We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Golf Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge
Ranked #185 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Golf Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

One of our all-time favorite places to go for 4 to 5 days, get in a little R&R along with some great golf. The staff is incredible...they always go above and beyond the call of duty for us. Our favorite rooms are overlooking the golf course, since there is a nice covered patio to hang out and watch the sunset. While the rooms are not fancy, the updated baths are great, with plenty of towels and room for 2 people to maneuver around in. The dining is great, the Bay Window has a great variety for lunch, snacks or dinner. Breakfast in the dining room is well done. A nice pool area is an added bonus when the weather is nice, but really needs an outdoor hot tub. Then there is the golf! A magnificent course with plenty of challenges and our favorite caddy, Barry, makes it extra special. This also makes a great home base to explore Orlando as it's really convenient to all the attractions.

Room Tip: Overlooking the course are our favorite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    56
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
50
80
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really beautiful place to stay, so much history hanging on the walls. I don't know what happened with other guests but I found the front desk staff to be really helpful! They even showed me where the club locker room was where all the pros come for the tournament each year. Yes no coffee maker, no refrigerator/ microwave but who cares, you have everything right downstairs. As far as signs to direct you to the lodge....it's not that big of a place, drive past the pro shop and there it is...by the way, the whole idea is not to have tacky signs out front

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our trip was AMAZING! Service was impeccable from check-in, restaurant, members lounge, all the way to the salon and spa. If you go; I strongly recommend Christa in the salon and Aundre for a massage at the spa. Both are very professional accommodating. Both were the best I’ve ever had.Thanks! We will be back 

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a bad room. We had a view of the 9th green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The golf course is great, as it should be with Mr Palmer at the helm.
The Lodge is ok, not luxurious, but is comfortable, has a great breakfast and lunch menu.
Just what people coming to golf want.

I totally understand that this place is all about golf and the vast majority of the guests are men, but, if you advertise a spa, make it a spa not a couple of rooms where you can get a massage.

They need to provide a comfortable area, pre and post treatments, to wait and relax, rather than a wooden bench in the locker room next to a used towel hamper.

Also…
The service in the restaurant at breakfast and lunch was perfect.
However, one day, post round of golf at about 4pm, we sat at the bar waiting for service for about 5 minutes while 4 or 5 servers stood in the corner talking to each other.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkCappiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you're looking for ultra-modern rooms and surroundings this is not the place for you. If, however, you are looking for a place with PGA Tour calibre golf where you will feel welcome the moment you enter reception then you really need to stay and play at Bay Hill.

The service at Bay Hill is friendly and prompt, Bay Hill is a private club, but the staff make everyone feel like a member of the Club. The rooms are comfortable, not luxurious, but since you will be playing golf most of the time who needs a Four Seasons style room? The food from breakfast through dinner is also very good, as an added bonus, at the right time of year you will be sharing the breakfast buffet with current and former PGA and LPGA stars who call Bay Hill home. If you are really lucky you will run into the King (Mr. Palmer) himself, if you do you will see that Bay Hill reflects his standards of hospitality and manners (no hats indoors gentlemen please).

So next time you head to Orlando, treat yourself to a day or two and a few rounds of golf at the King's place

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor facing the course, you can literally roll out of bed onto the putting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

First, this is a lodge not a hotel which is tucked away in what appears to be another Florida planned golf community. Once you find the property you will not see any signs noting where to check in for the lodge, you have to guess. This is more about golf apparently. My wife and I drove around the parking lot and found this 5 minute spot which was close to something that could be the front desk / checking however not clearly marked. So we decided to walk down the path that said to lodge only to find this was the lodge itself not check-In for the lodge. Ok not off to a good start. We decided to walk through the corridors of this one lodge, in essence doubling back on where we had just come from. We reached some stairs and a exit sign and could see through the window a woman behind the desk. Ok this must be it and sure enough it was. So long story short, signs would be helpful and if you stay here you find the 5 minute parking spot check-in is behind you. More to come as this stay progresses.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jharold5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royschindele, Director of Sales at Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Completely understand your suggestion about more signage... and indeed this could perhaps help some..

Our mandate as to signage comes from the owner Mr. Palmer, who lives and works here since 1070... He does allow for basics in this area like at the main entrance, etc... but feels we are a small enough property with only one parking lot and a small footprint, that once you park (anywhere) and ask a person for your desired destination, you will be escorted there and be where you want to go in just a minute or two.

Mr. Palmer believes signage should be unobtrusive and sparse. This is not only true roadside, but also on the golf course. He advocates "old school" high touch service and signs are somewhat impersonal.


Your comments & point of view are very much appreciated...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Although we only stayed for one night with friends, we enjoyed the room which was quiet and comfortable, staff was very pleasant and helpful, golf facility and course was wonderful and we were pleasantly surprised on the food and bar menu. Although the room does not have coffee, they make up for it with an endless supply of coffee in the lobby area of our floor.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge

Property: Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge
Address: 9000 Bay Hill Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-4880
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#157 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge offers complimentary parking & no resort fee, complimentary internet connection/daily use fee (wired or wireless), complimentary local phone charges, complimentary newspaper, complimentary coffee/tea every morning, complimentary Access to the fitness Center. The Bay Hill experience will give you a sense of belonging to a Private Club which features: 280 acre property, 70 Deluxe Rooms, 9000sq ft of meeting space, spa, salon, fitness center, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, pool, tennis courts, golf academy, and enjoy 27 holes of golf only available where Arnold Palmer lives and plays. The Lodge is situated in a quiet, residential neighborhood, rich with history, yet close to all the excitement Orlando has to offer. Bay Hill is just 18 miles / 20 minutes from the Airport, 5 miles from Walt Disney World, 4 miles from Sea World and 3 miles from Universal Studios and the Convention Center. Mr. Palmer's Resort offers 70 Lodge rooms in comfortable surroundings that is more reminiscent of a bed and breakfast getaway than a large tourist resort. Guests, are granted full club privileges during their stay and are invited to enjoy all of the club’s luxury amenities throughout our 280 acre property. BEST KEPT SECRET IN ORLANDO! We are looking forward to hearing from you.Amenities On-Site:• 27 Holes of Championship Golf• 6 Lighted Tennis Courts• Exceptional Dining in Three Locations• Three Restaurants & Lounges• Full-Service Spa and Salon• Fitness Center• Junior Olympic-size Pool• Arnold Palmer Golf Academy• Marina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnold Palmer`s Bay Hill Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing