotels along International Drive and I have to say this is the worst. When we checked into our room, the smell was so bad we asked to be moved. We didn't want to hang our clothes up in case they smelt too. They said there were no other rooms available and they may be able to move us in the next day or two. I asked if they had any air fresheners that we could put in the room. They said no. Even though, we noticed there were lots of them on the walls in the corridors. We went to a local shop to buy what we could. Nothing worked. There were also tiles coming off the wall in the bathroom.
The next day we asked again to be moved, which we were. The next room was better. Smelt a bit of bleach, which we were pleased with compared to the last room. In this room, the safe didn't work, which they said they couldn't fix, and there was no plug in the bath.
We now found out how bad their housekeeping was. If you put a Do Not Disturb sign on your door, they ignored it. If you DIDN'T put one out they often didn't come to make up your room. It got pretty confusing. As a result we went 4 days without any housekeeping at all. 2 of those days we didn't have any towels. We phoned reception who said they would send someone up. When we got back to our room there was a pile of fresh towels and clean bedding had been dumped on our bed, which I assumed was for us to change our own bed! By the next day, when we saw ants in the bathroom, we went to reception to complain, the lady was very nice and asked if we would like to be moved as housekeeping had gone home for the day. We were offered a room on the ground floor, which I had previously heard had been refurbished, so we took it. The room was OK but it was a disabled room so didn't have any bath, and definitely didn't look refurbished. It was probably the better of the 3 rooms though.
In this room the main issue was housekeeping again. They didn't have ANY Do Not Disturb signs on this floor, so you had to ask them to come back. Which they didn't seem to like. One morning when my husband was ill and having a lie in they knocked early, so I shouted through the door to please come back later. 20 minutes they knocked again, again I asked them to come back. Another 20 minutes they knocked again. This time I told them not to worry about coming back. I had shouted through the door, and as I was just on the other side of it I heard the lady mutter 'Jesus' in a very pee'd off voice. She obviously wasn't happy. We came to realise that if you dont get your room serviced before about 12, it doesn't get serviced.
In all of the rooms the air con unit was noisy so you couldn't leave it on to sleep.
The only good thing about the hotel was the Oasis Tiki Bar which was by the pool. But this wasn't run by the hotel.
We wasn't expecting a 4 or even 3 star hotel, but a decent room, with reliable housekeeping would have been nice.

Room Tip: Try for one on the ground floor as I hear some of them have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest, Please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to your expectations. We do try hard to make sure every guest is satisfied and again I do apologize we came up short on that for you. We do hope that given the chance you try us again and see the improvements we are continuously trying to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just read through some of the reveiws and quite dissappointed with the feed back why pay budget prices and expect 4/5 star if thats what your looking for pay hyatt / hilton prices youll soon change your mind this hotel is excellent value for money we actullay stayed at the monumental up the road last summer but we went striaght back to the metropoltain at christmas you cant beat it if your not happy with something tell staff and they will accomadate you maintance if we have needed it in the past have been quick and helpful ok they maybe better on Idrive but this hotel has free buffet breakfast location is spot on A/C dose work and believe you me the monumentals didnt work last year and its unbearable most staff are helpful and the on site tiki bar is great for meeting the locals with the likes of lacey and emily [ friends for life may i add] making you welcome so if you want all that pretenious B/S from a 4/5 star hotel this isnt for you but if you want friendly helpful staff clean rooms comfy beds and free breakfast and A/C that works with resturants a plenty to hand short walk to universal and Murphys bar round the corner this is place to be so heres to threes weeks on saturday to checking in once again and then will do it all again at christmas you just cant beat it !!!!!!

Room Tip: pool view rooms or poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for the raving review. It is so much appreciated by the hotel and staff to hear kind words from our guests. We do look forward to seeing you again on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay here and we got exactly what we expected, a budget hotel.....that's what we paid for!! Some people have reviewed this place expecting it to be 4 stars and been disappointed....what would you expect for £25 a night including breakfast?

Believe the other reviews, we experienced many of the same things:
Yes the corridors are hot and a bit smelly
Yes the wi-fi is only in the lobby, there are lots of people using it and it's slow
Yes the decor is dated
Yes you are likely to have some mould/rust in and around the bath
Yes our safe didn't work on the first night (but we were moved room the next day)
Yes our bathroom door was too big for its opening (but that just made us laugh!!)
Yes there are only 20 tv (sometimes fuzzy) channels (but who goes to Orlando to watch tv??)
Yes the breakfast options are limited (but it's included in the price and more than adequate to start you off on a day that's likely to include thousands of calories in your other meals anyway)
Yes the air-con is noisy
Yes the entry doors are left open (which actually does make you feel a little unsafe)
Yes the pool area is a bit scruffy
Yes the ice machines don't work (but there is a fridge in the room)
Yes our bathroom tap came off in your hand (again we just giggled)
Yes some of the staff were less than friendly (but others were lovely)

So if you're the sort of person who's holiday is going to be ruined by having to briefly walk down a hot, smelly corridor then this is NOT the hotel for you! If you want or are expecting luxury, again, this is NOT the hotel for you.

If on the other hand you're willing to spend your time outside the hotel and rough it a bit for the couple of hours you are inside, we found this hotel had:
A clean, comfortable bed
Clean towels
A great location for Universal parks (1 minute walk to wet n wild, 15 minute walk to Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure saving $17 a day in parking fees)
A budget friendly price tag

We read the other reviews of the hotel, still booked and still had an amazing holiday.

My only major complaint with this hotel is that they took our resort fee TWICE. We paid the fee ($50 + tax) in cash at the front desk on our arrival. We returned home to find the fee had been taken from our credit card as well. We were not informed that the fee had been taken a second time, we did not authorise it, sign for it or receive any paperwork to say it had been taken (or we would have queried it at the time). Despite having contacted the hotel a number of times via their website enquiry page (the only form of email I can find for them) we have still not received an acknowledgement, reply or refund. Be sure to bear this in mind if you choose to pay your resort fee in cash!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ThebigGreenbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your response. Although very to the point it is appreciated. Unfortunately with the heat and humidity there is little to be done about the hallways but we do strive to ensure the guest rooms are not of the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#245 of 337 in Orlando
1,473 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 337 in Orlando
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge International
#215 of 337 in Orlando
661 reviews
Rosen Inn
#108 of 337 in Orlando
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express

Property: Floridian Express
Address: 6323 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. We provide a high-quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. We offer free daily Continental breakfast, free Internet and complimentary scheduled shuttle to Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort daily. We are within walking distance to an abundant number of shops, restaurants, and nighttime entertainment. Visit our heated pool and Tiki Bar! All guestrooms at the Floridian Express Orlando Hotel boast large windows, blond-wood furnishings and tropical-style décor in shades of teal and pink. Amenities include 25-inch televisions with premium cable channels and personal safes. Microwaves and mini fridges in all of the rooms. Your stay includes free deluxe continental breakfast, transportation to the parks, free safe box in rooms, free local phone calls, and wireless internet access in every room including the lobby and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Floridian Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing