We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place to stay and play golf at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge
Ranked #178 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place to stay and play golf at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I recently came back from a 5 night stay at what I consider one of the finest golf resort/hotels in the country. To say that I am biased in making this assessment is an understatement as I have been coming down to Bay Hill on a regular basis since 1970. This year I was joined by 13 other gentlemen including my two sons who to the man could not have been more pleased with the accommodations, the service, the golf course and the food. Even in spite of having to endure some unusually early rain delays for July, we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. Mr. Palmer should be extremely proud of this place and the staff that he has assembled. A truly first class destination. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    49
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
68
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights last weekend. I believe in stating all the positives first. So, I loved the old mountain lodge feel and the rooms/bathrooms were nicely done. There was also a lovely balcony. The first thing that we noticed initially walking into the room was how moist the air was. The towels wouldn't even dry after hanging in the bathroom for over 12 hours. In my experience in the past, that typically means there is mold growing. However, I did not see or smell any evidence of mold in this particular room. I typically feel comfortable with the room temperature being approximately 76-78 F. However, to get the room to a comfortable temperature, the thermostat had to be set on 65F and ran constantly without break. The other downsides to staying at this resort were the expensive amenities. The rates in the spa were twice that of the salon down the street. Also, I understand the level of prestige of the Bay Hill course merits a higher cost to play, but $150 plus the cart and caddie, is a bit excessive; especially in the summer time in Florida! In my opinion, the nightly rates could be worth it, if the amenities were more reasonably priced. Overall, our stay at the Arnold Palmer Bay Hill Lodge was just okay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneumann713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have stayed at Bay Hill a number of times the past.
Again we have found the lodge and spa to be excellent and the staff polite and helpful.
The golf course was in good condition,the only down side was some rain in the afternoon that said i had a great time and will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed for a night and checked in around 4. I was doing a day trip with my 2 kids aged 5 and 3 to Disney and got a good deal for this hotel 93$ per night which I was happy with. Room had 2 queen beds and was clean, had a balcony and free wifi. (no mini bar - BOO ). Beds were comfy but pillows too hard for me. Free coffee laid out in the morning at the end of the corridor which was a nice touch. Bathrooms clean and nice soaps etc. We hit the pool for a bit which which was lovely. 15 mins to Disney magic kingdom so very convenient for us. not the easiest hotel to find unless you use google maps or sat/nav.

Staff were very welcoming and happy on our arrival. look out for OMAR who really helped out with all the luggage etc - great guy.

All in all a great stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasOCON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The place is definitely for the "old" guard country club set. I was sure I was going to see to Thurston Howell, III and Eunice "Lovey" Howell walk through the door any second. Beds were lumpy but some how comfortable. The best part of a room at the lodge was the bathrooms which must have been redone recently as they were quite nice and updated, but who has old Samsung TV 26" flat screen but not a panel TV. Seems they are more worried about decorum than decor. No Keurig coffee pots in the room but a large urn in the lobby areas for free coffee in the morning, but you may get only one cup if not fast enough to get a refill. Rooms were clean that was a saving grace for the place, the front desk staff was very good and kudos to them for a nice job handling reservations, guests and politeness. The place is also very quiet as it is far from the hustle and bustle of Lake Buena Vista, International Dr. and the parks. If I was playing golf at Bay Hill it seems the only way to get on the course unless a member, but who wants to spend over $100 to $200 to paly golf when there are other choices in the area that I am sure play just as nice for much less price. Sorry to say no Arnie sighting on premises, I think he summers in California

Room Tip: If you are really going to stay here get room on second floor and from 207 and less in number on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thekegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a wonderful experience!

The entire Bay Hill experience is unforgettable! My wife and I throughly enjoyed our time. We were greeted like old time friends when we arrived, and treated as such until we've left. Rooms are quaint, quiet, and have a wonderful view if you're on the golf side. Don't expect a resort, expect and welcomed quiet release. This is a perfect place to stay, play golf, then hit up a park. Prices are very fair. Dining at the Lodge is a must! Dress codes are enforced, but I appreciate it! Makes the experience more special.

Wonderful historical touch, and lots of Palmer memorabilia around the course and clubhouse.

Cons: I wasn't a fan of was the attitudes of the gentleman in the pro shop. I understand I'm a twenty-something guest at a prestigious country club, but the arrogant, nonchalant demeanor towards my wife and I was very disappointing.

Also, the course was in pretty tough shape around the tee boxes... Very, very gnawed and dry. I expected a little more from a world famous course.

All in all, my wife and I will be back, probably more than once!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anutt344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Don't trust your GPS when trying to find. It will bring you a couple miles deeper into the country club community and the entry sign is blocked by plants so very easy to drive past. If you have no idea where you're going it will be difficult to find. On walking in front desk staff was lounging back with their feet up. Three drinks cost $100. Room is quaint AC runs but stays humid has a slight smell of old 1980s nostalgia.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank B'jamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.8 mi away
Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Las Palmeras by Hilton Grand Vacations
7.0 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Parc Soleil by Hilton Grand Vacations
7.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#33 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,478 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge

Property: Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge
Address: 9000 Bay Hill Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-4880
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#44 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#157 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge offers complimentary parking & no resort fee, complimentary internet connection/daily use fee (wired or wireless), complimentary local phone charges, complimentary newspaper, complimentary coffee/tea every morning, complimentary Access to the fitness Center. The Bay Hill experience will give you a sense of belonging to a Private Club which features: 280 acre property, 70 Deluxe Rooms, 9000sq ft of meeting space, spa, salon, fitness center, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, pool, tennis courts, golf academy, and enjoy 27 holes of golf only available where Arnold Palmer lives and plays. The Lodge is situated in a quiet, residential neighborhood, rich with history, yet close to all the excitement Orlando has to offer. Bay Hill is just 18 miles / 20 minutes from the Airport, 5 miles from Walt Disney World, 4 miles from Sea World and 3 miles from Universal Studios and the Convention Center. Mr. Palmer's Resort offers 70 Lodge rooms in comfortable surroundings that is more reminiscent of a bed and breakfast getaway than a large tourist resort. Guests, are granted full club privileges during their stay and are invited to enjoy all of the club’s luxury amenities throughout our 280 acre property. BEST KEPT SECRET IN ORLANDO! We are looking forward to hearing from you.Amenities On-Site:• 27 Holes of Championship Golf• 6 Lighted Tennis Courts• Exceptional Dining in Three Locations• Three Restaurants & Lounges• Full-Service Spa and Salon• Fitness Center• Junior Olympic-size Pool• Arnold Palmer Golf Academy• Marina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnold Palmer`s Bay Hill Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing