We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Dolphin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #178 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review of Dolphin”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great hotel for the Epcot Food and wine festival. always a great place to stay.Had a nice room with a balcony, which was upgrade as a starwood member. this is a great perk of amex being platinum. Have been to this hotel many times and will keep going!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJones2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, Mrs. Jones! We truly appreciate your loyalty as a Starwood Preferred Guest. Thank you for your comments on our pleasant rooms. Once again, thank you for your loyalty and we are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    1,641
    1,012
    464
    318
See reviews for
2,386
943
75
1,150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin this past weekend for my son's birthday. Yes, I agree with other reviewers that the hotel needs some updating. Yes, the beds (at least in our room) were doubles and not queens and yes, the bathrooms are a little tight and need some updating. HOWEVER, this is a great place to stay especially if you will be visiting Epcot (as we were) since you can just WALK over, no waiting for buses or ferries, just a short walk around the boardwalk and you are there. This, to us, was awesome! They do have a ferry that picks you up right in between the Dolphin and the Swan, we did that to go over to the park since my son was dying to ride on the boat but it takes a while and stops several times around the boardwalk so not worth it in my opinion but its a nice option to have and my son loved it. We walked back to the hotel later that night and it was easy and quick. The service at the hotel was great, everyone from the Valet to the Front Desk to the shops were super nice. The valet service was exceptional, just call downstairs when you are ready and they will have your car waiting for you in the front. The rooms were also very clean, we had no issues. The lobby is very pretty and huge. Plus, its a Westin (so part of the Starwood group) and its a Disney hotel so it has the perks and some Disney themes but not overwhelming like it is in some of the other onsite hotels. You can also buy your park tickets right in the lobby which very convenient. We were only there one night so did not try any of the restaurants but overall we had a wonderful stay and we would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mga001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location as well as our wonderful valet service. Thank you for your kind words regarding our exceptional Cast Members. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our Starwood experience and amenities as well as the Walt Disney World amenities available to our guests. We are looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times from the 1990s through to today. I have to agree with other reviews that it is getting a bit dated. That said, the oasis from Disney at the heart of Disney is still an attractive proposition. Still love Shula's and the staff are great. It can feel too over run when a conference rocks up. Have enjoyed our stays in the past and also no real grumbles this time. However, I doubt we will be staying again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jtyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. Thank you for your kind comments regarding Shula’s as well as our Cast Members. Thank you for being a loyal guest with us over so many years. Enhancements to our resort are something we will be looking forward to in the future. We truly appreciate your loyalty and would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My friends and I go to Epcot's Food & Wine Festival every year and we've now stayed in both the Swan & Dolphin sides of this property. And we really like the convenience of this property to Epcot. Its an easy walk between the theme park and the property or even the Boardwalk for evening fun.

Yes, it's a Disney hotel, but adults can have a good time here too! We found the rooms in the Dolphin to be more spacious than the Swan. We also really enjoyed the pool both in the evening and during the day - amazing it was not overrun with children and since it is so vast there are plenty of areas to have to yourself.

The property is very large and it is easy to get lost, but it seems all paths lead back to the lobby, so you're not lost for very long.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jig1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. Our location is unbeatably nearby to many Walt Disney World theme parks and attractions. We pride ourselves on providing many amenities for both adults as well as children, to exceed any guests’ expectations. Thank you for your comments on our recreations area. We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a super convenient hotel and a fair price for what it is. This has shuttles running all the time to the Disney parks and Pleasure Island and had fairly priced rooms. There was plenty of room and the room was clean. I had a short wait and good customer service at check in. The Dolphin is on the same street Epcot is on, they even have a boat that goes directly to Epcot. I avoided staying here when I had a convention in the summer because I thought it was nice enough, but I plan on staying here again after having this pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Best location for Epcot and best value in area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simchafirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
What a truly spectacular review! We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We do agree that our location is very convenient to the Walt Disney World Parks and Resorts. We are pleased to hear also that our efficient Cast Members were able to provide you with a speedy check in experience for you. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I had a chance to go to Disney. We searched several places and decided to stay at the Dolphin. It was beautiful inside and out. They have a water taxi right outside to take you to parts of Disney. Right there is a Boardwalk with several very nice stores. There is also a man made beach with swimming pools and water falls and slides. Inside the Dolphin are various stores, eatery's, and restaurants. They have a massage parlor there also but a little too pricey for me but maybe next time. This is a great place to stay and I would say also would be the Swan as they are right next to each other.

Room Tip: No tip here as you can not go wrong on any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Richard and thank you so much for the kind words in your review! We are delighted that you and your wife had a lovely time during your visit with us! It sounds like you took full advantage of all the amenities that we offer here at the resort. We do hope that you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the Swan. What a disappointment! My husband is a platinum SPG member and we have both stayed at our fair share of Starwood hotels around the world and this is one of the worst. Westin should be ashamed that they are affiliated with this property. Overall, the entire property is in need of a complete renovation. I don't think anything has been updated since 1990. Our "upgrade" was a corner room with a balcony and view of the pool that is under construction. The queen beds were not queens, more like doubles. The beds were very uncomfortable and not the standard Heavenly Beds at Westins. The bathrooms were very small, dingy, dirty, grimy, smelly, and old. The furniture and decorations are so outdated and worn. The carpet has see better days. Housekeeping for us was fine but another room in our party only got fresh towels everyday (they didn't even take away the used ones nor did they make the bed). The breakfast in Garden Grove is a joke. $59/2 adults for the worst buffet?! There were fake scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, omelet bar, oatmeal, etc. but NOTHING to substantiate the $59. They also don't make it clear that you have an option of continental only vs. full buffet. We learned after the first day to skip that breakfast, definitely not worth the money at all. The only positives about this hotel are 1) the location (can't beat the proximity to Epcot, Hollywood Studios, and the Boardwalk) 2) the service- everyone was very friendly and 3) Il Mulino- great place for a few cocktails after a long day at Disney. I would chalk up our experience to us having high expectations for hotels but our extended family (3 additional rooms) also agreed. We all said we would never stay at this property again unless they had a massive overhaul.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
First and foremost, we wish to express our appreciation for your loyalty to Starwood. While we are pleased you experienced the level of service that we aim to provide, it is disappointing that your overall stay was not more enjoyable. As a Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest your feedback is valuable to us. Moreover, we appreciate you taking the time to speak with us about your experience and giving us more insight so that we can fully address your concerns. Our Housekeeping leadership has been notified and will take appropriate action.

We are excited about future enhancements to our resort. Again, thank you for speaking with us, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing