We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
SUNSOL International Drive
Ranked #173 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Every time my husband and I go to Orlando, we always plan a fairly cheap trip to this destination, because we usually spend more travel elsewhere.

I chose this hotel, because what caught my eyes were reviews that said "new beds, new sheets, new everything", three were some horrible reviews, but which places don't have bad reviews, so I thought I take a chance on this place because it was a newly built hotel.

Pros:

1. hotel, rooms, beds, sheets, furniture were indeed new. one side of the hotel is renovated, but the other side of the hotel is empty and still have plastics on the bed frames, and mattresses etc. The complex looked like a hotel you would find in Cuba, the complex tiles, the staff (all speak spanish), even most of the hotel guests were spanish speakers.

2. beds were comfortable for me, but then everyone has different styles. To me, it wasn't too soft nor too hard, pillows could be a bit more fluffier, but it did the job.

3. Front desk staff were very helpful, not friendly, helpful. As in whenever you had a question, or a request, they would gladly help you, but if you look at them from coming back somewhere or stepping in the lobby, not even a single smile from them. Wish they could be just smile a bit more. I have to say that, if it wasn't for the staff, i would have given the hotel 2 stars.

After we checked in our room, we found the toilet did not flush very well, and the front desk happily assigned us to another room. They also allowed us to check out an hour later than the usual check out time of 11 a.m, but after that, we had to pay $30 more to stay until 3 p.m., as that counts another half of day.

4. The complex was very clean. Didn't use the pool, but the pool area was quite nice (not too big.

5. Breakfast offered toast, waffles, pancakes, sausages/bacon, scrambled eggs, cereal, muffins, fruits, milk, tea, juices, coffee...very simple, so don't expect anything extravagant, but it did the job, and filled our tummies lightly in the morning before we went off to the parks.

6. Shuttle bus came right on time every morning at 9 a.m. to pick guest up to the parks.

7. Wifi in the rooms. We uses wifi every night, and it was working perfectly fine. At times, it goes off and on, but overall, it was great!

8. air con worked great!

Cons:

1. some toilets were not very strong.

2. Cleaning lady had no particular schedule, sometimes they clean your room in the morning, and one time they didn't' come until 4 p.m. which we were already back in the room taking a nap, and had to turn her away, so our room didn't get cleaned.

3. As mentioned earlier, the staff don't smile a lot, but they are very helpful.

4. shuttle bus drivers are not the nicest people. The worse part is the pick up time from the parks are at 8:30, when the park closes at 7 p.m. I asked the driver if they could come earlier, and that it doesn't make any sense to pick us up one hour and a half after the park closes, and he just said "not my rule, i was told these times, so i have to do whatever the office tells me..."...just didn't think it made any sense...especially...

5. we had to pay $5 extra per day at the hotel when you check in, they said it was for the service you get that helps pay for the breakfast and shuttle buses. $5 is not that much, but it is kind of deceiving when it is asked when you arrive at the hotel, and not advertising it when we were booking the hotel. It was a bit misleading...and dishonest from hotel management.

6. Absolutely nothing to do at the hotel. Pool bar closes super early, like 7 or 8 p.m, and no one is ever there, because hardly anyone was staying at this hotel.

7. The hotel use to be a run down motel, that's why it was renamed, tear down, and re-renovated to a new hotel. The looks of the place is like a motel, so the bad thing is the windows faced where your door is, and only one curtain is there, therefore, we could never open the curtains in the morning or any time of the day, because everyone can just see everything in the room, that's one thing we hated.

I think that sums about everything. All in all, it is an extremely basic hotel. If you are not looking for anything more than just a place to sleep at, and you're on a budget, i recommend this place. Like i said, it is very clean, and the staff are helpful, so you won't go wrong with it. But if you are looking for something more than that, then I would def not stay there.

As much as we were ok with the place, we probably would not stay there again as it was way too boring for our taste.

Hope this review is helpful, and hope whoever owns this place could think of more things to add, cause the location was very convenient, 1 minute walk to I-Drive, 10 minute ride to one of the premium outlet, and only 5 minute bus ride to Universal Studios.

Upgrade the look from the outside, add another light coloured curtain in the rooms might just help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank noboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your comment. We are sorry to hear about your problem. Here at SUNSOL we greatly value our clients´ opinion and will take the necessary actions to correct this issue. Hope you visit us again soon so we can provide you with the best SUNSOL service.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had booked this hotel a month in advance, had called and emailed to confirm they had received our reservation and according to them they had. We arrived late on the 25th for a 2 night stay after 21 hours of straight driving, completely exhausted only to find out they did not have our reservation nor did they have any other rooms available. They said there was nothing they could do. We contacted Booking.com, whom we booked this hotel through and they said that SunSol had accepted our reservation right after we booked it. Booking was calling around to the other Orlando hotels for another room very last minute and no where had any availabilities on a Friday night in the Disney/Universal area. Finally they were able to find us another room, the Sun Style hotel. HORRIBLE hotel. We were scared for our lives every second we were there. Not to mention it was infested with roaches. Anyway, SunSol did nothing to help us nor did they seem in the least bit upset that they no longer had our reservations and basically put us out on the streets after 21 hours of driving. Before we left, we talked with the receptionist and made SURE that this hotel stay was not going to show up on my bank statement. He assured us it wouldn't. 3 days later I check my bank statement and guess what...not only did they charge us over the price listed for the rooms, they charged us a no show fee. After all that. We have been in contact with booking and they are trying to resolve the issue but I have not heard anything. Booking.com told us that what SunSol most likely did was overbook the hotel or thought we weren't showing up and gave our room to someone before us.

Rude staff and unhelpful. And then to charge us more than the original price and a no show fee. Very unprofessional and saddening.

It's up to you if you choose to stay here, but you have been warned!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindsayftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your comment. We are sorry to hear about your problem. Here at SUNSOL we greatly value our clients´ opinion and will take the necessary actions to correct this issue. Hope you visit us again soon so we can provide you with the best SUNSOL service.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 days. Property is nice, they have two buildings one is occupied and the other is still under renovation. Check in was prompt and courteous. Our room was on the 4th fl, it was nice that they have elevators on both ends of the building. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom door not closing without lifting up the toilet lid was just a small inconvenience, I was more annoyed by them not having a hook on the back of the bathroom door, but that's just me. Was glad they had Wifi and 2 computers in lobby, downside I needed to print out my boarding pass but was told there was no printer. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, cereals, fresh fruit, apples & pears and juice. The pool looked refreshing & inviting. The hotel is conveniently located to the attractions and I-4. Our stay was enjoyable and I would stay here again. I recommend you check it out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on our International Drive hotel. Here at SUNSOL we highly value our clients´ opinions and constantly strive to provide you with better service. We hope to have you again soon!

Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed one night here because the hotel had rave reviews and was cheap (about 85 USD per night incl. taxes). We found the staff very busy with internal discussions, the checkin was correct but not friendly or very welcoming. A major construction was taking place in one of the two hotel buildings and made the area around this building - which you have to pass by to get to your room - somewhat like a construcion site with containers, building materials and debris etc. outside the buildings.
The room: No sink to wash hands in the bathroom. The door to the bathroom did not fit to the frame and could therefore not be shut. The adjacent washbasin-combined-coffeemaker/ironing board/closet room was completely open to the bedroom.
The clothes chest was full of lint and hair and was disgusting (the reception staff did not take it kindly when informed of this - what?!?!).
The entrance door to the room was un-insulated, and had a ½ cm gap between the door and frame so you could actually see outside (or from the outside into the room!).
The in-room TV was horrible: no contrast, fuzzy images, poor reception, a dirty and sticky non-responsive remote control.
The breakfast (included in the price) was not worth getting: small soft plastic knives, spoons and forks that would bend and were completely useless, disposable tableware of the cheapest kind, bland and cheapes breakfast foods you could possibly round up if you really gave it a try.
The way the staff and certain guests behaved/interacted we actually joked that this hotel was a "vato loco" mobster hideout straight out of a Soprano typeTV series!

Room Tip: Dont stay here unless you are completely desperate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your comment. We are sorry to hear about your problem. Here at SUNSOL we greatly value our clients´ opinion and will take the necessary actions to correct this issue. Hope you visit us again soon so we can provide you with the best SUNSOL service.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay was pretty good. We checked in after a long 4 hour drive, were upgraded to a beautiful clean and crisp king suite, and customer service was professional and with a smile. A few things to consider: don't get an adjoining room... There are gaps underneath the doors and our neighbor partook in some marijuana smoking that stunk up our room in the middle of the first night. (We are anti drug)... Try if available to request a room by the pool, the side we were on was by the road, and in between heavy traffic, we heard people running the upstairs outside hallways until all hours if the night. Other than these two things... Our night sleep was comfortable. The beds are soft and very clean... The flat screen TVs are a wonderful modern touch. Tiny bathrooms, but spacious room, amazing amenities for the price. Great lobby and pool area. Hot breakfast in the morning, although a rat race as the hotel is accommodating several patrons from 7 to 10, many people were cutting us in line and stealing our seats, so we ended up going to the Denny's next door. The location if this hotel is fantastic! We did everything we planned within a 10 minute radius from the grounds. The staff was more than hospitable, provided us with everything we needed, wanted, and more!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expertstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on our International Drive hotel. Here at SUNSOL we highly value our clients´ opinions and constantly strive to provide you with better service. We hope to have you again soon!

Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sunsol International Drive on the 25th to go to Halloween Horror Night. I really like this hotel, we did come in at the time of them doing some renovating but regardless they still offered great clean rooms. It's brand new so everything is fresh and clean. We were kind of the first to stay lol the pool was great. The hotel in general we good. Its in the middle of everything, so you have the outlets like right across the street and all the theme parks are like around the corner; Wet'n Wild, Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, all very close in the area. Its a nice for all people and purposes. Business, couples,family, and solo dolo. A NICE STAY!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on our International Drive hotel. Here at SUNSOL we highly value our clients´ opinions and constantly strive to provide you with better service. We hope to have you again soon!

Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the SunSol and had a great time. The accommodation is brand new, the rooms are clean and fresh, the location is great and we got a good deal on the price. It appeared only one of the blocks was open though so still some building works going on. This was minimal and out of hours and we were out at parks for most of the day so it didn't really affect us. As we were leaving the new reception had opened, which looks great and the next block doesn't look too far off completion. The pool, decking and play areas have all been finished and look very attractive.

- Great location. 2 minute walk from Wet N Wild and about 15-20 min walk from Universal. Sunsol also run a free shuttle bus to Disney and Universal but this is only once a day and the pick-up/drop of time might not suit. The parks charge $15 to park the car so it was good to sometimes use the bus. We tended to drive to the Disney parks, but catch the shuttle to Universal and walk back. Lots of places to eat on International Drive.

- Breakfast ... included, which we were surprised at for the price. Hot stuff is limited to scrambled egg and bacon/sausage but there is a good range of cereal, fruit, pastries, coffee and juice. A downside is they don't appear to have a dishwasher. Everything is disposable, polystyrene cups, plastic plates and cutlery (each individually wrapped in cellophane) so it creates an awful lot of waste. Hopefully this is a temporary thing whilst resort is still in teething stage.

- Friendly Staff. Always happy and smiling, they couldn't have been more helpful.

- Beds. I don't know what make they were but we want one. Very comfy.

Now for the niggles - and there was nothing major but just a couple of little things that got under the skin.
- Toilet seat. Has to be up to get in and out of the toilet otherwise you can't get the door past the seat.
- Electrical socket. Only one in the room and it's right over the sink.
- Resort tax. Apparently a common thing in Orlando but we were hit for another $70 when we arrived so you might want to check this.
- Car park. Whilst there is plenty of free car parking, we came back one night to find the entire thing shut off as they were re-surfacing it. No warning given that this was happening.
- Lift. The lift was noisy. Maybe go for a pool view away from the lift (we were RIGHT next to it however).
- Ongoing builders works. As mentioned before, hopefully this won't be going on too much longer as the disruption was minimal but there were a few builders vans about and skips full of rubbish and piles of waste material around the car park area.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalcrommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on our International Drive hotel. Here at SUNSOL we highly value our clients´ opinions and constantly strive to provide you with better service. We hope to have you again soon!

Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#106 of 341 in Orlando
3,036 reviews
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Rosen Inn International
#119 of 341 in Orlando
6,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites
#172 of 341 in Orlando
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNSOL International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNSOL International Drive

Address: 5859 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819-8201 (Formerly Super 8 Orlando-International Drive)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#153 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $76 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SUNSOL International Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSOL International Drive is your ticket to all the Orlando fun. Located near the popular International Drive corridor, this hotel places you within 5 minutes of Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. Each morning we offer a delicious complimentary continental breakfast. The hotel also features free shuttles to Disney and Universal Studios, WI-FI in all rooms and common areas, a splash-park for kids, playground, heated pool and ticket-sale in reception 24 hours with bilingual service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Otel, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNSOL International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge International Drive
Travelodge Hotel Orlando
Travelodge Orlando
Orlando Travel Lodge
Orlando Travelodge
Travel Lodge Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing