We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Atmosphere & Value for Adult Visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #180 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have visited Disney World many times, and usually stay at the Disney hotels, most often those in the Epcot area. The convenience of being able to walk to restaurants and to use the Disney transportation system make the on-site hotels the best choice for us, despite the higher cost. We've stayed at all the Epcot hotels (Beach/Yacht Club and Boardwalk Inn and Villas) several times.

This time, the price quotes on the Disney hotels were incredibly high - the least expensive room I could find was $450/night. So when I checked the Dolphin and found a room for $159/night it was a no-brainer.

We couldn't have been more pleased! The location uses the same Disney boats to Epcot and Hollywood studios, has access to the same bus transportation and is just a short walk to the Boardwalk restaurants we enjoy. But what a difference in atmosphere! Just a short line to be checked in by courteous, competent front desk staff. The lobby was calm and quiet - just a few excited and well-behaved children. Not the mob of screaming out of control kids usually found in the Disney hotels. In general, the Dolphin seemed to be a hotel for Adults - a very welcome change from the Disney properties.

In addition to providing a great check-in experience, we were also given a super room. The elevators were uncrowded and arrived quickly. The room was clean with all the usual amenities. But the surprise came when we saw the great view of the lake from our room - we were able to see the Epcot fireworks at night from the sofa in our room. What a treat! I think that this was an upgrade from the room rate we paid, but such a nice perk!

The Swan or Dolphin will be our regular WDW hotel from now on!

Room Tip: The view of the lake allows you to see the fabulous Epcot fireworks at night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We are pleased you found the Quality and value in our resort. It is delightful you enjoyed our proximity to the parks as well as the view from your room. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our knowledgeable and welcoming Cast Members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,411)
There are newer reviews for Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,553 - 4,559 of 5,411 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

The place was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The check in staff very proficient. We were there very early (9 am) and they had our rooms ready and checked us in. Wow! We had two rooms and both were very nice. The staff was very friendly. We were able to walk to Epcot and Hollywood studios... also took the ferry though the ferry stops at all hotels but not for long. Could see the fireworks out of our hotel window at night. Both rooms had a small refrigerator which was a nice touch, as well as free bottled water (two per room) each day. However, not sure if that amenity was because we are Starwood platinum members, you may want to check. Our bellman was very friendly and gave us lots of tips. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the high floor (like 11) and facing the lake give the best views plus you can see the firew...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachluv44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased our Cast Members were able to accommodate you on your early arrival. It is delightful to know you were able to utilize the convenient Walt Disney World transportation as well as take advantage of our proximity to the parks. We appreciate the kind remarks regarding our Cast Members as well as our rooms. Thank you for your loyalty and for making us a part of your holiday season. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

First, the location is very good. You can walk to Epcot in 10 minutes and Hollywood Studio in 15 minutes, or Broadwalk in 5 minutes.... Of course, you can take the cruise too. If you only care about location, you should book this hotel. If you care more than location, you have to read my review.....

Let's talk about the negative issues regarding about the hotel...

1. Shower knob was broken and completely fell off...
2. Coffee Maker stop working in the 3rd days and it took them 4 hours to replace it.
3. Toilet was clogged..
4. Nobody cleaned up the room until 5pm everyday.
5. Unhelpful reception staff.
6. Awful restaurant.
7. Old and outdated hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UptownXriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

While we are pleased you enjoyed our unbeatable location, it is concerning to see that you encountered so many disappointments. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please contact us at ReviewManager@swandolphin.com with your complete reservation details and a copy of this review. We look forward to providing assistance and wish you a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

From the moment of check in to the moment of check out the staff at the Dolphin made our stay enjoyable. We have always stayed at the Sheraton in Lake Buena Vista when traveling to Orlando but this time we were bringing my 72 year old mother with us and figured staying closer to the parks would be a benefit. We were right.

First let me start with the rooms. They were clean and comfortable. The beds were amazing (I wish I could have taken mine home with me) the rooms spacious. We were a party of 6 so we got connecting rooms and boy does that make a difference. The showers were clean but could use better lighting but not a big deal. The only real complaint we had about the rooms and we forgot to bring it to the staffs attention (so I guess it wasn't that bad) was the in room fridges were not that cold. Even though we chose the option to "Go Green" the housekeeping staff always made sure to check in with us if we needed anything and always made sure to give each room a fresh supple of waters and coffee.

We didn't eat at any of the fancier restaurants because we were traveling with kids but we did take advantage of eating at the Picabu restaurant which is open 24 hours (which is perfect for us...we stayed at Disney until 2:30 am ). The food was very good and the prices were not bad considering they are on property.

The convenience of taking the ferry over to Hollywood Studios and Epcot was a pleasure. I thought there would be great long lines since we were there over the Christmas break but I was pleasantly surprised about how many ferries they run non-stop. We never had to wait longer than 5 minutes or so to or from the parks. We only wish we could have taken them to Magic Kingdom or Animal Kingdom. I know we could have taken the buses but the ferry was so convenient to do with my mom in an electric scooter and all.

Overall I would recommend the Dolphin for any families that are coming down to Orlando. We didn't get a chance to walk over to the Disney Boardwalk area but I could have hit a golf ball from our balcony and hit the boardwalk. We also didn't take advantage and go swimming in the pools but they looked very upkept and spacious.

Do not even consider any mediocre reviews or bad reviews about this hotel. Just go with the good ones. That is all we experienced while staying at this property. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a large party make sure to book two adjoining rooms. They make it very sp...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We are pleased our cast members were able to provide you with exceptional service as this is the type of service we aim to provide to all of our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your rooms as well as our Make a Green Choice program. It is delightful to hear you were able to utilize the convenient transportation to and from the Walt Disney World parks. We hope you have the opportunity to experience one of our signature restaurants as well as our pools on your next visit. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to creating more magical memories with you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a great trip this week staying at the Swan. The service was excellent. Camp Dolphin was perfect for two nights for our 4 and 6 year olds. The staff is great there and made our kids feel welcomed. Both nights our kids were at camp Dolphin while we ate at Il Mulino New York Trattoria. When you order entrees you get two free hours at Camp Dolphin. The staff at the restaurant was first rate. We enjoyed Howie as a waiter and Angela was a great manager. They make you feel like you are at home and do anything they can to make the meal enjoyable. Overall the whole staff was very accommodating on the resort. From making balloons for the kids while waiting for boats to Epcot to the maid service bringing towels and calling to follow up with the service. Everyone was so nice. The pool staff was great too. We spent 5 nights in an Alcove room and loved it. We will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your time with us, Jason. We are very pleased our Cast Members provided you with remarkable service. Our leadership has taken note of your kind words to commend these Cast Members in their performance. It is wonderful to hear you and your family enjoyed Camp Dolphin and Il Mulino New York Trattoria. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Second time at the Dolphin un the past 5 years. Beautiful hotel. Convenient to all parks--with free shuttle service. Lobby and all common areas and property (pool area, health club) are spectacular. Well maintained. Rooms are big and very comfortable. Bathroom floor could have been a little cleaner, though, and a/c unit was fickle. Stay here--but hunt for the best rate- You really should only pay around $250/night here, tops.I did--and this was Christmas, too. By the way--dinner at Il Mulino (at the Swan) and Shula's (at the Dolphin) were both terrific.

Room Tip: High floor, resort view is what you should ask for
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrolleyDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for taking he time to share your recent experience with us. Thank you for your compliments on our resorts overall appearance, from the lobby to the rooms. We have passed along your comments regarding your room concerns to our leadership to prevent these issues from reoccurring. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time at Il Mulino New York Trattoria and Shula’s Steak House. We thank you for being our guest and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My daughter & I stayed at the Swan for 3 nights in mid-December to visit Disney World for all the awesome Christmas shows & decorations. This was our 3rd visit to Orlando in 2013 & our first staying at the Swan (last year we stayed at the Dolphin & love it too, but chose the Swan this time to compare).

We checked in with Amanda who was very pleasant getting us our room quickly as we were very tired showing up at almost 10 p.m. We were given the option to several rooms and went with a double room with a balcony on the 3rd floor. Our room was very clean when we entered, linens were WHITE and clean & the bathroom was spotless. Appreciated the 2nd sink by the bathroom it made it so much easier for us to get ready in the mornings. Everything was in order and I was very satisfied with the upkeep of our room by housekeeping for the duration of our stay. All of the hotel's staff was so friendly & welcoming, it definately stood out to me how well the staff here treats their guests.

We ate breakfast & lunch at the Fresh Mediterranean Market & the food was perfect, service excellent by Chef Louis for breakfast & Isabella for lunch was terrific. We had one character dinner at the Garden Grove on a Saturday. The food was great, but I liked the dinner buffet last year better. Our server, Rafi, was super attentive & just a pleasure. The service we received by these 3 people in particular was exceptional, they are truly an asset. Now my ABSOLUTE favorite thing about these 2 hotels is the complimentary transportation to the Disney parks & Downtown Disney. The location of this hotel is perfect for getting to the parks early & because you're staying on Disney property you have the extra magic hour perks & fast pass plus which we figured out when we arrived at Hollywood Studios. The location and these Disney perks makes this property worth its weight in gold. Many thanks to all those staff members we encountered on our trip to the Swan & we can't wait to come back in 2014. Happy New Year to all!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great to let fresh air in especially in the evenings. Request the higher floor...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FlipFlopsR4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review! WE are so pleased our Cast Members were able to provide you with such exceptional service. Your kind words regarding these individuals have been passed along to our leadership to commend them for their excellent performance. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your room and as well as the many unique restaurants. We are pleased to offer the extra Walt Disney World amenities to our guests and are glad you were able to enjoy them. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $204 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing