We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Orlando on a budget”
Review of Floridian Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Floridian Express
Ranked #298 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great choice for Orlando on a budget”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Why pay for a great hotel in Orlando? That's not where I would spend my time in Orlando anyway. I just need somewhere safe to sleep, shower and keep my luggage and the rest of the time I'll be in the parks!

We stayed here for 5 nights two times. Never tried the pool or breakfast. Drove to Disney and SeaWorld and walked to Universal Studios (it took about 20 mins).

I'm sad to read that someone had theirs rooms robbed. We left our Macs, iPads and other valuables in clear sight sometimes and nothing ever got stolen from our room. We stayed on the second floor.
I forgot a charger in the room after our first stay, and got it back from housekeeping when I asked about it on the next visit. Staff is very laid back and friendly.

Bad things: Wifi only works in the reception :( Some of the rooms don't have a fridge. There is a strange smell in the corridors, and it really stinks when you walk past the smoking rooms.
One day we overheard a guest complain to the staff. She threatened to post bad reviews all over the internet and she was very unhappy. I think it was because of lack of enough towels or something.

I would be happy to stay here again. It's not the Four Seasons, but it lets you experience Orlando without paying too much.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued happy clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    376
    396
    203
    344
See reviews for
603
385
76
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
teesside
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

stayed from 10/24 june/2011 arrival greating first class from debbie who i found very good and accomodating with any inquires. how ever hotel suffering from old age. some rooms were terrible ,numerous complaints from fellow travellers ,all nationalities ie rooms smelling toilets not working, safes not working,pool area not cleaned down ,pool tiles covered in dirt and grime , although water is treated. fence aronnd pool rusted and sharp edges again suffering from age and lack of attention over the years. it would seem i was lucky with my room old in appearence cleaned well0n second floor. pool rooms can be noisey, shuts at 10 oclock but bar area can be open till much later also these room are prone to theft if patio doors left unlocked while you sit by pool being close by.

Room Tip: away from pool area second floor avoid 2407to 2402
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teessidecolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel was brilliant! It wasn't the Hilton but it was very good value for money. When we got to the hotel we discovered our safe box was broke, so the staff put the stuff at front desk which I felt much safer doing anyway! Also the tv didn't work, I asked front desk and they sent out a maintenence man straight away! He repaired it within 5 mins (the last guest had stolen the aerial adaptor!!!) We went to the tiki bar and had some games of pool in a nice little games room, as the night got later we got chatting to the bar staff who were very friendly. They can start you up a tab so you don't have to pay until the end of the night! Everytime we left the hotel the staff in the lobby spoke to us, they had some guys who would actually have a full on conversation with us. The room itself wasn't brilliant. It had comfortable beds which is all we cared about, but the air conditioning system smelt of vinegar and the bathroom shower was a little bit weak. We had a view overlooking the carpark but I suppose if you don't ask for something better you don't get it, the only other problem with this is only the poolside rooms have balconies so you have to walk round to the bar for a smoke in our room. The house keeping was very good. The pool was nice, deep enough for diving and the bar staff looked after my stuff for me while I was in the pool. The hotel itself is also in an excellent location, smack bang in the middle of i-drive right next to an i-ride stop (a bus you pay $1.25 for to go anywhere up international drive!!) There are alot of things to do on i-drive, theres an extreme bungee ball which shoots you 400 feet in 1.5 seconds, an alligator farm, go karting, a man with parrots that speak to you. There are a massive amount of restaurants and takeways (our favourites being chillis, brickhouse and hooters). Cicis is good for pizza buffet only $4.99 for unlimited pizza and salad, plus refill drinks and ponderosa across the road from the hotel is the best for breakfast with a buffet setting you back only $3.99. The only bad thing I can say about the hotel (although I dont think its entirely their fault) is the shuttle buses to disney are terrible! We had one that came at 9.45 which was ok, but the next one isn't until 11.50 (waaaay to late to start disney!!) They then changed the times to 7.00 and 11.50!!!! My advice is to get the lynx bus if you don't want to do either of these times, $2 for a transfer, you get 2 buses to disney at whatever time you want, stop outside the hotel. Universal studios is 20 mins walk (the buses on that are even worse!!) Its a nice walk, turn left out of the hotel keep going straight until you get to Universal Blvd and then turn left and go over the bridge. You'll see Universal from there. We met some amazing people at this hotel. We had a gay guy from Liverpool who lived and worked in Florida in our bar every night and he was hilarious, he sings, dances and how he is not a comedian I have no idea!!

My advice would be, go to this hotel! If you don't you don't know what you're missing because I'm already saving for next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy_sahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our happy clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Most of the complaint reviews on here are accurate.

The first floor carpets are disgusting and there is a horrible smell when you walk through the corridoors. My children held their noses walking to our room.
The pool needs cleaning and updating.
There is nowhere to sit for your 'deluxe' breakfast.
The staff are very slow and seem unhappy in their work though not rude.
We had two rooms and both the safes were broken, one was fixed the other wasn't.
The shuttles are always late, are at strange times and sometimes don't turn up at all.

My main complaint with the hotel was finding bedbugs in our bed that had obviously been there for some time. The beds are made daily though certainly not washed so these should have been spotted by anyone pulling the bed slightly away from the wall.
After suffering for more than a week with what I didn't know were bedbug bites until my daughters came out with spots too, I complained. We were allocated a different room though left to move late at night with no help and three sleepy children.
We had to wash all our belongings to prevent further contamination in the one washing machine that worked in the laundry, which took quite some time.
This experience spoiled my much anticipated holiday and badly affected the holiday of my family.

The only thing this hotel has going for it is it's location!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears we have failed to meet your expectations. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. We have replaced the hallway carpets since your visit and will be posting photos online that show the improvements, we only regret we had not done it in time for your visit. As for the bedbugs, we have a service that services our hotel on a contracted basis, sometimes a room gets infected without our knowledge, we sincerely apologize for this unforseen incident. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Illinois City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days and nights. Our room was broke into and my and my husbands belongings were taken. The staff was less than sympathetic and basically took no responsibility for not providing adequate security. Spoke with officer who stated the hotel has a history of robberies and during my days there by the pool, which I might add was the best part of the stay that and the people at the tiki bar, saw and heard of police removing people, robberies daily. Was a cheap hotel, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Never have a pool side room, too easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrenk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it does appear in some areas we have failed to meet your expectations. For these items, we sincerely apologize. Although it may have appeared we were not concerned, security is a main issue with our hotel and staff and we always ask our guests to lock up their valuables in the safes provided. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel isn't exactly 5 star but with exceptionally helpful staff, clean rooms and a fantastic location (opposite Wet'n'Wild), you cannot go wrong. For those on a budget trip to Orlando this hotel is perfect. You definitely get what you pay for but the rooms are clean and the free breakfast isn't bad!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballygowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. We really appreciate when someone enjoys their stay! It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Hotel Cheap , dirty , smelly and nasty -- if you want cheap and can not afford better stay at home you will fell safer and be a lot happier
Safe does noe work and Told by security do not leave anything valuable in room or in safe if they do work . Within the next 2 hours spoke to 2 couples who had had their I-Phones stolen which the hotel denied that it was their responsibility that someone had got into their room
We had a ground fllor room that had no opening windows smeeled teribble
sheets changed ??? were they clean when we went in the room ??//
Tiki bar tacki and very noisy after a tirying day at the parks
Courtesy bus times not very good 7.30am to disney and only to Epcot then next one 11.30am !!! park opens at 10.0am so lots of waiting time
Bus to universal goes via Sea world and every hotel in between
Would class this as the hotel from HELL
Police often at reception for other poor guests !!
DO NOT COME YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED
swimming pool was also covered completely with ants that kids were swimmimg in
Obviously this hotel is never inspected by anyone from the health department
I am being generious with these comments

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NFFC-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears we have failed to meet your expectations. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#245 of 337 in Orlando
1,473 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 337 in Orlando
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge International
#215 of 337 in Orlando
661 reviews
Rosen Inn
#108 of 337 in Orlando
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express

Property: Floridian Express
Address: 6323 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. We provide a high-quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. We offer free daily Continental breakfast, free Internet and complimentary scheduled shuttle to Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort daily. We are within walking distance to an abundant number of shops, restaurants, and nighttime entertainment. Visit our heated pool and Tiki Bar! All guestrooms at the Floridian Express Orlando Hotel boast large windows, blond-wood furnishings and tropical-style décor in shades of teal and pink. Amenities include 25-inch televisions with premium cable channels and personal safes. Microwaves and mini fridges in all of the rooms. Your stay includes free deluxe continental breakfast, transportation to the parks, free safe box in rooms, free local phone calls, and wireless internet access in every room including the lobby and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Floridian Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing