We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful condo, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
Ranked #48 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Our family just returned from a 7-night stay at this condo resort in Orlando. We had a two-bedroom condo. Our children are 7 and 12. No one wanted to come home when it was time to leave, because we had such a relaxing stay.
The kids had a great time in their shared room, playing with some of the souvenirs we picked up each day and watching television, while my husband and I (being six months pregnant during the stay) had a wonderful time relaxing in the evening on the balcony or watching television in the living room area. The straight-out view on the balcony was of a huge electrical substation, but off to the right, we could see trees and lights from some of the Disney property. Not the best view, but still relaxing for us.
Because we had so many activities planned throughout our stay, we mostly spent nights in the condo, along with a few breaks in the afternoons. Everyone slept very well in the beds — even my husband and I, who are quite particular about hotel beds.
The kids splashed around in the whirlpool tub one afternoon when my husband and I just wanted to relax indoors before heading back out to one of the theme parks. Other than that, hubby also relaxed one night in it. I, being pregnant and all, didn't get to try it out.
We were very impressed with the housekeeping service and didn't have any shortage of towels — neither before nor after they were replenished midweek. We had plenty between the two bathrooms and the pool towels they left.
There were two pools, but we didn't actually swim in either, as we were too busy/tired. The one closest to our building never seemed that busy when we were coming and going, though.
We had to call maintenance one time, when our youngest son accidentally locked everyone out of one of the bedrooms. We were just getting ready to leave for dinner, but maintenance showed up promptly, so there was little delay.
The only thing that we might do differently next time would be to allow for some additional time at the resort. There were daily scheduled activities, shuffleboard courts, and various sports/leisure activities that we might have enjoyed if we spent more time at the actual resort.
But, we were mostly looking for a nice, comfortable place to rest, relax and sleep where we weren't bothered by staff or other guests that offered plenty of room for everyone to enjoy their own space/activities and the option to cook a few meals ourselves. Based on what we wanted, we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend this resort to others.
BTW, my in-laws belong to the condo group/club/whatever it is, and they allowed us to use their week for our stay, which cost us about what it would have if we stayed at a value Disney resort with a standard, no frills, two-bed room. We were so happy to have the extra space and my husband and I were grateful for the added privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chandlergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 972 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2010

When reading the description on their website I was excited to visit this hotel. We were renting a one bedroom because it was just my husband and I and we didn't need much room. We were told to enjoy our enclosed balcony with their many swimming pools and to enjoy their lake. When arriving to our room we noticed we didn't have a balcony. So we called and they said one bedrooms do not have balconies (would have been nice to know). Also, there were only 2 swimming pools for 8 buildings of people, each building being 5 floors high. We were never able to get into the pool because the pools were crowded.
We went to swim in the lake but then saw a sign saying we are not allowed in the lake.

They are everything they say but in a very deceiving way. Yes they have balconies but they left out that the 1 bedrooms did not have them. Yes they have pools but 2 for many people staying there. Also, you cannot enjoy the lake. Swimming is not allowed. And to rent a boat or jet ski is not affordable.

Our favorite part of the stay was them denying us towels because we did not get half way through our stay. When the maid came she brought us 2. TWO TOWELS for 4 more days.

We do not recommended staying here because it was miserable and we slept on the pull out couch because it was more comfortable than the bed. Yes, it is located close to the parks but i am sure there are better places to stay! avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unknown60974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Had a 3 bedroom, 3 bath apartment for a week while on a vacation/family function in Orlando which was obtained through a trade via RCI. We had six adults, two six year olds and a one year old and the property had enough activities to satisfy all. There are tennis courts, shuffleboard, boating and activities abound. Besides the Disney complex, the attraction at any Orlando hotel in July will be the pool area and this property had two pools to accomodate their guests--no need to "save" lounge chairs or shade umbrellas which is a significant plus. The concierge desk was always manned by at least two and we found them very helpful with restaurant suggestions, shortcuts around traffic and the like.
The staff was very helpful and any problems were immediately taken care of--our ice maker in the refrigerator didn't work and the maintenance staff took care of it promptly.
The fitness center is sparse--four machines and always full in the morning. Could be much better.
It is not a glamerous resort but very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texascouple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Having read other reviews I cannot believe that holiday experiences can differ so much. We have just returned from a months holiday in Orlando, 3 weeks of which were at Grand Beach. the 3 Br condo we had was excellent, plenty of room for 7 adults, furnishings and fittings were very good, plenty of linens and towels and great Pool towels.Housekeeping was twice weekly with fresh linen and towels each time. Nothing was too much trouble, one call only about the DVD was sorted within one hour. Pool was lovely especially with the weather so hot, activities around the pool were varied,making your own ice cream sundaes was great, only one complaint the live DJ music one day was too loud, but that was hardly a holiday horror!! Having always stayed at Orange Lake previously, we have now changed our allegiance and would definitely return back to Grand Beach. Great location for all theme parks and shopping at Premium outlets.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn3198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights & 4 days in a 3 bedroom condo. Had been here 3+ years ago when it was owned by Embassy Suites. 3 bedroom layout is spacious but this trip had a very poor stay & problems with the poor response from maintenance staff & front desk.

Had Major problem with Refrigerator in room when checked in 6/27/10, Upon check in , fridge was not working & warm, Called front desk & maintenance staff responded & tried some quick fix & stated it should work & they would be back to check on it. No one returned or called. Called back front desk at 9 pm & they said someone would be right over . 10:30 pm & still no one showed up. Went down to front desk & complained to staff. Poor service from maintenance & front desk staff, end result was 8+ hrs of a non working fridge & @$75 of lost food, maintenance finally wheeled in a new fridge at 11 pm. Major hassle with getting someone to respond with service call. Maintenance staff at 11 pm were working moving old fridge out & new fridge in with 2 young kids still awake due to noise.


Also during stay, toilet plugged & 3BDRM condo had no plunger, poor service from maint & front desk as it took @ 1 hr to get someone to respond. Called front desk several times & had to hunt someone down to finally get the plunger.

Also 2 of the Tubs spewed out black mold when my young son attempted to take a bath. When Maid came during the stay she left all the mold in the one Jacuzzi tub & did not clean it up.

Porch screens had several holes & problems with wasps getting in porch area

Overall very poor service from maintenance staff & responsiveness & caring from front desk regarding the above problems were poor.

Very poor overall impression of this resort & quality of upkeep seems to have taken a major downturn since it was a Embassy resort when I stayed last time. Would not recommend this resort to anyone & unknown if the rest of the diamond resorts chain is maintained the same way & has the same level of service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJ-TRAVELS-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I traded one of my timeshare weeks for the Grand Beach I in Lake Buena Vista near Disney. I reserved it a year ahead of time to spend the week after our cruise there. It was a great option for space and location.

Setting
The buildings are white with red roofs. It's not very visible from the road but most of the property has some view of a large lake called Lake Bryan. The landscaping is typical Florida landscaping, and the there is a gazebo/dock to fish or just hang around.

There are two pools, though it appears the oasis pool is rarely used. The pool situation outside of the lobby area is the one open morning through evening. There are activities scheduled throughout the day though I don't know why. Most people seemed to use the units as a launching spot to the Orlando attractions.

There is a small store off of the registration desk which can offer you milk/bread/eggs but not anywhere you'd want to do a full shop.

Parking looks difficult but it was nice to have parking under the building because it meant your car did not sit outside in the sun all day. There were never many spots open.

There are elevators on the outside of the building to get up to the floors. I think there are 6 units on each floor. You needed your key to access the door to get into the floor of your building. Your key would not work to get into your building on another floor.

Location
The location is excellent, it's between the Crossroads and the Lake Buena Vista outlet on 535. To get to Disney or anywhere, you can completely avoid 192. Going to the parks only requires a turn down World Drive and follow the signs. The entrance to I4 is just down the street, should you desire to visit any of the other Orlando parks.

Units
Most of the units are three bedrooms. I did read they have one bedroom units but I'm not sure where those are located. Each three bedroom unit has two identical master bedrooms with shower stall, whirlpool tub and sink within the bedroom. There is also a bedroom with two twin beds with a bathroom across the hall from it. The kitchen/dining/living room is very large and has seating for five people in the living area, and six people at the large dining table. There is also a screen porch off the living room with french doors, giving the space lots of light. It was really too hot to enjoy the porch much but it was pretty. There were five ceiling fans in the units, one in each bedroom, one in the living area and one on the porch.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobinMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Grand beach is in a great position...close to International Drive, outlet malls and restaurants. We loved this un manicured lake side resort. The hanging Spanish moss and natural reeds and grass by the lake were far more attractive than the concreted walk ways in more ritzy resorts. Good size apartments....we stayed in a 3 bed.....with lovely bedrooms with new linens ,duvets and perfect bathrooms.
We were fortunate to request and receive a top floor unit as, there is no doubt there is a big problem with noise from heavy wooden furniture on tile floors. Whilst we were there, huge lorries arrived every day and unloaded flat screen TVs (great!) but yet more heavy dark wooden furniture.
What is this preoccupation with dark oppressive furnishings in the sunshine state??
The pool chairs are luxurious and plentiful but please cut out the canned 'musak' from the speakers.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Blue Heron Beach Resort
#80 of 342 in Orlando
2,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,314 reviews
1.1 mi away
WorldQuest Orlando Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#18 of 342 in Orlando
8,427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Resorts Grand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Resorts Grand Beach

Address: 8317 Lake Bryan Beach Blvd, Orlando, FL 32821-6312 (Formerly A Sunterra Premier Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Orlando
#130 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $126 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Resorts Grand Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diamond Resorts Grand Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach Hotel Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Diamond Hotel Orlando
Grand Beach Orlando
Grand Beach Resort Orlando
Embassy Grand Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing