We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #180 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not for business traveler”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The good:
Close to Disney World
Fairly easy access from airport
Probably great for families who don't care about service; just want to keep the kids busy/happy
The Bad:
Surly young lady at check in
Took 10 minutes to get room service on the phone.
Long hold times for front desk.
Chair in room was broken
Room service is atrocious. Oatmeal was like soup.
My 'hot water' for tea was served in broken coffee thermos (coffee flavored tea anyone?)
Bathroom was dirty.
Lots of noise from hall outside your room. Doors slamming, kids running up and down halls.
(again, fine if you were there with family, you would expect it)

Since this property is so close in proximity to Walt Disney Resort, you would think it would have the Disney touch. However, it is NOT OWNED by Disney and it shows in the details.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank agj789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that our location was the most convenient for you and your family while going to the Disney theme parks. We sincerely apologize about your stay that you had experience. As you know, that is not our level of service that we strive to aim to all of our guests. Your words have been shared with the appropriate departments’ leadership team about the experience you had during your stay. Please accept our apologies that your family’s stay was disturbed. It is certainly not our intent for our guests to encounter such a disturbance. We do hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    1,672
    1,025
    480
    322
See reviews for
2,425
958
75
1,182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dania Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was very nice. The room was clean and more than adequate. However, it is $15 each time you enter the parking lot with your own car and $15 a day after that. The lot was nearly full when I parked and I had to walk approximately 1/2 mile back to the hotel. To their defense, valet parking is available. I didn't check how much it costs. Again, the hotel was very nice and clean. It just isn't my style to spend my vacation dollars where I only plan on sleeping so I wasn't impressed by the value. It wasn't cheap by any stretch. If you are one who spends a lot of time at the hotel when you are on vacation, this certainly is a nice place. While I didn't get a chance to go swimming, the pool looked very nice too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at our resort. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We do monitor current pricing and practices in the marketplace to ensure we are in line with other comparable resorts. We do apologize for the inconvenient walk that you had experience while parking your car in our lot. We do hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I have never stayed at a non-Disney owned hotel, but decided to try the Dolphin this past weekend while attending Mickey's Very Merry X-mas Party with our son.
Let’s put aside the fact that you have to pay for parking ($23.00 per day plus tax), that you cannot use your Magic Bands or room keys for charges at the parks or Downtown Disney and that you don’t get a pass for your dashboard for parking (and have to stop at the booths every time you enter a park)….
The final straw was having to call hotel security at 3am on Sunday morning to have them take care of the drunken convention folks (still wearing their convention badges, screaming about how drunk they were and dropping F-bombs every few words) standing in the hallway outside our door and repeatedly waking up our son… then opening and slamming their hotel room doors until 4am after they stopped screaming.
The hotel itself if very nice, with a very nice staff, plenty of pools, bars, restaurants and even a spa… but for us, when we go to Disney it’s to be at Disney… not looking for cheesy… just looking for good wholesome fun family vacation time.
Bottom line… great for conventions, terrible for families.
We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Glenn, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for joining us for a weekend getaway. As the only Starwood Resort in the heart of Walt Disney World, we are proud to offer a unique blend of Starwood amenities and unique Disney benefits. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped.
We do monitor current pricing and practices within the marketplace to ensure our pricing is competitive and in line with other comparable resorts. Throughout the year we do offer special promotions, such as the Florida Resident rate your family was able to take advantage of for your stay.
While the test continues of Disney's new MyMagic+ initiative, we are happy that our guests are able to participate in a test of Disney's new FastPass+ system. If you encountered a longer than normal wait at each of the parking entrances for the Walt Disney World theme parks due to having to show your room key for complimentary parking, we are very sorry.
Finally, please accept our apologies that your family's rest was disturbed. It is certainly not our intent for our guests to experience such a disturbance. Thank you for being our guest, we wish you a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed at Swan for five nights on an SPG nights/flight award (great redemption value by the way). Had some trepidation based off prior reviews, but we were overall very satisfied with the property and experience and I think most travelers would be if they have the right expectations for what the property is. This resort is geared for conventions and is not a deluxe Disney Resort. That being said, you’re also not paying the price of deluxe Disney property, but get a decent value for an overall nice stay.

Pro: The location is great…hands down. Being able to walk to two parks (or take the boat) was great and very convenient for mid-day naps (young kids in tow). Having access to extra Magic hours and Disney transportation was also a plus (note that the bus to Downtown Disney does not run very often). The pool and outdoor grounds are impeccable and on par with what you would expect at a Disney property resort. We encountered some excellent customer service when we came up with some room issues. Overall staff seemed friendly.

Con: Rooms are hit or miss as to being remodeled. We had three rooms and all three seemed to be in a different retrofit cycle from what we could tell. They weren’t bad, just again, not what I’ve experienced at other Westin properties. Parking is $15/day on top of a resort fee of $25/day. Dining is good on property, but expensive (as is everything else Disney in the area). We would drive out to local restaurants to save $.

Room Tip: Swan is the smaller of the two and didn't seem too huge. Rooms are hit/miss it seems as to which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tew34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here with us. We would like to first thank you for being a Starwood Preferred Guest. We truly appreciate our members who allow us to be part of their magical memories with their families. We are proud to be a Starwood property in the heart of Walt Disney World. We are pleased to hear that our location was the most convenient for you and your family while our lush landscapes and rooms were impeccable and flowing. We take great pride in our talented Cast Members who are there whenever you need their assistance. We do monitor current pricing and practices in the marketplace to ensure we are in line with other comparable resorts. We hope to have the opportunity to create more magical moments with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in, and in such a nice area!!! The hotel is stunning and very impressive, with the rooms very nicely furnished... certainly 5*! It was in prime position with easy access to Disney World by boat or taxi. The food was lovely with the most amazing breakfasts ever!!! Certainly would recommend.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We truly appreciate your kind review, Jenna! It is wonderful you had an overall outstanding experience during your stay, from the well-appointed room to our unbeatable location between the Walt Disney World parks and attractions. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Dolphin from 30 Nov-07 Dec. The location was fantastic. We were within walking distance of Epcot and Hollywood Studios. If we didn't want to walk there was a boat. We were also within walking distance of the Yacht Club, Beach Club, and Boardwalk area. There was boat service to these locations also.
There was bus service to Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom, Downtown Disney and the water parks.
We found the hotel to be clean and while not modern, not offensively decorated. Our room was sufficient for two people. We had one king bed which was comfortable and clean.
The negative aspects would have to be the very thin doors and the bathroom layout/size. You could very easily hear people walking, talking, laughing or kids screaming in the halls from your room. While it never inconvenienced us as to wake us up, it was annoying.
The bathroom was very small. The layout was unusual. The door barely cleared the toilet. The toiletries supplied were high quality.
The quick service options could be improved.
Bottom line- while you won't get any fantastic Disney themes here or animal towels, the location was great and you still got all the bonuses of staying at a Disney hotel without the moderate/deluxe price tag.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience, Rachel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well as the many Walt Disney World amenities we are able to offer to our guests. We are happy you found the value and convenience in our resort. Thank you for your feedback regarding the rooms. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Customer service is horrible. I was on hold for room service for 20 minutes. I had to call the hotel from my cell phone just to get a room service order!!!!! I will never come back to this hotel. There are much better hotels in Disney.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for our delayed service to you as this is not the level of service we would like to provide to guests. Please send your stay detail to reviewmanager@swandolphin.com so we can better understand the situation as well as address you concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing