We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Floridian Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floridian Express
Ranked #292 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Just back from a 14 night stay at this hotel. After reading reviews prior to stay, I would say that I agree with points raised by both the good and bad reviews. Check in was slow and the man at reception was not overly helpful. They may try to pun you off with using their safe at reception but we pushed for a room with a working safe and got one. We had asked for a pool side view but we didnt get one. Another thing I did notice when walking through the reception during our stay was the number of complaints from people asking to change rooms. The room we got was fine, no major issues, it was on the 2nd floor with two comfy double beds, microwave, safe, hairdryer,tv etc.It was cleaned everyday.
The big issue for us with this hotel was the state of the corridors. The smell was so bad we had to hold our nose to get to our room. The carpets are filthy and it baffles us as to why they have not been replaced or at the very least steam cleaned??
On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location. We didnt hire a car and with the shuttle buses, i trolley and lynx bus we were able to get to all the parks and up and down i drive easily. We would recommend the Great Western restaurant near the hotel, friendly staff and cheap buffet. Supermarket next to hotel is a bit pricey but handy for essentials. Walmart is about a 10 minute drive away. Across the road from Wet and Wild and we walked to Universal and it took about 20 minutes. Taxi cost $7.
We would stay here again and hopefully the carpets and attitude of some staff will have changed by then.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank where-to-next1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it does appear in some areas we have failed to meet your expectations. For these items, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

Me and my husband stayed her for two weeks!, The hotel was clean and tidy and the free transport service to the theme parks was excellent, We stay bed and breakfast we only had breakfast once the selection was poor just toast, bagels cereal and muffins, The pondarosa across the road is fantastic for breakfast and buffet dinner.
We found the hotel staff really helpful and friendly has some problems with the electronic safe which were fixed asap when reported. All in all a great base in a excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsdavies2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express! We appreciate all comments from our clients, both good and bad; and we really appreciate hearing we did meet your expectations. Hopefully you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were after a cheap base near the Universal parks and after reading many reviews decided on this hotel. Within one hour we had checked out as it was just disgustingly dirty and smelly.
Some other reviews from the period we stayed there mention all the faults but then say cause its cheap its somehow ok!!! I can't believe this and would urge anyone thinking of staying here--not to. Don't take the risk!!
I've added a couple of pictures taken by my daughter of the dirty carpet( lucky you can't smell it ) and these aren't the worst bits , those are on the video I've taken to backup my complaint but I can't upload that for you to view.
We checked in next door at the Rosen Inn--it was everything we were expecting from this hotel, cheap(slightly more expensive but worth every penny), clean, friendly, great position, great base.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcw137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and we have completely failed to meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for our failure. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Difficult to review this hotel as had good and bad points, probably both of equal quantity. Checked in OK though my previously acknowledged email to the hotel with my request for a ground floor poolside room was not acknowledged by the desk staff so there was initial disappointment immediately on arrival. I was given a 2nd floor room (which is actually on the first floor) and told that there was no lift. I had two large and two small suitcases and a 9 year old child and yet when I asked for assistance I was told that the hotel has no bellboy. I would not have expected a dedicated member of staff to assist with luggage at a low grade hotel however with two large men on reception I don't think it would have hurt for one of them to offer to help. I had to go up and down the stairs three times to get our luggage into our room. The room had two double beds and in my opinion was perfectly adequate - exactly what I would expected. Aircon was adequate though noisy so couldn't really have it on at night. The safe didn't work - reception offered for me to keep my valuables at a safe on reception however I did not take up this offer. There were some complimentary toiletries in the bathroom but I never used them. The bathroom was adequate, looked clean, towels were changed daily, however, the bed sheets were not changed for the full 2 weeks we were there. They did come in and make the beds every day though. The location is good, can't fault that. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast though I never used it once. The food is kept inside a ridiculously small room with chairs and tables outside by the pool. The size of the breakfast room and the seating outside is wholly inadequate for the size of the hotel. The food provided was in my opinion inadequate and simply not a pleasure to utilize that particular facility. We ate the buffet breakfast in Sizzler every morning which was $4.99 adults and $3.99 children though my daughter ate for free in there every morning with my Kids Eat Free card. The internal common parts of the hotel are grotty. The carpets are absolutely filthy in some areas. Quite why they have been left to get into this state without attention is a mystery. However, overall, based on the price we paid and for what we got for our money which was a perfectly adequate base, the room was large, the beds very comfy, TV with enough channels to keep us amused whilst getting ready in the morning and a couple of evenings we spent in there. Great location, restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity, Wet N Wild across the road (though we much preferred Aquatica), we drove to Universal so can't comment on the walk. In summary, yes, there were some negatives which would be unforgiveable in a higher grade more expensive hotel but for what we paid, I was happy with it and would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumofOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it does appear in some areas we have failed to meet your expectations. For these items, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here the second week in April. The hotel is in a great location, just opposite Wet n Wild and there is an I-Trolley (which goes to the outlets) stop right outside. Universal is a 20 minute walk away and there is a courtesy bus to Disney. Florida Mall is 25 minutes away on the 42 bus which again stops outside and is only $2

The rooms are basic and a bit shabby, ie a bit dated, but clean. The maid came in every day and changed the bedding and towels. The room has aircon (which was a bit noisy, but still a Godsend), a fridge, microwave, tv and safe. We initiially had a ground floor room but moved as the safe wasn't working. The staff were very helpful and extremely efficient. We then moved to a 1st floor room ovrlooking the pool, which was fine. The upstairs hallway was again shabby, but you know you aren't staying in the hilton.

The breakfast is basic and is served in a really small room but if you don't want to eat there, there are plenty of options on the doorstep for about $4.

The vast majority of people who go to Florida don't spend much time in the hotel, they go for the parks etc. This hotel is an ideal base as it's in a great location, it's clean and is comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wee_Chocolate_Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Thank you for your recent review of the Metropolitan Express! We sincerely are grateful receiving both the good and the bad as that is the only way we can recognize our shortcomings and improve. We do apologize for any areas where we failed to meet your expectations. We will try to meet and exceed your expectations the next time you travel to us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel it was good value for money as it included breakfast which saves you time when you want a day at the parks.Universal and Islands of Adventure are really close and Wet and Wild is just across the road, as we had tickets for these parks so it really suited us. Our rooms were on the first floor and were clean, spacious and large, The maids did a good job every day and Beatrice was excellent in the breakfast area. The reception people were very obliging, we did have a safe problem which they sorted out straight away, There is a Dairy Queen right outside the hotel they have wonderful icecreams. Hall carpets were tired but this hotel is well used, carpet in rooms are fine. The Oasis Tiki bar is excellent very friendly staff and really good value drinks, especially beer and cocktails, There is a good games room that more than entertained our teenage grandkids. The pool is great for a dip after a long day at the parks.

Room Tip: free internet by the bar and at reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disney011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Thank you for your kind review of the Metropolitan Express! We have passed the comments on to the staff and we are pleased that we accomplished our goal - to provide a vacation spot our guests enjoy. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Rooms not at all like in photos. Rooms were dingy and smelly. Bathrooms were disgusting and not cleaned while we were there. Not enough towels for family of five. Could hear the rats in the walls at night and beds were dirty and uncomfortable. The only good thing about this hotel is that the staff was always friendly, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155032Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met_Management_Team, Director of Sales at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments and we believe we have failed to meet your expectations. For failing you, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate comments and feedback from our valued guests, as it helps us work harder to improve and correct our failings. Hope you give us another opportunity soon to show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#243 of 340 in Orlando
1,517 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#291 of 340 in Orlando
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn
#105 of 340 in Orlando
3,021 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#222 of 340 in Orlando
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express

Address: 6323 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: $54 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. We provide a high-quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. We offer free daily Continental breakfast, free Internet and complimentary scheduled shuttle to Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort daily. We are within walking distance to an abundant number of shops, restaurants, and nighttime entertainment. Visit our heated pool and Tiki Bar! All guestrooms at the Floridian Express Orlando Hotel boast large windows, blond-wood furnishings and tropical-style décor in shades of teal and pink. Amenities include 25-inch televisions with premium cable channels and personal safes. Microwaves and mini fridges in all of the rooms. Your stay includes free deluxe continental breakfast, transportation to the parks, free safe box in rooms, free local phone calls, and wireless internet access in every room including the lobby and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Floridian Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing