We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge
Ranked #193 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you're looking for ultra-modern rooms and surroundings this is not the place for you. If, however, you are looking for a place with PGA Tour calibre golf where you will feel welcome the moment you enter reception then you really need to stay and play at Bay Hill.

The service at Bay Hill is friendly and prompt, Bay Hill is a private club, but the staff make everyone feel like a member of the Club. The rooms are comfortable, not luxurious, but since you will be playing golf most of the time who needs a Four Seasons style room? The food from breakfast through dinner is also very good, as an added bonus, at the right time of year you will be sharing the breakfast buffet with current and former PGA and LPGA stars who call Bay Hill home. If you are really lucky you will run into the King (Mr. Palmer) himself, if you do you will see that Bay Hill reflects his standards of hospitality and manners (no hats indoors gentlemen please).

So next time you head to Orlando, treat yourself to a day or two and a few rounds of golf at the King's place

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor facing the course, you can literally roll out of bed onto the putting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    56
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
51
85
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

First, this is a lodge not a hotel which is tucked away in what appears to be another Florida planned golf community. Once you find the property you will not see any signs noting where to check in for the lodge, you have to guess. This is more about golf apparently. My wife and I drove around the parking lot and found this 5 minute spot which was close to something that could be the front desk / checking however not clearly marked. So we decided to walk down the path that said to lodge only to find this was the lodge itself not check-In for the lodge. Ok not off to a good start. We decided to walk through the corridors of this one lodge, in essence doubling back on where we had just come from. We reached some stairs and a exit sign and could see through the window a woman behind the desk. Ok this must be it and sure enough it was. So long story short, signs would be helpful and if you stay here you find the 5 minute parking spot check-in is behind you. More to come as this stay progresses.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jharold5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royschindele, Director of Sales at Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Completely understand your suggestion about more signage... and indeed this could perhaps help some..

Our mandate as to signage comes from the owner Mr. Palmer, who lives and works here since 1070... He does allow for basics in this area like at the main entrance, etc... but feels we are a small enough property with only one parking lot and a small footprint, that once you park (anywhere) and ask a person for your desired destination, you will be escorted there and be where you want to go in just a minute or two.

Mr. Palmer believes signage should be unobtrusive and sparse. This is not only true roadside, but also on the golf course. He advocates "old school" high touch service and signs are somewhat impersonal.


Your comments & point of view are very much appreciated...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Although we only stayed for one night with friends, we enjoyed the room which was quiet and comfortable, staff was very pleasant and helpful, golf facility and course was wonderful and we were pleasantly surprised on the food and bar menu. Although the room does not have coffee, they make up for it with an endless supply of coffee in the lobby area of our floor.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Looks one of the best golf courses in the World. And it is.
Beautiful environment, polite staff, nice room (upgraded automatically based on my Expedia VIP card).
The only negative issue is the clubstore, the items were very old fashioned...

Room Tip: Course view is suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurSmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Staied with the family from 18th Dec till 23th Dec . I like golf but the purpose was the parks .the location is very good for the Universal were we went . The rooms were ok , we had a suite but it was more of a normal room to me honestly . The reception service was very cold and everything seemed to be around golf .I appreciate this is a top golf location but I would have liked a little more concierge / pampering also for other needs . I was lured by the cooments on tripadvisor on the kind of classy style of the place but it did not really enchant me .It looked to me more of a place for older people , with all respect ..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piero_ricci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

During our trip to Miami Beach, wife and daughter also wanted to do Disney. While searching for suites, I found this place. I was looking for a quiet place, and this place did not disappoint me. Although, the place seem little older, it is very classy and well maintained. The staff is a delight to talk to. They have many restaurants, where the food was very good. We had our breakfast next to the bay window where pros were practicing puts. I kept the last day for golf, but could not do it because I came down with cold. One of the staff was kind enough to offer me some cold medication. Literally felt like what is the purpose of this life, if you go and stay in a golf club but could not play. But then, I thought, there is always a next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishLGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Having grown up near Arnold Palmer's home and having played his courses in Pennsylvania, I was biased going into our stay. However, I wasn't disappointed. The course was in great shape, the rooms were nice (balcony and bathroom too), and the pool/locker room/gym were perfect to my liking. The other reviews about no refrigerator or in room coffee maker are truly the only thing you could say bad about this quaint lodge (you're on vacation - Dunkin Donuts is only a 3 minute drive). I will definitely be back and if you're in the area you should make it a point to get away from all the other hotels/resorts and stay at this relaxing resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kyler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
5,626 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
B Resort & Spa
B Resort & Spa
#126 of 339 in Orlando
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge

Property: Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge
Address: 9000 Bay Hill Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-4880
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#51 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#157 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge offers complimentary parking & no resort fee, complimentary internet connection/daily use fee (wired or wireless), complimentary local phone charges, complimentary newspaper, complimentary coffee/tea every morning, complimentary Access to the fitness Center. The Bay Hill experience will give you a sense of belonging to a Private Club which features: 280 acre property, 70 Deluxe Rooms, 9000sq ft of meeting space, spa, salon, fitness center, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, pool, tennis courts, golf academy, and enjoy 27 holes of golf only available where Arnold Palmer lives and plays. The Lodge is situated in a quiet, residential neighborhood, rich with history, yet close to all the excitement Orlando has to offer. Bay Hill is just 18 miles / 20 minutes from the Airport, 5 miles from Walt Disney World, 4 miles from Sea World and 3 miles from Universal Studios and the Convention Center. Mr. Palmer's Resort offers 70 Lodge rooms in comfortable surroundings that is more reminiscent of a bed and breakfast getaway than a large tourist resort. Guests, are granted full club privileges during their stay and are invited to enjoy all of the club’s luxury amenities throughout our 280 acre property. BEST KEPT SECRET IN ORLANDO! We are looking forward to hearing from you.Amenities On-Site:• 27 Holes of Championship Golf• 6 Lighted Tennis Courts• Exceptional Dining in Three Locations• Three Restaurants & Lounges• Full-Service Spa and Salon• Fitness Center• Junior Olympic-size Pool• Arnold Palmer Golf Academy• Marina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnold Palmer`s Bay Hill Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing