We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Price but Don't Expect Much”
Review of Floridian Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floridian Express
Ranked #296 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We used this hotel as part of a package deal with Slueths Mystery Dinner Show, and for the price it was a good bargain. Don't expect a whole lot. We got there around 11pm, after a day at Epcot, and were told the only room they had available was on the second floor and would that be okay? I liked that the staff asked this, and it was, but since there was no elevator and no one asked when I made the reservation if we needed a ground floor room due to limitations, as a designer, this surprised me. Also, the small lobby was filled with people sitting around. I found out why. There's no internet connection, land or wireless, in the rooms, so the folks sat around in the lobby for their web fix. We went down for the breakfast and since it was mainly carbs we went hunting for something else. Found an all you can eat buffet in the strip mall next door that was reasonably priced and the food was decent. The hotel is old and dated, which doesn't bother us, but we had old batteries in the tv remote so it was useless the first night, and the amount of channels available was sorely lacking. There were missing light bulbs in the lamps and a weak floor in the bathroom that I was a bit afraid would fall through. But, all of that being said...for the money, and the amount of time we spent in the room, it was worth the cheaper price. This is definitely not a hotel for anyone wanting to be pampered. The staff was always nice, informative, and on the ball. The lady at the bar was very nice and steered us to many different attractions. She was a dream to sit and gab with.

Room Tip: If you are limited in mobility, then you need to ask for a ground floor room as there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears we have failed to meet your expectations. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. We have replaced the hallway carpets since your visit and will be posting photos online that show the improvements, we only regret we had not done it in time for your visit. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

The exterior and corridors of these premises are faling to bits. On our first night on a Saturday when going to the room there was bags of rubbish lying next to the bins. Absolutely disgusting.

The rooms are big and if this was the 1990's the rooms would have been good. It's very outdated, old style switches, dirty taps.

Staff at reception are okay and helpful except one female middle aged shoulder length black hair who would ignore you at the counter and would walk away when you would be approaching. Hotel management need to explain to this lady where her salary actually comes from.

NOTE for management. Don't bother with the automated reply. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1471joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments and we believe we have failed to meet your expectations. For failing you, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate comments and feedback from our valued guests, as it helps us work harder to improve and correct our failings. Hope you give us another opportunity soon to show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a good hotel for the price. The staff is friendly and assisted us in our questions quickly and correctly . The room and bathroom is comfortable and clean. The towels are rough and complementary coffee is terrible . The complimentary breakfast is coffee (bad) , juice (a little watery ) muffins, bread, marmalade, cream cheese and cold cereal . Bring your own tablet or computer. The hotel have internet in the lobby , but the use of the hotel's computer is $15.00 per hour . The location is excellent, you have more than 3 steak house and they have buffet breakfast at reasonable prices. Similarly, is close to a Walgreens and have an ice cream shop next door. The hotel is within walking distance of Wet and Wild (10) and 25 minutes walk from Universal Studio.
Transporacion schedules for September to Sea World and Universal are at 11:00 Am (to late for me) . In the front of the hotel has a bus stop I- Ride system for $ 1.50 that will take you to Sea World . And if you are in good health you can walk to Universal.
If you miss the bus that is complementary to Disney at 8:00 AM you can use the I- Ride to Sea World and there take bus 50 to Disney . When you get to Disney you can move to the other parks of them through the transport system Disney World. Similarly, if you arrive early or part late you can take in the airport the bus 42 and drop you off in front of the hotel.
As you will see, We basically use the public transport system . The taxi from Disney World to the hotel was $ 40.00, an we pay that because, we closed the parks. If you rent cars, you are warned to add to the cost of renting of the car, the parking of $ 14.00 per day .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it does appear in some areas we have failed to meet your expectations. For these items, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here in this hotel for 3 weeks during July and August. This was our 2nd time staying here and there will be a 3rd time. This hotel is in a brilliant location on International Drive, as it is straight across the road from Wet and Wild and about 15mins walking distance to Universal Studios. It is in the heart of all restaurants and attractions on International Drive. The hotel room we had was spacious and had a fridge and a microwave in it. There was four of us staying here 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The rooms are cleaned every day and new towels are replaced. There was some renovations being done in rooms down the hall from us but that did not affect us in any way. We were so lucky with the room we got as we got a pool room and it was also beside the breakfast area. Ms B who runs the Breakfast area is a true lady, "Hi Ms B"... she even remembered us from our last visit which was in 2010. She runs the Breakfast area so well and always had it kept clean. She was so friendly and helpful towards me and my family. The staff at the reception were also so friendly and so helpful. They always greeted us when they saw us passing the reception area. This hotel is not an expensive hotel to stay in. It is a budget hotel which gives a breakfast with the price you pay and there is not many hotels on International drive that does this. Myself and my family had a brilliant stay in this hotel, we had nothing to complain about and we will definitely be staying here again. Another thing about this hotel is that it provides a FREE shuttle bus to Disney and Universal Studios again this service is not in all hotels. We didnt use this service this year as we did Disney in 2010 and we walked to Universal every time. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

On first impressions the hotel is run down and dropping to bits from the outside. When entering you are greeted by rude staff and outdated furnishings. On arrival to the room, you are exposed to mouldy bathrooms and beyond retro furniture. The following morning breakfast was stale bagels and cereal served by a filthy swimming pool that had dirt float on the top. After breakfast we went to collect hotel buses to disney parks to be told they only arrived twice on a morning and 3 times for hotel return. The hotel shuttle also served many hotels which meant a place on the bus wasnt guranteed. Check out was a 11am, the hotel has luggage room and staff were unwilling to store any luggage. Wasting a whole day at the dump of a hotel. This hotel is not good value; pay the extra and stay somewhere else. Its noteworthy that rooms are not as advertised and photos are about 10 year old.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments and we believe we have failed to meet your expectations. For failing you, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate comments and feedback from our valued guests, as it helps us work harder to improve and correct our failings. Hope you give us another opportunity soon to show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times before and not had a problem people are complaining about the state of the rooms here but what they don't tell you is the hotel is in the middle of a major refurbishment retiling floors changing carpets new beds etc. the staff here are very friendly and helpful and if you have a problem it gets attended to almost immediately. the only gripe I have is the TVs are terrible old CRT screens and really bad signals makes the picture look fuzzy also lack of decent channels Flat screens would not go amiss in the rooms but there again you are not there to watch TV its just some where to sleep after all the theme parks, there is also a pool and a bar on site

this hotel is located in a very good area on International Drive with wet and wild just across the road Universal 10 minutes away and SeaWorld just a short ride on the I ride Trolley Service

the hotel also provide a free bus to the Disney parks and has a fairly good onsite taxi service though this will cost you a little more than a normal taxi cant complain in that when you driven to your destination in an air conditioned limo

the cleaners do a very good job in the rooms changing bedding fresh towels every day remove rubbish ( don't forget to leave a tip in your room)

Many thanks to Debbie (Manager) and her staff for accommodating my requests and making my stay at the Metropolitan Express a good one.

Room Tip: ask for a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great location on iDrive, very close to all good restaurants.
Daily free buses to Disney (Epcot), Universal Studios and SeaWorld.
Hotel was clean and basic, but as stated previously you do get what you pay for and for us this was a cheap and cheerful price. We were allocated a recently renovated room, the decorating could do with being more modern but the bed was very comfy! TV sets were the old box style could do with updating. Fridge was rusty at the bottom of the door but usable nonetheless.
Poolside rooms have easy access to Breakfast / Bar area.

Free breakfast:Tea/Coffee, Cereals, Bagels/Toast and Cakes (Cinnamon Swirls/Fruit Cake).
Cleaning staff all friendly and did a great job.
Pool itself and furniture again very basic but usable. Poolside Tiki bar friendly staff with local knowledge. Bar prices average ($3.50 pint / $6 Cocktails).
Reception staff very helpful with everything - E.G. Booking buses, local area knowledge, room key problems.
Free Wifi in lobby.

Overall it was a good, clean hotel in a good location for all needs, would recommend and definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have patio doors for easy access to Breakfast and Bar areas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huxy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Econo Lodge International
#230 of 340 in Orlando
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#242 of 340 in Orlando
1,561 reviews
Rosen Inn
#104 of 340 in Orlando
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express

Address: 6323 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8213 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: $63 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. We provide a high-quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. We offer free daily Continental breakfast, free Internet and complimentary scheduled shuttle to Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort daily. We are within walking distance to an abundant number of shops, restaurants, and nighttime entertainment. Visit our heated pool and Tiki Bar! All guestrooms at the Floridian Express Orlando Hotel boast large windows, blond-wood furnishings and tropical-style décor in shades of teal and pink. Amenities include 25-inch televisions with premium cable channels and personal safes. Microwaves and mini fridges in all of the rooms. Your stay includes free deluxe continental breakfast, transportation to the parks, free safe box in rooms, free local phone calls, and wireless internet access in every room including the lobby and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Floridian Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing