We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warning! Timeshare alert!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
Ranked #41 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warning! Timeshare alert!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After our original planned hotel turned out to be a musty, damp mess due to the heavy rains in Orlando, we ended up here. Upon arriving, we were bombarded with a timeshare sales attack. They "guaranteed" it would be 90 minutes with no pressure and that we would enjoy it. With it raining so bad, we agreed to it for the next day.

When we arrived at the suite, we found it nice and spacious. This was followed by getting soaked by a defective kitchen tap. Trying to use the in-room washer resulted in water leaking everywhere and the hallway and kitchen floor wet. Our first nights sleep was interrupted by not only the horrible pillows, but by kids stomping across the tile floors above us at 7am. This was followed by kids running and shrieking down the hallway for over an hour starting at 7:30am. Between the walls being paper thin and the floors being tile, it is a very loud place to stay. The smell throughout the building from the cleaning products was terrible. Even the balcony is useless, unless you like being surrounded in second hand smoke coming from all sides. Parking is an issue as well. Maintenance seems to be for cosmetics and not for function. Remember, this is a timeshare property, not a hotel. There is no daily housekeeping service.

Now, for the timeshare pitch, which is relevant to this review as this is a Diamond Resort and was pushed on us as part of our stay. This was the part that ruined our vacation worse than the rain and defective room. We mentioned at the beginning that because of our current experience with their resort there was no way we would buy, but that didn't stop the assault. The 90 minutes of no pressure turned into almost 3 hours of high pressure sales and twisting our words by Margie, the sales rep. Somehow what we estimated we might spend on future vacations became what we were committed to spend. They were offended that we did not want to "own our vacation" by committing to one company and financing $50,000 now and paying an additional $1400 (subject to increase) in fees per year for the rest of our lives. Finally back at the front desk, the "guarantee" amounted to a "sorry" and "they know they shouldn't do that". Gee, that makes me feel much better for missing my only opportunity to go to Universal.

My best guess is that all the good reviews of this place are from timeshare owners bumping up the ratings so they can rent their suites out. I know we"ll never be back at any price to this or any other Diamond property.

Room Tip: Best tip is to stay somewhere else. Anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank R_K_J_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We’re sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your recent stay at the Grand Beach Resort. We really do want all our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable vacation, and our front desk team would have been happy to look for an alternative apartment for you if you had brought your concerns about your accommodation to their attention.

As you’re aware, this is primarily a vacation ownership property and as such we’re unfortunately not able to offer a daily housekeeping service as standard, although this can be requested for a nominal fee.

While many of our guests appreciate the opportunity to learn more about vacation ownership, you aren’t obligated to attend any sales presentations if you don’t want to, unless you are staying on a promotional break, and you are entirely welcome to leave the presentation once the agreed duration has passed. We don’t believe that we there’s a need for high-pressure sales tactics at our resorts, and we’d like to apologise for what appears to have been a very frustrating experience for you.

We regret that you didn't have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, and we really hope you’ll decide to give Grand Beach another chance. We feel sure that if you do return here, your experience will more than exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    280
    75
    43
    19
See reviews for
587
106
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for my wedding. My entire family and friends were coming down from PA. I was having the wedding across the lake. So many things went wrong with the reservation staff, that I don't even know where to begin.
1. She gave me the wrong number to put on our wedding invitations. By the time I figured it out it was too late and we couldn't change the number. Any bride will know that this is a HUGE stress! it was very very frustrating.
2. She never ever returned phone calls, not even mine. I would have to call 4 to 5 times before I reached her.
3. When my family or friends would call the main number, because the number we were given wasn't working, they were put on hold for over 30 minuites. You also had the option of hanging up and them calling you back as soon as they were available. Don't do that either they won't call you back.
4. The lady we were dealing with eventually gave me her personal number to give out. Which was just an added stress to send out and email everyone.
5. When my mother called a week before she arrived to call and confirm her reservation, it was all messed up. At first the stated they couldn't find her reservattion, but when They did they had her in the wrong building, number of rooms, and even date. thank goodness she called. I would suggest doing that before you arrive.
6. Once i arrived to check in they tell you that have to take $150.00 more just for security reasons. They do not tell you this until you check in so heads up!!
7. When my mother arrived to florida around 10 am, she could not get into a room till 6 pm that night. The reason, well that would always give us the wrap around....They are cleaning it now for you, it isn't ready, we didn't have a room for you. this happened to about 50% of my guest, they had to wait.

Once all checked in, I have to say the resort and the rooms are very nice and updated. We were very happy about that. However, if i knew any of that stress was going to be added on top of wedding planning i would never have gone with this resort. I

Room Tip: continue to call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rebrose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your stay here at Grand Beach Resort. It was with great regret and concern to hear that our team member provided an incorrect phone number. We will definitely address this issue with the team member that handled your reservations. Please be aware that a prepaid deposit to cover potential damage(s) or theft(s) from a unit is required for all guests regardless of how the unit was paid for or reserved. These types of deposits are very commonplace in the resort industry and are used as a deterrent for guests to cause damage or theft to their unit(s). This information is provided to all guests prior to booking. By limiting these types of costs to the resort, we pass on the savings to our guests. We are truly sorry if you feel you were not given proper notice that this is a required deposit. Standard check in time for arriving guests is approximately 4pm, while check out time is 10:00am. The time between is needed so that our housekeeping staff can properly clean and each and every unit needed for arrival at 4pm. We are truly sorry that your mother’s room was not ready until 6pm. This will be addressed internally with our housekeeping staff. We were glad to hear that our rooms and common grounds met, if not exceeded your expectations. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I purchased a Groupon deal for a three night stay at the Grand Beach Resort. At $100/night, I wasn't expecting much, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The condo was perfect!! The bedrooms were all nicely furnished, the bathrooms were spacious and the kitchen had everything we needed. The screened in porch was an added bonus. But the beach area and the pools were, by far, the favorite hang out for the kids. We spent hours relaxing in the hammocks on the beach, swimming in the pool, playing at the playground, and cooking dinner on the grills on the beach. My kids also loved all the activities (treasure hunts, face painting, scuba in the pool) and the boat rentals and fishing would have been great, but we didn't have the time. Location was great, too, only a few minutes from Disney!! We would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Grand Beach Resort. We were absolutely thrilled to read that our accommodations, activities, amenities, and location exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation of our resort is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a great stay here during April break with our family of four. The unit was extremely spacious and nicely updated with 3 beds and and 3 baths. We got a wonderful unit overlooking the pool and the lake, but the drawback was that we had to wait to 4pm for check-in to get it. We loved everything about it except for a few plumbing issues. The grounds are pretty and the pool area is nice. Our kids really enjoyed the great family activities the resort offered when we came back from the parks each day.

The pool was nice, and never overcrowded, but the temperature was never consistent. When we first arrived, the pool was warm. As the week went on, it felt colder and colder...even though the weather stayed the same. This was odd.

Overall, I would recommend this resort to families. It was a very short ride to the parks, restaurants and stores. Wish we could have stayed for another week!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool or lake....it is worth the longer wait at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to bring your family here to Grand Beach Resort for your vacation. We were very thrilled to read that our accommodations, activities, and amenities met, if not exceeded your expectations. Standard check in time for arriving guests is approximately 4pm, while check out time is 10:00am. The time in between is needed so that our housekeeping staff can properly clean each and every unit needed for arrival by 4pm. This information should have been provided to you during the reservation process. We are truly sorry if you were not made aware of this prior to your arrival. In regard to the pool temperature, this should have stayed consistent, if the weather did not change. We will bring this to our maintenance department’s attention to ensure the consistency of the pool temperature going forward. Your review and recommendation is sincerely appreciated, and we hope to see you and your family again the next time you decide to visit the Orlando area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a one night stay at the Diamond Resorts Grand Beach via hotwire and got a great rate. The biggest surprise was it was just guaranteed to be a 2 person room, and instead we got a 3 bedroom condo with a lake and pool view. Very nice, though we had little need of that much space! The condo was in great shape, my only complaint would be that it felt a bit bare bones in the decor. The master suite was amazing, the jet tub was a highlight. The beds were just so/so, not overly comfy. We stayed here for the proximity to Disney World, and it certainly has that. The oddest part about the stay is that the resort is clearly timeshare focused. This is fine if you are staying there for that reason, but as someone booking from a normal hotel site it was a bit odd feeling. Overall we had a very nice and very short stay. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OUChamps29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on your recent stay - we are really glad to read that you found our accommodation spacious and comfortable. We are grateful for your comments regarding the decor - we will look into this! We are happy to know that you intend to be coming back to pay us another visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this for a local wedding. Pro's: The rooms were clean, spacious, and well equipped. They have a busy pool and a quiet pool, which is nice.They are well maintained. Although it is on a lake, the lake is not available for swimming. Plenty of daily activities for kids and adults. The pool is open until 11 pm and well lit. The property is close to everything.
Cons: Check in is not until 4pm and they mean it. It was even later for one of our rooms; however they want you out by 10 am, period. That makes it expensive for an 18 hr room rental. Parking is tight. Traffic can get very heavy on the main road and it is very difficult to take a left out of the parking lot.
Maid service with linen refresh is only available with the daily rate, once during a one week visit. You can upgrade. There is no restaurant on site but they do have a room service menu. We did not use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, if available. The view out the other side is not pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinahShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used Hotwire for this resort and were generally very pleased with it. It's in fantastic proximity to Disney, has pretty grounds and offers a good number of activities. The soaker tub was divine, and the bed was comfortable. What we weren't thrilled with were the timeshare aspects of the complex (and which weren't clear when booking it): no daily maid service, frequent calls from the welcome desk encouraging us to pay them a visit, and the creepy-looking CEO infomercial on the television whenever we turned it on. Would we stay there again? Yes, certainly...it just helps to be aware of these negatives. It's still much better than any of the hotels on 192.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sankoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Your comfort and satisfaction is very important to us and we are really glad to read that you enjoyed your vacations spent with us. We regret if contact attempts made by our sales team have caused you any inconvenience, however we are pleased this did not mar your stay and that you might consider us for your future bookings. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Blue Heron Beach Resort
#78 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Tuscany Village
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Orlando/International Drive South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,814 reviews
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Resorts Grand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Resorts Grand Beach

Property: Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
Address: 8317 Lake Bryan Beach Blvd, Orlando, FL 32821-6312 (Formerly A Sunterra Premier Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Orlando
#130 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Resorts Grand Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Diamond Resorts Grand Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach Hotel Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Diamond Hotel Orlando
Grand Beach Orlando
Grand Beach Resort Orlando
Embassy Grand Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing