We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has it's good points.”
Review of Floridian Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Floridian Express
Ranked #296 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It has it's good points.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, Yes it is cheap and in a good location, but it is very scruffy and a bit of a mess, for example, missing sink and bath plugs, curtains with missing hanger clips, door entry system faulty, you could be trying for 10 minutes before you can get in, mouldy window frames, TV channels very limited, expensive WiFi, breakfast just toast and coffee, smelly rooms with stains on furniture. Noise rooms, some are facing motorway, some are facing bar, which is very noise at closing time, and the plus points are that the staff are friendly and helpful. This hotel requires a couple of full time maintenance staff 24/7 , I would not use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooneystephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments and we believe we have failed to meet your expectations. For failing you, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate comments and feedback from our valued guests, as it helps us work harder to improve and correct our failings. Hope you give us another opportunity soon to show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    376
    396
    203
    344
See reviews for
603
385
76
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We only paid £300 for 2 weeks at this hotel and it was fine for us very close to universal,wet n wild, restaurants and supermarkets. The breakfast was very average at the time we went we were definately the minority being english. The reception were friendly enough although we had to pay $5 to pick up a package from the desk sent to us :s and they werent very helful for any of our queries to be honest. We got this hotel cheap so it was good for its money for us.

Helpful?
2 Thank Re30
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WALES
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in jan 2013 it was the second time so we new what to expect you get what you pay for the rooms are very big but basic thay are also cleaned every day it is on idrive so everything of interest is close by we had a few problems with the door lock this time as thay have the card system, they were refurbishing the block at this time overall i would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ground floor northside for the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonsil57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. We will continue to strive to improve to be the hotel everyone wants to come back to! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it served its purpose. Was very clean and comfortable . Only one mile from CityWalk and across from the lobster buffet. I would stay here again if the price stayed competitive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingFloridaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Judging by other reviews,was a bit wary and have to admit first impressions were not very good,but after a long journey from England and being tired doesnt help.We arrived 30th Dec 2012.
It is basically a two storey mote/ hotel with no lifts and going up the dingy looking stair case which could do with a lick of paint didnt help.
Entering the rooms which had a dark green decor and only one low wattage main light added to the initial dingy appearance, but thereafter things started to look up when all the bedside and other lamps were turned on and the bathroom inspected.The rooms and the bathroom were very clean and had recently been painted.
We were three couples plus 1 and some initial comments were that they would not stay here again, but next day when refreshed, the rooms seen in daylight and a good free breakfast opinions changed rapidly and after a few days everyone was happy and would definately stay again.
I daresay the reason most people stay there is the price and it has to be judged on that basis. If you want four star and the ambience that goes with it then stop complaining and pay four star prices.
Another plus was the availability 24hrs a day of tea and coffee in the reception area and free wifi.It was by no means perfect and if you wanted to find imperfections you could, but overall a good 14days stay and I would not have a problem recommending it to others albeit with a few caveats

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Den_jon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEXFORD IRELAND
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel' 09',10,'11 .really enjoyed it. Found it's location perfect on international drive. Staff very friendly and room was basic but clean.
Going this year again June 25th and got a great deal. Looking forward to drinks in Tiki bar. We're coming over with 4 other families from IRELAND and looking forward to staying here.
See you in June. Can;t wait

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN1964_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I just recently stayed at the Metropolitan Express Hotel in Orlando during a weekend trip for school. It was a close drive to where my class was. This hotel was exactly what I needed. They had a great continental breakfast included that you could grab and go before you hit the parks. They also had a complimentary shuttle to take you to and from the amusement parks. This hotel is everything you need in Orlando and more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lw704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our happy clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#245 of 337 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 337 in Orlando
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge International
#215 of 337 in Orlando
661 reviews
Rosen Inn
#107 of 337 in Orlando
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express

Property: Floridian Express
Address: 6323 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. We provide a high-quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. We offer free daily Continental breakfast, free Internet and complimentary scheduled shuttle to Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort daily. We are within walking distance to an abundant number of shops, restaurants, and nighttime entertainment. Visit our heated pool and Tiki Bar! All guestrooms at the Floridian Express Orlando Hotel boast large windows, blond-wood furnishings and tropical-style décor in shades of teal and pink. Amenities include 25-inch televisions with premium cable channels and personal safes. Microwaves and mini fridges in all of the rooms. Your stay includes free deluxe continental breakfast, transportation to the parks, free safe box in rooms, free local phone calls, and wireless internet access in every room including the lobby and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Floridian Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing