We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth coming back to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center
Ranked #183 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Newark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth coming back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at three different hotels in the Orlando area during our December stay (the others being a Holiday Inn and a Hampton Inn), and this was the best!

The hotel has a beautiful atrium in the middle, where you can just relax anytime. It is also the breakfast sitting area and gets busy in the morning. Breakfast itself is very nice, with the cooked to order omelets or fried eggs, but definitely go early.

Manager's reception is a great service to come back to after a day in the park. Chips and dips and pita bread were served with the free drinks. You can have more than one drink, unlike other Embassy's that I've been to where you're given only 1 voucher.

The suites are spacious, clean, with 2 LCDs and 3 sinks, fridge and microwave. There's an extra sofabed in the living room in addition to double beds in the bedroom. So, 4-6 member families should still be comfortable.

One quirky thing about the suites, and it seemed to apply to all the rooms, is that there are glass panels on each side of the front door, and the curtains do not cover or overlap with the door in the middle, so you can see through every room in between the curtains and the door. So, a little privacy issue there. Unless you pull both curtains over the door and clamp them with some kind of clip.

There's one washer and one dryer on alternate floors that are coin-operated. You have to get quarters at the front desk. $2 per load.

Having both outdoor and indoor pools is really nice, especially for winter months. The jacuzzi outside was also heated.

Free scheduled shuttle to the parks, and free outdoor parking.

One major gripe is that the WIFI was not free, but this is somewhat compensated for since the business center offers 4 free PCs with internet and printers.

Though we didn't use it, it's nice to have the attached restaurant. There are many dining options at walking distance.

All in all, this hotel will become a favorite in our book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    494
    273
    187
    115
See reviews for
735
329
43
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for 2 days, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Our family of four had a great stay. I read reviews prior to booking and got a good sense of what to expect. Great location and is in the midst of everything. So much to do. Great staff, helpful. Great breakfast and manager's reception, although snacks were a little weak on Christmas Eve. We would have enjoyed some good music during the manager's reception. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewel4926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks (Nov-12 / Dec-12) as a group of 6 staying in two suites. This was our 5th stay here in the last 6 years, and for the rest of our party this was their 17th consecutive year at the hotel.

All the staff were great (Food & Beverage, Breakfast, Housekeeping etc). Special mention to Charlene and Lennox at the Bar at night – always remembered our drinks orders, were very friendly and Charlene especially remembers us from our previous visits and was so nice and friendly to us all.

The Hotel is ideally located with I-Ride stop outside, and within walking distance there are plenty of restaurants and takeaways (TGI, Olive garden, Tony Roma, Miller Ale House, Ming Court, Pizza Hut, Dominos, Subway etc) , Pointe Orlando (shops and restaurant, cinema), Adventure Golf, Walgreens etc.

Hotel facilities include both Indoor and Outdoor Pools, both of which where clean with fresh towels everyday, plenty of tables chairs and loungers, small gym area, business area with computers and printers, shop, vending machines, coin laundry area. There’s also a Budget Car rental desk at the hotel.

One of the great selling points of this hotel is the cooked breakfast and 2 hour nightly free drinks. The breakfast includes sausages, bacon, eggs, omelettes, pancakes, potatoes, various cereal, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurts, muffins, pastries, toast, biscuits, bagels, tea, coffee, various juices etc. In the evening from 5.30pm to 7.30pm there are free drinks at the bar and crisps, popcorn, pretzels and dips, which is a great way to unwind after a day in the theme parks.

Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking International Drive and had 2 double beds and a sofa bed in the lounge area. The room was very clean and had plenty of room. In the bedroom were two double beds, a large wardrobe and large chest of drawers with a flat screen HD TV and vanity washbasin and large mirror. The bathroom included a bath and over shower, washbasin, toilet and large mirror. The wet bar included a microwave, sink, large fridge, coffee / tea maker. There was also a table with four chairs, large sofa bed and chair, two small side tables, TV Unit and a second flatscreen HD TV. Room also included iron, board, and hairdryer.

I guess the only thing missing from the room was a safe, however there were free safe deposit boxes available at reception.

We had a fantastic stay and are looking forward to our next stay at the hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front or pool side of the hotel are the best. At the back of the hotel (facing I4 can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

hi.
i reviewed this hotel after our stay in 2011. i couldnt have praised it any higher. so we decided to stay again in december 2012. the hotel hasnt changed. its still a really good hotel. so much so, we have already reservations for 2013.
1 thing really stands out as being quite unusual. it was 14 months since our last visit. so how many people would pass through this hotel in that length of time? A LOT. but still we had numerous members of staff greeting us with enthusiastic ' Hi , welcome back, its good to see you again ' .
as i said in last years review. the staff arent being friendly because its their job. they are just friendly. the fact that so many staff are there year after year is a good sign.
its also nice to walk in on your arrival and notice so many people, especially when they also recognise you.
so yet again, i cant fault this hotel, not just the staff but the whole hotel. looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: we have been on floor 8 both times and really like it. you get a balcony. stayed on both sides and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveorlando07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel seems a bit dated. The rooms are okay, but the bathroom doors do not have locks. The blankets we used had holes in them. One of four elevators broken on Christmas and caused some major delays. The breakfast was okay, nothing too fancy. The atmosphere of the hotel is laid back and not too much traffic in the atrium. Perhaps that is because everyone is there for the theme parks. They are no safes in the rooms, which is very common today. Parking in and out is very easy and the kids enjoyed the indoor pool. I did expect a bigger Embassy Suite with more going on. The staff was very good and were always nice and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Friedrich, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We truly apologize for the elevator challenges during visit and we're sorry that it was not rectified in a much quicker manner. Our housekeeping staff replaces items that do not meet our quality standards and we appreciate you notifying us about the holes in your blankets. Thanks again for sharing your comments. We hope you will come back and see our friendly staff again. They're anxious to show you our improvements.

Kind regards,

Bill Friedrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I thought these were nice rooms, 2 sinks with mirriors and an extra sink for the kitchen area. There was a separate living room/kitchen area for families that wanted to close a door for the bedroom. Nice breakfast for mornings with well prepared and trained kitchen staff making made to order omelettes/fried eggs etc... Nice charming entry area and main lobby of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PATSKB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Friedrich, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! All of us here at the Embassy Suites Orlando – International Drive South were excited to read such a great review and we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope that when your travels bring you to Orlando again, we'll have the chance to welcome you back.

Bill Friedrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating with our last minute need for a room. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. No complaints at all. We did not have a chance to hit the breakfast. I felt bad for the valet, as some guest failed to read the clearance notice for the pull thru, lots of damage. Hopefully they were able to get that fixed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FSMinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Friedrich, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! All of us here at the Embassy Suites Orlando – International Drive South were excited to hear that you enjoyed your "last minute" visit with us. We did indeed get our porte cochere repaired and the hotel looks much more welcoming than it did during your visit. We hope that when your travels bring you to Orlando again, we'll have the chance to welcome you back.

Bill Friedrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center
Address: 8978 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-9321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe, all suite hotel located in the convenient, exciting International Drive area, surrounded by a variety of dining, entertainment and shopping venues. Accommodations are spacious one-bedroom suites with microwave, refrigerator & coffee maker. All guests enjoy a Complimentary Breakfast and free evening beverages daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Orlando Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing