We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #180 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old and Outdated”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

3 days at the WDW Dolphin Resort. Waited 30 minutes to check in, the room smelled moldy and musky. We weren't going back down to check in to ask for another room because we saw several people doing just that. Everything was just old, the wifi was in and out and the resort fee for 2 bottles of water is a joke. Employees just shrugged their shoulders and we saw another couple talking to a woman hotel manager (Peel?) about an issue and she just stood their staring at them like a dummy. WOW. Lot's of other choices, We need to stay away from the Swan and Dolphin until they are serious about guests.

Room Tip: Yes, stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
It is very disheartening to hear that your stay was met with such disappointment. We aim to provide a magical and memorable visit to all of our guests. If we are ever faced with an opportunity to improve a guest's experience we work quickly to provide a suitable solution and aim to provide genuine care. We hope that you may decide to visit our resort in the future so that you can have an experience more in line with our standards and traditions. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    1,673
    1,026
    480
    323
See reviews for
2,428
958
75
1,183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I'm an SPG Gold member; I booked two standard rooms for my family, and even though the hotel was almost full, they found us two great upgraded rooms with balconies. The views were wonderful - we overlooked the water between the Dolphin and the Swan, the pools, the Tower of Terror looming over the trees.

I spent very little time in the room - watching spring training baseball or at the Disney parks during the days and out eating/drinking at night - so the feature I can most readily address there is the wonderful Sheraton bedding. Never disappoints.

If location is a priority for you this hotel is one of the best. Short walk to the Boardwalk area as well as Epcot. Buses will get you to the other parks.

Have stayed in both the Swan and Dolphin; if I had kids or planned to spend more time in the room I'd probably opt for the Swan - it's smaller and feels a bit more laid back (my impression is that the Dolphin is more of a convention/business hotel). I think my parents preferred the Swan. Either one is great, though. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Our balconies faced west, and the view was great - the balconies facing east have views of Epcot I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Well Patrick, it sounds like you truly had a memorable and magical time here with us. We would like to thank you for being a Gold Starwood Preferred Guest and your loyalty to us. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to upgrade both of your rooms while offering you an amazing view that you were looking forward to during your stay. We agree with you, after a full day at the parks, nothing is better than a restful night sleep than our “Heavenly Beds”. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have never stayed at a Disney hotel and wasn't sure what to expect. The Dolphin was very nice, I would say equal in quality to a Westin or top quality DoubleTree. It was very large which made it feel grand. The pool area is huge but is shared with it's sister hotel the Swan. The two hotels are back to back and more like one hotel with separate buildings. The rooms were decent in size and nice. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly as should be expected from Disney. Although probably irrelevant I did enjoy the bathroom products (Crabtree & Evelyn), same as the Westin since they are owned by the same company. The room's décor was nothing to be amazed with but also not much to complain about. I stayed on a roll away bed and it was just as comfortable as my bed at home so I can only imagine that the real beds are that much nicer.

The point of staying at a Disney hotel for me is the transportation and convenience of staying on site. Although there was definitely more than suitable transportation to ALL Disney parks it was not much more impressive than a shuttle from any other hotel. If you stay at a hotel in the area by Disney that offers free shuttle service it is just as convenient. Plus the hotel charges for parking so you don't really save in that department. The extra Disney hours (each day you get early or late access to one of their parks) is a plus but only if you are going to that particular park, I wasn't able to take advantage of it so it had no plus for me.

Over all nice hotel and no complaints but for the price I wouldn't go again.

Room Tip: They offer better quick-service breakfast at the Swan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaG217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Rebecca and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our Grotto Pool area and also enjoyed your room. We are proud to be a Starwood property in the heart of Walt Disney World. We are in constant communication with Walt Disney Transportation System to ensure that all of our guests can get to and from the Disney Parks and Downtown Disney as quickly as they can. As for the parking fees, we do monitor current pricing and practices in the marketplace to ensure we are in line with other comparable resorts. Thank you for being our guest, we do hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is a little outdated, so if your expecting 5 star fancy hotel, like animal kingdom in Disney, this will not satisfy you. The pros are the location-- walking distance to the boardwalk and epcot. Also has a boat ride to Hollywood studios. The beds were comfortable and the pool area is nice. The negatives for me was the high smell of bleach in the hallway that was carpeted. Old carpet...should be replaced. The wallpaper and decor of the rooms should also be upgraded. The restaurants on site are very pricey as well as the drinks by the pool. Dinner for two cost over $100, not including alcohol.Granted the food is excellent, but cost is too high if you staying for a couple days or have kids. Strawberry daiquiri by pool was $13.00 and given to you a clear plastic cup-- nothing fancy!! Next time, we are going to stay INSIDE Disney!!

Room Tip: See if any sections have been updated....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience, Kathy. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds as well as our recreations area. Although we are looking forward to future enhancements, we are responsible for maintaining our resort for our guests to enjoy. Please, accept our apologies for any discomfort caused by the condition you describe. Our leadership has been alerted to have these areas addressed. We hope to welcome you back in the future to enjoy an experience more in line with our resorts traditions of quality and value. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Dolphin hotel numerous times in the past and our last two visits have been a major disappointment. During this stay, we waited 20 minutes to check in at 11pm. The rooms are fine- nice size. But the bathrooms are tiny and could use updating. We battled the room conditions throughout the stay. At first, we thought the room was a little muggy, but over the next 3 days it become unbearable and difficult to sleep. Engineering representative stated the AC was in fine condition and offered a dehumidifier. We gratefully accepted, but it took 3 additional phone calls and 12 hours before we actually received one. When we plugged it in, the room humidity measured 75%.
We opted for the 'green choice' which was a huge mistake. Because of the mugginess of the room, our towels never dried and we finally had to opt out of the green choice. When one opts in for green choice, your trash may or may not be emptied, and no service is given except replacement of the water bottles and coffee.
We had been pleased with our stays in the past, but have seen a decline in service over our last two stays and unfortunately will be planning visits to other resorts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Jen. We thank you for returning to our resort as well. However, the experiences you describe are not what we aim to provide our guests during their stay. We would love to address these concerns with you. Please send your complete stay details along with this review to ReviewManager@swandolphin.com. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

These 2 hotels are in a great location to Epcot. There is a boat ride that takes you right there. Although it's a moderate walk as well. You enter by France. You can rent strollers and scooters there too.
The hotels are older, but I found them clean and efficient. We ate breakfast there, and it was good. Prices anywhere near Disney are high for food, as it was here.
You are also located near the Boardwalk which is fun to go through. Many fun things to do there too. Shops and restaurants are plentiful.
Not a bad choice, and the hotel will give decent deals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixietoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you found our resort to have great value for you and your family. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed the many activities and amenities we offer as well. Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Everything about this hotel is amazing! First of all, you can't beat the location. Primarily located in the heart of Disney makes it so convenient to get to any park effiiciently and easily. They have a regularly scheduled bus and boat system that will transport you to any park which is extremely helpful and enjoyable. Being so centrally located makes the view from your room spectacular... you can see attractions and shows at the parks, downtown Disney, the boardwalk, it overlooks a lake, and the list goes on and on. The restaurants are to die for and there is plenty of shopping available in the hotel, as well. I have never slept on a more comfortable bed in a hotel room, either... it was like sleeping on a cloud. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and all kinds of accommodations were provided. The staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful. Everything about this place was top notch and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, Megan! We truly appreciate your kind words regarding our Cast Members’ professionalism and attentiveness. We are pleased you thoroughly enjoyed our Heavenly Beds as well as all the other amenities provided in your room. It is pleasing to hear you found our location to be unbeatable as well. We hope to welcome you back soon! Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing