We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #177 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, big rooms”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here for a conference. The room was huge- would have been comfortable for my whole family but was just me this trip. The grounds are beautiful. There are several dining options on property and the Disney Boardwalk is just a short walk away. I'd definitely return again if going to Orlando or Disney.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello Damian and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that you found your room most accommodating during your conference. Even though your family was not around to experience our resort with you this time, but there is always next time when you come back. We do hope that you had a successful conference and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    1,673
    1,026
    480
    323
See reviews for
2,428
958
75
1,183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

After many fellow colleagues had regaled me with wonderful tales about this property I decided to take the plunge and stay here rather than at one of the WDW owned resorts for my stay last May 2013. We were there during the Memorial Weekend holiday to be able to enjoy Star Wars Weekend at Disney Hollywood Studios. The EPCOT resort area is the perfect location for close proximity to DHS.

The LOCATION couldn't be beat for our needs, everything else was lousy!

During our 11 night stay we would have to many times ask for items that should have been refreshed automatically! These items ranged from towels to in room coffee, even the bottle water which we paid a resort fee for!

The closets are so small that a hanger doesn't even fit on the rack in the closet to hang up clothing!

The self-parking lot area gates were broken 3 out of the 4 days we choose to use our own car rather than public transport.

It was very very apparent that the staff were geared toward their business guests rather than those whom stayed there to enjoy WDW parks. So much so that there was a tent so large set up for half of our stay that we had to climb over guide ropes just to get to the pool area.

To top this bad story off, one morning we noticed that one of the EXIT SIGNS on our floor and been knocked down overnight and was only hanging by the electrical wires. We reported it to the desk the very morning we noticed it, it took them 4 days to get someone to fix it, mean while electrical wires were exposed!

Needless to say THIS May, we are staying at the Boardwalk Inn a Disney Owned property in the EPCOT resort area instead!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience during your visit with us last year, Abbie. Please accept our apologies for your experiences with us. Many improvements have been made since your last visit as we do our best to utilize our guests’ feedback to improve our guests' future experiences with us. Although you may not be visiting us this May, should you return in the future we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that is in line with our resorts level of quality and value. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We recently returned from a long weekend at the Swan. We had a late flight and didn't arrive at the hotel until 2:30 am. When the reservation was made we requested a room away from the elevator because I am a light sleeper. A follow up call to the hotel confirmed that request. When we checked in we asked if the room we were assigned to was away from the elevator and we were assured that it was. Imagine our surprise when we got to the room and got the room closest to the elevator. Now it was about 2:45 and we had to return to the front desk with our luggage and request another room. Thank goodness the next room was fine and we were able to relax. We had a room with a balcony facing Epcot. The room was clean, the king sized bed was definitely "heavenly" as advertised, the towels were plentiful and thick, the toiletries were top notch, and we loved having two sinks. We enjoyed starting our day with the Starbucks coffee in our room. It was a pleasure taking the boat to Epcot and Hollywood Studios. One morning we were in a hurry, so we took a taxi to the front of Epcot. Unfortunately the bus to the Magic Kingdom is not so good. It was overcrowded with long waits at both the Swan and the Magic Kingdom because it stops at the Swan, the Dolphin and the Boardwalk. We had dinner at Bluezoo at the Dolphin and it was fantastic. Would I stay at the Swan the next time I visit Disney World? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay. We are ecstatic to hear that you and your family returned to our resort for yet another fabulous family vacation. We apologize about not getting the room that you requested at the first time of check-in, but are thrilled that we were able to rectify the situation. It looks like you took full advantage of our location to Disney’s EPCOT. Thank you for being our guest. We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Dolphin through expedia and enjoyed the property. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The buses to Disney were crowded but convenient. This property is not owned by Disney but it does give Starwood rewards points. For our purposes, the ownership did not affect our stay, but in the future I might opt for a disney-owned property or to stay off-campus and get a better rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello and thank you for your recent stay here with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the resort during your stay. We are proud to be a Starwood property in the heart of Walt Disney World. We do hope that you will visit us again for another fun filled family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Swan for one night on our way back from a Disney cruise so that we could have one full day at the Magic Kingdom. We arrived at the hotel at 11:30 AM and our room wasn't ready so we stored our luggage and headed to Disney. We came back for dinner around 6PM and had our luggage brought up to the room - shortly afterwards we discovered that someone had gone into one of my wife's bags and taken her iPad mini. This had movies on it that were irreplaceable, not to mention the cost of the device. I complained to the front desk but all they did was have us fill out a lost and found form. I am Starwood Platinum and have never had this happen to me at any Starwood property in the many years that I've traveled for business. Extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for speaking with our Security team today. We deeply appreciate your loyalty to Starwood and thank you for staying with us for a one night getaway. It is certainly very concerning when a valuable item is unaccounted for; we look forward to providing the best possible assistance to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I've stayed here many years ago and choose this again for my large family visit to Disney World. I chose this because it was within the park and an economical location with good reviews.

Disney is supposed to be the happiest place on earth and you expect happy people to work there. This hotel, not being a true Disney hotel, seems to have hired staff that Disney itself rejected. We drove up in our van and were very aggressively yelled at to pull up to one side, then move forward. My kids were told off for standing outside the van when I went in to get my bearings. There was no safety issue and it had been a long drive. The parking crew snubbed any questions i asked and were downright rude to my wife. I have never had such a poor reception at any hotel and for Disney, this was a rel heart-breaker.

Still we decided not to let this spoil our hard earned holiday. The reception check-in was friendly and prompt.The hotel ambiance is nice, although you don't get any sense of being near Disney. Nothing like the California properties.

The rooms were nice and spacious. The hotel is huge and there is a lot of walking. We couldn't use the amenities (man-made beach and pools) because a thunder storm rolled in. Safety reasons.

We ate at the Swan and that went okay, although they were very slow and we were dozing off by the time it was done. Another surprise for a hotel that should be catering to families and people who have spent long days travelling or at the park.

Its a decent room but that's about it. We ended up driving to the park and parking there because we were told the shuttles would take 90 minutes plus. The drive was about 15 minutes and parking is included if you stay within the resort.

Next time I will just stay off site. There was no added value or advantage of staying here and the rude parking crew (and they were consistently rude throughout our stay) just spoilt our trip. Save your money and aggravation and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhoom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are delighted to hear that you chose us to be part of your family holiday. We sincerely apologize about your experience that you had at our porte cochere. What you have described is certainly not our standard. Your words have been shared with our Valet Leadership team so that this will not happen again when you come back to visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We do hope to that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at the Dolphin. We requested a room on the third floor (same floor as the lobby) and that request was honored.

Room was of ample size, bigger than Disney's moderate resorts but on par with the size of Disney's deluxe resorts. The two queen beds were very comfortable. Crib for our toddler was a REAL crib (metal) instead of a pack 'n play. Plenty of storage (lots of drawers in the dresser on which the TV was stationed) and plenty of room in the closet. Bathroom had a separate sink/vanity area from the shower/toilet which was nice. Toilet/shower area was a tight squeeze however. Shower water pressure was great and the hot water was a'flowin! Fresh clean towels were waiting for us every day. Starbucks was provided for the in-room coffee maker.

Our room was very bright but the hallways leading to our room were a bit dark. Lighting was dim (also making a high pitched noise) and this gave us a bit of an off putting feeling when we were first approaching our room but we were pleasantly surprised once inside.

We had a balcony room that overlooked the area where the Friendship launches picked up and dropped off and I have to agree with the other reviewers who mentioned the annoying boat horns that go off pretty regularly beginning early in the morning and lasting late into the evening (11 pm). Perhaps this is a law that the boat captain must blow the horn a few times but geez louise it was a mood killer when one is trying to rest.

We ate at the Fountain on the first floor twice and the food was very good. Great place to bring a noisy toddler! Had room service for breakfast and again the quality was excellent. If you want a fun breakfast option though walk to EPCOT as France's bakery opens early (even though the World Showcase itself doesn't open until 11 am). They even serve mimosas!

The pool area that is shared by the Swan and Dolphin is AMAZING. There are so many things to do it's nuts. Life sized checker board, pools that actually felt WARM (this is coming from a Floridian!) - maybe 86 degrees - a big playground on a rubber pad for the little ones, a water slide, a grotto, swan boats for rent, hammocks, a couple of spots to get some snacks and alcoholic bevvies, you name it! Plenty of lounge chairs were available too. I'd come back to just visit the pool!

Walking to the parks (EPCOT and Hollywood Studios) might seem daunting but there is plenty to see on your stroll to keep you occupied. Palm trees that line the walkway change color at night and that is really a sight.

Bus rides to/from the Magic Kingdom were quick and just as easy as those at the "official" Disney resorts.

Customer service at this hotel was excellent, everyone was helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to hold a function there.

I don't get the bad reviews... We enjoyed it. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hosalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you received excellent service from our Cast Members! We are also happy that we were able to accommodate your room request, and that you were refreshed and rejuvenated by our Heavenly Beds and showers. It is wonderful to hear that the layout of the room and the available storage fulfilled your family’s needs. We are glad you enjoyed the in-room option for Starbucks coffee.
Disney policies and procedures require that the Friendship boats blow their horns periodically during their rounds for safety purposes. The safety of our guests is the top priority for our resort. We do apologize that these measures disturbed your ability to rest.
Thank you for your excellent feedback of The Fountain and of room service! Your kind words have been shared with our Food and Beverage Leadership. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all of our pool-area recreation and amenities. We hope you will come back to take advantage of poolside dining options at Splash and the Cabana Bar and Beach Club. We are pleased that you found our central location to the Disney theme parks and attractions and the complimentary Disney shuttle and water taxi services beneficial during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy our resort again, and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing