We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #177 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in wonderful location”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I would give the hotel 4.5 dots if I could. The location and the surroundings of the hotel are beautiful. You can walk to the Boardwalk, Epcot, and much more.

The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 dots is because the rooms were a bit dated and could have used some better upgrades (like more places to charge devices).

The wifi worked flawlessly and the staff was very friendly.

To be honest, as a family vacation hotel, I think it is easily 5 stars. As a business hotel, 4.5 stars.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Split2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our location and surroundings beautiful. We look forward to future advancements to our resort to make our resort even more beautiful as well as convenient not only on our property, but as well as in our rooms. Thank you for your feedback and do hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    1,628
    1,007
    462
    317
See reviews for
2,365
939
73
1,139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Dolphin and Swan are great properties for a family vacation. Central location to all parks with complimentary transportation. We especially enjoyed our breakfast at Fresh restaurant with scrumptiuos omelettes by Glenn and Louis the wonderful chefs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynngacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Lynngacy and sincere thanks for this amazing review! We are delighted that your stay was restful and that Glenn and Louis from Fresh Mediterranean Market made your trip even more memorable. Your gracious words have been shared with our Food & Beverage leadership. We hope to have the opportunity to create more magical moments with you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We've been returning every year to the Swan since 2005. We've stayed at Walt Disney World Resorts both value and deluxe as well as off property hotels and we prefer the Swan and Dolphin. Three reasons keep us coming back: the resort staff, the resort location (it's within walking distance of both EPCOT and Hollywood Studios), and the savings that can be had at certain times over Disney Resort room rates. The staff are very nice and we have experienced them going out of their way to make our day! We have always found the rooms to be very clean and any issues we have had such as excessive noise from adjoining rooms is addressed by the staff once you let them know about it. Just like any hotel, but especially at WDW, rooms need updating on a regular basis and over the years we have seen this process take place at the Swan. Regarding the restaurants: the staff at Fresh Mediterranean Restaurant get us off to the parks with a great buffet breakfast - "eggs made how you like them" are our favorite along with the pecan sticky buns. We often eat lunch at the Fountain when we come back to our room for a brief rest before heading out to the parks again for the evening. That's why my husband and I call it our home away from home.

Room Tip: If you need more room to relax, the Alcove Family Rooms are your best bet. The pool view is one of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertaW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
WOW, what a stunning review! We are overjoyed that you consider us your “home away from home”. We take extreme pride in our Cast Members who go above and beyond for you and all of our guests to ensure that you have everything you need in order to make your stay memorable for you and your family. As you mentioned, we are proud to be in the heart of the Walt Disney World Parks and Resorts. We continue to make future advancements to our resort that every time you come back, it will make your stay even more magical and restful. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

There were seven of us staying at the Dolphin for my grandson’s sixth birthday. When we made the reservations, we didn’t realize that the Dolphin is a popular convention site. There was a very large MLB convention during our stay and the lobby was extremely loud in the evenings. However, the rooms and the grounds were fine. There is a refrigerator in every room, which is convenient. Also, we had a rental car prior to our arrival and we were able to give the keys to the valet to return it on site. Again, that was convenient. Be aware that this hotel is on Disney property but it is not a Disney hotel. The only complaint that we had was the transportation to the parks. The boat to Epcot and Hollywood Studios was prompt and efficient. However, the bus transportation was very erratic. On our last morning, we planned to be at Magic Kingdom for the opening ceremony. However, no bus came for almost an hour. There were at least 4 Animal Kingdom buses and several Downtown Disney buses. I asked 2 of the drivers to call and request that a Magic Kingdom bus be sent. I also called the Dolphin hotel manager who said that the buses were full before getting to the Dolphin and therefore the drivers didn’t bother coming to our stop. I’m not sure if the Disney owned hotels get better transportation or if this is a property-wide concern. We (and about 40 other hotel guests who were also waiting) missed the opening ceremony because of this. You can walk to Epcot and the Boardwalk from this hotel, but not to the Magic Kingdom. I would assume that Disney transportation would be aware that more buses are needed to go to the park at 8:15 AM than to go to Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here with us. We are delighted that you chose us to celebrate your son’s sixth birthday. We are pleased to hear that you found the car rental return services convenient for you. In regards to the Disney Transportation, we sincere apologize for the timing of the Magic Kingdom buses. We are in constant communication with Walt Disney World Transportation Services to make sure that there are enough buses to get around to our property to ensure that you experience the convenience of the transportation system to and from the parks. We apologize that on this particular day, the Magic Kingdom bus did not come on time and by missing the opening ceremony. Your words have been shared with our Hotel Management Leadership and as well as Disney Transportation Services. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Walt Disney World Dolphin hotel is a wonderful choice for a stay in Disney World. Always great service and accommodations. Looking for a fabulous dining experience in the hotel? Don't miss Shula's Steak House. Ask for John and Mario to wait on your table..."Absolute Perfection"

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doriann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
What a stunning review! We are ecstatic that once again you had a marvelous stay with us. We take great pride in our Cast Members who help create those lasting impressions for you and all of our guests. Your kind words about John and Mario from Shula’s Steak House have been shared with our Food & Beverage leadership. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The location is great if you're looking to be close to Disney - you can walk to Epcot and to the Boardwalk for some fabulous dining and Disney shopping. Which we had had more time to check out the pool, walked by but due to previous commitments didn't have time to actually experience it.

Room Tip: We had a good view of the Magic Kingdom, I'm sure that the other side had a nice view of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Kathy and thank you so much for the awesome review! We are delighted that you found our location very convenient to the Disney Parks and Resorts for you and your family. We are proud to be centrally located in the heart of Walt Disney World. Thank you for your recent stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Have stayed once in the swan and once in the dolphin, both lovely hotels, although rooms are a bit small, found a restaurant on ground floor in the dolphin, with reasonable priced food, we used it to have breakfast, both these places are in a nice location, for a walk to epcot or disney studios parks, also for the boardwalk, which in the evening come alive.
the only downside is, if you stay here, even though they are disney hotels, you don't get the free meal deals, even so i would recommend them.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. We are so glad you enjoy our fantastic location and our resort amenities. It sounds like you enjoyed breakfast at Fresh, which is great to hear. Although the Disney Dining Plan is not available at our resort, it should be noted that this program does vary in price depending on the season and has some restrictions, plus certain packages that have to be purchased in order to receive it.
Because we are a Starwood Resort, our guests do have the opportunity to become a Starwood Preferred Guest and earn Starpoints for every eligible dollar spent. These Starpoints can be used at participating Starwood Resorts worldwide! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#63 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#50 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing