We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel too big for family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #177 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel was too big to get around easily and the quality of the restaurants for families was poor. The Picalou restaurant in particular was absolutely awful and something you would expect in a 2 star hotel. Room was tired, the bath was chipped and there were cobwebs around the curtains. Last year we stayed in the Hard Rock Hotel which was a little more expensive but it was FANTASTIC, so if you can stretch to this it would be much much better. The transport was fantastic at this hotel though with Water Taxis to Epcot, Hollywood Studios, The Boardwalk. Buses to all other Disney Parks.

Room Tip: We had a room facing on to the lake and the swan hotel which was very nice and we could see some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us Audrey. We are pleased to hear that the transportation from one park to the next was fantastic. It is disappointing to hear that you found our resort too large to get around and also not enjoying your experience at our restaurants. As a leading resort to host conferences in Walt Disney World, we offer many amenities that cater to guests who are here on conferences as well as guests who are here on vacation. We also would like to apologize about the condition of your room. What you have describe is certainly not our standard. We are pleased to share that there are plans for a beautiful refresh of our resort. There will be multiple enhancements made to our resort, including our guest rooms. We do hope that you visit us again once we have the refresh made to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,079 - 4,085 of 5,460 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is perfectly acceptable for business conferences but isn't really a family hotel. Good restaurant and bar facilities and easy to get to the Disney parks either walking or by boat. Wouldn't want to be taking children to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mccaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that you had great experiences at our vast restaurants as well as our Disney transportation to the Disney parks. As one of the leading conference resorts within Walt Disney World, we do our best to accommodate all of our guests, no matter if you are here for business or here to celebrate a family vacation. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at multiple Disney resorts over the years but nothing can compare to ether the Dolphin or Swan Hotel. Last year we stayed at the Dolphin and found that the rooms were smaller then the Swan. This year we stayed at the Swan and had a beautiful corner room with a balcony.

Three pools to choose from and multiple restaurants. Ate at the Cabana Bar (definitely need to try the flatbread pizza, so good), or Garden Grove where you meet Disney characters. The food is expensive but you definitely get what you pay for. I had prime rib the one night... That was bigger then my head. My mother also enjoyed the Salmon.

Quick enough to walk over to the boardwalk and enjoy breakfast at one of the shops.

The only downfall of the trip was the bartenders asking you every 10 minutes if you were okay or if they could get you another beverage.. Even if we had a beverage in our hand already.

I give the Swan 5/5 because all of the staff was friendly and informative. The beds were also incredible. Definitely will be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderlust_Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

What a fantastic review of your visit! We are pleased to hear that you and your mother had a wonderful visit. It is great to hear that you stayed previously at the Dolphin wing, and now you had a chance to stay at the Swan. Thank you for the generous words about your dining experiences and our informative Cast Members. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went to A PTK international convention at this hotel. The room was very comfortable with a refrigerator for my insulin. The have a pantry service where you can buy some soda and snacks at a reasonable price and it is delivered within the hour. The items need to be paid for so be prepared to pay the delivery person. My room did not have a remote so I called and they sent on up promptly. I went to my friends room a couple of days into our stay and they did not have a remote and did not know they could call and request one.
I knew before arriving that food choices would be limited to the restaurants on site. There were over 3000 PTK members not to mention the regular guests and other groups. The restaurants were packed most of the time making eating between meetings almost impossible. I brought lots of quick to eat meals and canned meats to eat in my suitcase. I am glad I did it saved time and money.
The hotel offers a shuttle to the Disney parks and to downtown Disney a shopping district with restaurants. This was convenient except again when 1500 people want to go at the same time. The Hotel did a poor job of planning for the mass amount of people that were going to get on the shuttles. We took a cab that day and it was only $20.00 for the car load. We also arrive at the park within 5 minutes compared to the 45 minutes on the shuttle with all the hotel stops.
We all had a great time and all seemed well until we checked out.
When we arrived they wanted to put a $100.00 hold per room for incidentals and said we would not be charged if there were no charges. Wrong, we had no charges and they still billed us and it took numerous calls and threats of having the bank reverse the payment and filling out a complaint before the money was put back into my account. The process took almost 2 weeks. That being said we had a great time and this was a College trip so I am not sure what the room cost was to be able to say if I would personally pay that much on a visit. I will say if it was $200.00 or less it would be worth it. I forgot to mention the pools, spa, and volleyball courts. I did not use them but others raved about the late night conversations and tanning during spirited volleyball games.

Room Tip: The room had a nice view without having to ask. I am not sure if this might be something you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hello Rafael and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to come down and attend the PTK conference that was hosted here at our resort. We do apologize about not having the proper items in your room at the time of check – in, but are delighted to hear that these situations were quickly rectified by our Cast Members. We appreciate your patience when it came to our restaurants and apologize for any inconveniences that this may have caused for you. We sincerely apologize about the issues that you were faced due to the room billing, but are pleased to hear that we were able to correct the issue. Thank you for being our guest. We hope that you had a pleasant time at your conference and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I have been there on business (conference) a Few times..
Its nice and rooms comfortable. I like the near by boardwalk as well the pool..
If i was paying myself i would NOT stay there.. But it may be a good choice for family with kids.

Service is good.. Avoid taking the taxi to the hotel. A near by round trip to the CVS located less than 8 miles it cost almost US 50.. :-(

I will return if paid by my company..

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Reginaldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit here with us. We are pleased to hear that you were able to come and stay here with us during your conference multiple times, but disappointed to hear that you would not come back when you want to stay on vacation. Thank you for your valued feedback about transportation around the Disney area, your words have been shared with the Resort Management Leadership team. We do monitor current pricing and practices in the marketplace to ensure we are in line with other comparable resorts. We do hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just come back from a fortnight at the Swan & Dolphin hotel in disney.We stopped at the Swan part of the complex(i didnt know they were seperate hotels untill i got there).The hotel is very large and has numerous facilities.three swimming pools which are very good,there is a gym but did not get to see it as i like swimming.There are a variety of restaurants and the food is quite good,but the breakfasts are expensive compared with others off site($26.00)You can get a really good breakfast for a third of the price at Sizzler,Ponderosa,and others like this,but disney are not cheap but you do usually get quality.The rooms were kept spotless and cleaned everyday,staff are very friendly,it gets a lot of conferences there but this never bothered me,all in all a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hello Terry and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing visit. It sounds like you really enjoyed our vast number of pools as well as our recreational area. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at the Dolphin recently for 5 nights while on a strictly pleasure trip to WDW. Easy access to the parks, without the frenzy of staying on-site. It was quiet, clean and had ready access to WDW - plenty of buses to Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom and Downtown Disney and we were able to walk or take a boat to EPCOT and Hollywood Studios.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffndallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Jeff. We are thrilled to hear that you had a magical time here at Walt Disney World while staying here with us. It is great to hear that our location and the Disney amenities that we offer here at our resort made it convenient for you and your family to enjoy Walt Disney World. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#50 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $215 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing