We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap, close to CityWalk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floridian Express Hotel
Ranked #296 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap, close to CityWalk!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it served its purpose. Was very clean and comfortable . Only one mile from CityWalk and across from the lobster buffet. I would stay here again if the price stayed competitive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingFloridaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    371
    392
    200
    339
See reviews for
596
380
74
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Judging by other reviews,was a bit wary and have to admit first impressions were not very good,but after a long journey from England and being tired doesnt help.We arrived 30th Dec 2012.
It is basically a two storey mote/ hotel with no lifts and going up the dingy looking stair case which could do with a lick of paint didnt help.
Entering the rooms which had a dark green decor and only one low wattage main light added to the initial dingy appearance, but thereafter things started to look up when all the bedside and other lamps were turned on and the bathroom inspected.The rooms and the bathroom were very clean and had recently been painted.
We were three couples plus 1 and some initial comments were that they would not stay here again, but next day when refreshed, the rooms seen in daylight and a good free breakfast opinions changed rapidly and after a few days everyone was happy and would definately stay again.
I daresay the reason most people stay there is the price and it has to be judged on that basis. If you want four star and the ambience that goes with it then stop complaining and pay four star prices.
Another plus was the availability 24hrs a day of tea and coffee in the reception area and free wifi.It was by no means perfect and if you wanted to find imperfections you could, but overall a good 14days stay and I would not have a problem recommending it to others albeit with a few caveats

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Den_jon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEXFORD IRELAND
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel' 09',10,'11 .really enjoyed it. Found it's location perfect on international drive. Staff very friendly and room was basic but clean.
Going this year again June 25th and got a great deal. Looking forward to drinks in Tiki bar. We're coming over with 4 other families from IRELAND and looking forward to staying here.
See you in June. Can;t wait

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN1964_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I just recently stayed at the Metropolitan Express Hotel in Orlando during a weekend trip for school. It was a close drive to where my class was. This hotel was exactly what I needed. They had a great continental breakfast included that you could grab and go before you hit the parks. They also had a complimentary shuttle to take you to and from the amusement parks. This hotel is everything you need in Orlando and more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lw704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our happy clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights between 25th December and the 5th January. Check in was bad we were told we would have to pay for our room in full as the hotel had not been paid by the company we booked with. After argueing with her she made a phone call and found out she was wrong. All the other members of staff we spoke to though were very helpful. We stayed in room 2107 and it was OK. Room smelt damp but it was clean and spacious. It had two double beds tv and good size bathroom. When we first arrived the safe did not work so they offered us the use of the safe in reception. The one bad thing about this room was it was not far away from the door that leads to downstairs and when ever it was used it banged shut and woke us up. We ended up proping the door open with a towel. Breakfeast is simple but free. The one thing that lets it down is that there is no left luggage so if you have a early check out you have to pay to keep the room till later on which is why i may not stay here again.

There is a really nice bar in the hotel with cheap drinks and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you can get a good deal, this hotel is okay. It's very simple and a little bit aged, but it's good enough. The beds are not very comfortable, and the carpet is old and doesn't appear to be clean. The continental breakfast is a bonus. There is only wifi in the lobby. Closest hotel to Universal. It took us 15 minutes to walk there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandD951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears we have failed to meet your expectations. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. We have recently started renovating the rooms and hallways to be completed by Summer 2013. We sincerely hope you give us the opportunity to show we can improve and be your host hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked this on a discount website knowing it was just a basic hotel, but WOW what a horrible experience.

We were issued the wrong room upon arrival. After waiting for a new room, we found out it was located in the area of the hotel that was under renovation. I can appreciate a hotel trying to maintain it's image, but with someone with severe allergies, I would not have booked a hotel under construction this should've been on the website. There was dirt, broken baseboards and dead bugs everywhere and there was an overall wet dog smell throughout the entire hotel.

It was impossible to get into our room. Our room keys wouldn't work more than once at a time, meaning we'd have to walk to the front desk (on the other side of the hotel) to get them recoded every time we needed to get into our room. We were there 2 days and we visited the front desk 4 times because of the keys. Never once were we offered an apology, just a bunch of excuses.

Not to mention, the room was disgusting. The wet dog smell carried into the room. The shower head and sink leaked, leaving a nice size puddle at all times. We had to use the towels to dry the area so we wouldn't fall. The mirrored closet doors were cracked and broken, a huge hazard for anyone that has small children. And, there were dead flies in the bathroom.

The breakfast is decent: bagels, toast, pastries, juice and coffee. The best thing about the hotel was the 10 minute walk/$7 cab ride to Universal/Islands of Adventure. Don't bother with the shuttles. They leave the hotel late and come back early.

We ended up checking out early and leaving Orlando because of the terrible experience at this hotel. The cheap price isn't worth it- STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: "No room in this hotel is good. Find another hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazmine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears we have failed to meet your expectations. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. We have recently started renovating the rooms and hallways to be completed by Summer 2013. We sincerely hope you give us the opportunity to show we can improve and be your host hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#250 of 335 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#215 of 335 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 335 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Rosen Inn
#105 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express Hotel

Property: Floridian Express Hotel
Address: 6323 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8213 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. Floridian Express International Drive is in the heart of Orlando, walking distance from Wet 'n Wild and SkyVenture Orlando. This family-friendly hotel is within close proximity of Pirate's Dinner Adventure and Titanic the Experience. We provide a high quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Floridian Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing